Windows 7

Remove this Banner Ad

Oct 9, 2006
Perth
AFL Club
Hawthorn
Other Teams
Perth Wildcats basketball
I am not an expert on computer, but my Microsoft people say they do not support windows 7 any more, and I may be targeted or whatever?

Because they have, in laymans terms, given windows 7, the bullet??

They also say that putting windows 10 on my older computer, probably won't work, and I am quite satisfied with what I do on this thing.
But they say you may need to buy another computer???

Just how dangerous is it to not have windows 7 support?

I have a Malware's protection on my computer, but I am just not sure how secure I am , and it feels like a sales pitch?

Any advice , I need someone who knows about this stuff.

Thanks to anyone that can advise. JJ.

Windows 7 won't be supported with updates to address security exploits, so if they pop up you'll probably be outta luck. You can imagine that those who look for security exploits will be quite happy to continue doing so, knowing plenty of people are running an out of date OS. So you will be leaving yourself wide open.

You can still update to Windows 10 for free if you're on Windows 7 as it should use the same activation code automatically, so it's worth a try (you have about a week or two to roll back to Windows 7 if you need to). Windows 10 was released almost 5 years ago so if your system is older than that, while it will probably still work, you may want to look at upgrading to new hardware. You can download the Media Creation Tool through Microsoft directly and do the update. May take a while as it will have a lot of updates to run through, but it's pretty simple. Just a few times where you'll need to click OK to continue to process from memory.