EPL Matchday 23

No idea how thats a foul in VVD. Eyes on the ball. Arms not interfering, they are up to create momentum to jump which have to be but once he takes flight he bring them down and are by his side. Challenges with his head.

He has every right to go for it. As does De Gea. DDG flappy flaps though and drops it and we score. Was stunned when they overturned and Roy Keane backed up my opinion.

Keane is bellend though. So there is that.

Either way we stuffed the mancs anyways. Good times.

And did you hear it lads. Ringing around Anfield from the fans. Are you gonna believe us, are you gonna believe us, are you gonna believe ussss.... We're gonna win the league!!

Only took 30 bloody years.

While I admitted that I think it's over 3 weeks ago, there is still heaps of time to go with the invincibles stuff.

We've got a CL and FA Cup run to juggle and if we win the league officially really early, it will be interesting what sides are fielded in the dead rubber PL games and if the attitude of the players drop off.

Although if the Gold PL trophy is something we are seriously after down the line then I guess the late season games are not dead rubbers.
Klopp's Liverpool system is so well structured that I feel that a moderately rotated squad would be able to preserve your undefeated record quite easily.

This season, the squad has already been whacked by injuries, which has largely gone unnoticed. There was a period in late-ish November to mid-December where I believe you were playing waaaay below your best, yet 3 points were continuously tallied.

What I'm saying is, the team is so outstandlingly durable, form and depth-wise, that it'll take an almighty quantity of thorns in your side to bring you down.

Liverpool's 18/19 run in. Granted, you've an extra comp to navigate this time around, but I'd argue this year's team is quite a lot stronger still:

2018–19 Liverpool F C  season - Wikipedia.png

If I was irresponsible enough to be a betting man, I'd quite comfortably put a substantial sum on an unbeaten season.

Klopp's Liverpool system is so well structured that I feel that a moderately rotated squad would be able to preserve your undefeated record quite easily.

This season, the squad has already been whacked by injuries, which has largely gone unnoticed. There was a period in late-ish November to mid-December where I believe you were playing waaaay below your best, yet 3 points were continuously tallied.

What I'm saying is, the team is so outstandlingly durable, form and depth-wise, that it'll take an almighty quantity of thorns in your side to bring you down.

Liverpool's 18/19 run in. Granted, you've an extra comp to navigate this time around, but I'd argue this year's team is quite a lot stronger still:

View attachment 808585

If I was irresponsible enough to be a betting man, I'd quite comfortably put a substantial sum on an unbeaten season.
Speaking about the injuries, at one point our bench vs Sheff Utd at the start of 2020 was Adrian, Phillips, Williams, Jones, Lallana, Elliott, Origi

If everyone is fit in 1-2 weeks, we could have Adrian, Matip, Milner, Keita, Ox, Minamino, Origi as a probable bench (With Lovren, Lallana, Shaqiri, Jones, Elliott and Williams outside the 18).

I gotta be honest, I'm not really a fan of Salah impersonating Son by smiling and lighting up the entire stadium at the end there.

I dont mind personally.

Just dont want him to go down the Son path of playing the victim / kicking out petulantly at his opponents.

There's little doubt in my mind left, now.

And it does pain me to say it, but they're deserved invincibles.
It's crazy. Whether they go through invincible or not we are seeing a team that will be talked about for the ages. They're romping home a league that includes:
  • Last year's record-breaking league winners
  • Last year's Champions league finalist
  • And both of last year's Europa League finalists

Speaking about the injuries, at one point our bench vs Sheff Utd at the start of 2020 was Adrian, Phillips, Williams, Jones, Lallana, Elliott, Origi

If everyone is fit in 1-2 weeks, we could have Adrian, Matip, Milner, Keita, Ox, Minamino, Origi as a probable bench (With Lovren, Lallana, Shaqiri, Jones, Elliott and Williams outside the 18).
Sheffield United would kill for a bench like that.

The salty bitterness of this season from hell for Manchester United supporters is something I will treasure for a very long time, and I don't really like Liverpool much, except for The Egyptian Messi :)

They fully deserve this hubris after years of insufferable arrogance, and entitled smugness.

HOW SWEET IT IS !!!

I know that you mean this as a general statement but here on BigFooty I wouldn’t think any of our supporters are salty or arrogant.

Nah, definitely not on Big Footy, just from my other experiences from Man U fans over the year, and it's not just our rivalry (Leeds either) but with Leeds constantly failing and promotion chances year after year, seen Man U fall in such a manner is the biggest joy and I can get from English Football these days,and its nothing personal against any MUFC fans here, just hated the club on so many levels for well over 25 years.

Man, what one could accomplish by directing that energy elsewhere in said time. The power of spectator sport is immense.

I don’t get the talk of an invincible season at this point. If it happens, great, but I still think it’s highly unlikely we don’t lose a single game between now and the end of the season. Anything could happen on any given day and it would only take us switching off once.

City’s points record (100 in 2017/18) while just as noteworthy is I think a more realistic target to aim for. From here we can afford to drop 12 points (e.g lose 4 of our last 16 games) and still finish with 100. For reference, the maximum points total City can achieve this season if they win every single game from here is 93.

The primary objectives for Liverpool at this point should be, in order:
1. Mathematically impossible to lose the league
2. Champions League double
3. FA Cup double/treble
4. Points record
5. Undefeated in the league

Man, what one could accomplish by directing that energy elsewhere in said time. The power of spectator sport is immense.

Mate, did you see the punch on/brawl between Leeds and Manc supporters at the Casino in the pre season friendly in Perth ?

The hate between the two teams is real, but to be fair, it was Leeds fans who instigated the fight i believe, so there probably more hostility in the rivalry from our end 🤣🤣🤣

I don’t get the talk of an invincible season at this point. If it happens, great, but I still think it’s highly unlikely we don’t lose a single game between now and the end of the season. Anything could happen on any given day and it would only take us switching off once.

Yep, I can't see us going undefeated and TBH really couldn't care as long as we land the main priority. We don't have a lot of vulnerabilities these days, but I think our last 2 EPL games showed the way. If our opponents can absorb and keep us out for the first 70 minutes, we use a lot of petrol tickets in that time so might be vulnerable in the last 20. Still a big ask to absorb that long and then score against us though with Big Virg in the way. Make no mistake, for all the quality we have on the park these days, he's the one that takes us from good to great.

City’s points record (100 in 2017/18) while just as noteworthy is I think a more realistic target to aim for. From here we can afford to drop 12 points (e.g lose 4 of our last 16 games) and still finish with 100. For reference, the maximum points total City can achieve this season if they win every single game from here is 93.

3. FA Cup double/treble
4. Points record
This is spot on.

Would you rather win the league or go back to back in CL?

3. FA Cup double/treble
4. Points record

I actually think Liverpool are virtually no chance. It seems they are going to stitch the league up pretty early in which case their attention will go the CL and even the FA Cup.

The only chance Liverpool go unbeaten is if they get knocked out of the other comps.

City at the Etihad is a huge stumbling block as well.

I actually think Liverpool are virtually no chance. It seems they are going to stitch the league up pretty early in which case their attention will go the CL and even the FA Cup.

The only chance Liverpool go unbeaten is if they get knocked out of the other comps.

City at the Etihad is a huge stumbling block as well.

Nah they have the depth and style that they could give players rests and still win. Did you miss their win over Everton?

Maybe. We are not talking a handful of games though - we are still talking the best part of half a season.

It is insane what they are doing though so maybe it is possible. Wolves away will not be easy.

And they aren't going to sit Mane/Salah/TAA/Robbo out for half a season.