Round 2 Discussion - 2020 AFLW season

Well it was a good half of footy to illustrate why I say Daisy has the cleanest hands in the league, up until that fumble in the centre square (benefit of the doubt one time, bad handball!). But Melbourne's history of losing crucial games in the wet looms after seeing them waste those chances in the 2nd quarter.

Can somebody refresh my memory: Gabby Newton, natural right or left footer?

WibblingChicken

Feb 8, 2020
Bulldogs hung on most of that quarter, like they have all match, but we are starting to run away with it.

We have been very dominant around the ball, getting a lot more of it and disposing of it more cleanly.

Inside 50s "only" 9-29, hasn't even felt that close though. Not sure what the Bulldogs do whiteboard-wise now, I'd like to see Toogood on the ball (but maybe they already tried that and I just didn't notice her).

WibblingChicken

Feb 8, 2020
Gee, with the rain easing and the result nearly set, good to see the umpires put the whistle away for a bit to let the game finally flow...

Newman is explosive and dangerous. I want her at Richmond
Maybe you've seen this goal before, but any excuse to post it will do.

Can somebody refresh my memory: Gabby Newton, natural right or left footer?
Right, based on her last touch. I asked (myself) cos she hit a target off the left earlier which looked somewhat awkward but good for the non-preferred.

Lsta062

Jul 15, 2014
Chelsea, LA Lakers, Western United
Maybe you've seen this goal before, but any excuse to post it will do.

Right, based on her last touch. I asked (myself) cos she hit a target off the left earlier which looked somewhat awkward but good for the non-preferred.

One of my favourite non-Richmond players. So fun watching how explosive pressuring she is on the ball carrier. Is probably a delight for Melbourne supporters to watch live

WibblingChicken

Feb 8, 2020
Gee that is bad luck for Kemp, last few seconds of the match, looks like she's done her ACL.

That also puts a lot of pressure on a squad with a fair few outs already.

On the plus side, very happy with the quality of football we played in pretty wet conditions. Maybe goalkicking is still a bit of a weakness, but our defense is so much better than in previous years, even missing the intercept specialist Jakobsson. Downie is always great, but Birch is fantastic for us too (she copped a lot of heat this match and came through with flying colours), and Pearce was bossing the game from half-back.

Obviously O'Dea and Paxman are always good, but Gay and Scott (who don't lack size or experience) are really starting to add to our midfield as well.

Goldrick has a few strange moments in her game, being so inexperienced, but she ran herself ragged and looks a great prospect. I liked McEvoy on debut too. Those Gaelic footballers are all tough women.

For the 'Dogs, Blackburn was of course immense, and Toogood had some moments. Spark defended very well given how often she had traffic coming at her. Tough night for Newton to show us what she has, but I still liked the look of the touches she got.

WibblingChicken

Feb 8, 2020
One of my favourite non-Richmond players. So fun watching how explosive pressuring she is on the ball carrier. Is probably a delight for Melbourne supporters to watch live

I love watching her play, though sadly not live as much as I'd like.

Not great conditions for explosive quick players tonight, but she'll get plenty of chances to shine this year.

LeakyValve

Nov 26, 2015
Brisbane Lions
Eden Zanker looks to be a star for the future. Good athlete who also appears to be a natural footballer.

And Daisy P is so balanced even when being tackled and quick with her hands. Marvellous footballer.

Gee that is bad luck for Kemp, last few seconds of the match, looks like she's done her ACL.

Gutted for her mate, just caught up on the game.

Dees swarmed and tackled the Dogs into absolute submission tonight. Very impressed with their game.

Things a bitter sacked coach would say...
Former coach Paul Groves set a cat among the pigeons after halftime.

“Most selfish player I’ve ever coached,” the premiership coach tweeted. “Ungrateful. Cracks were caused by said person. You play footy to create friendships. Shame.”

The tweet didn’t last more than five minutes before it was wiped from his feed.

I'm not sure why Paul Groves is bothering. He always seemed like a great guy to me. This doesn't make him look better, put it that way. Nor does such a criticism match up with reports from back when Birch requested a trade that it was "the Club’s strong preference to retain [her]".

Disclaimer: I didn't see the tweet for myself so part of me will always wonder if the shitstirrer journalist misquoted or fabricated part or all of it. Can't wait for Lauren Wood's follow-up to the follow-up to the follow-up article about Darcy Vescio's thoughts on the CBA, with the headline reading "Players Agree AFLW Sucks"

Any small forward from either team looking at the line-ups of today's game in Launnie ought to be licking their lips I reckon. Giants lose a lot of hustle down back without Ellie Brush and I still don't think North have quite got their balance of talls and smalls right yet.

Both teams looking sluggish like they played in heavy rain last week. Not sure what North's excuse is, work rate is the worst I've seen from them and it's only Garner showing some ruthlessness in the forward half.

GWS are getting absolutely slaughtered on the transition, whether Kangas go quick up the wing or slow up the middle. And there's plenty of areas to exploit for the Giants going forward too but, instead of lowering the eyes or going the lateral kick, it's just a bomb to Tahlia Randall's advantage most times.

Yeah threatening to get out of second gear now. A comfy 8-day break for both teams next week in their home states against teams they'll be favourites over. One big quarter here could really set up either team's season nicely.