Business & Finance Workforce & Business Changes, Layoffs, BCPs

Remove this Banner Ad

Caesar

Ex-Huckleberry
Mar 3, 2005
Tombstone, AZ
AFL Club
Western Bulldogs
We've received the green light to move our team's operations to WFH as of Monday. Will be challenging because we're heading into our busiest few months and I don't really think the IT infrastructure is in place to allow this to happen 100% smoothly. However, we've still got jobs for the foreseeable future and in that respect we consider ourselves some of the luckier ones.

I'd be interested in hearing about other people's work experiences due to the outbreak and the expected coming recession. i.e. do you still have a job, if so how has it changed and what is the outlook, if not what are your plans and how are you coping, that sort of thing.

If you own a business, what are you doing to manage the changes and how are you planning for the future?

I'm a public accountant and nothing much will change for me. I do have the option of working from home if needed, albeit less productively. I feel my job is secure.

Being in this industry I can tell you it's not good from a client perspective. Already received dozens of phone calls from panicked business owners, and it's likely a lot of these will go under. We have a large pub clientele and they are already feeling the pinch with a lot closing kitchens temporarily due to restrictions on the amount of people indoors.

I work a 2 / 1 roster, fifo from Victoria to WA. I am currently on break. I fly out for WA again next Tuesday and start work Wednesday.