Mega Thread Coronavirus & the AFL - season postponed. Part 2 * CONTINUED ABUSE WILL NOT BE TOLERATED *

]

It’s become a beacon for identifying the racist in the room.

If only we had as effective a test for identifying the presence of Covid-19 we’d be spared all this trouble.
Similar to the Covid-19 test, where some of those tested just have colds or flu, some of those tested would just be stupid and naive.

Travelled through Singapore and Malaysia last Friday. Both airports had body temperature screening on all passengers moving through (acknowledged this isn't going to prevent complete transport of the virus... but it's a measure).
walked into Tulla, filled out a form and straight through immigration. There seemed to be no screening at all.
I was in Singapore in Jan and the body temp screening was happening then, and you couldn't even stopover in Singapore if you had been in China in the last 14 days.

Went to Germany -> nothing
Went to Heathrow -> nothing
Came back to Sydney -> nothing

Where are the major problems now? :think:

I was in Singapore in Jan and the body temp screening was happening then, and you couldn't even stopover in Singapore if you had been in China in the last 14 days.

It wasn’t the temp screening that did it though, that’s more just an indication of which governments were taking the threat seriously and which weren’t. The real difference would’ve been in what was happening outside the airport.

Pretty disappointed in the new restrictions.. What do our medical specialists know that the rest of the world don’t? The measures last night were micky mouse at best, none of what was implemented will stem the avalanche of new cases I feel.

Again, I don’t subscribe to the nonsense that this virus is going to cause mass deaths, despite what people say I really don’t think we have a strain that is as prominent or lethal as other countries. Logic says to me we have enough of a case study to know this, 0.3% death rate and under 1% are deemed more than mild, this is not a lethal strain of Covid19.

The economic outcomes is far more damaging, this is the saddest of realities.
Imagine a society without hospitals. Doesn't matter of the death rate is 0.001%, if it fills up all the hospitals then a lot more people will die of heart attacks and car crashes etc.
Stay strong mate, we will all get through this

We aren’t perfect but as a society I think we would on average be in better shape. Ever been to Europe ? The first thing I notice apart from how beautiful it is, is how many smokers there are !

My GF is Hungarian, she is amazed at how hard Australians are on themselves yet at the same time how good we have it compared to other countries in terms of politicians, police, and healthcare.

Our geography and low population density makes us different. So we have a different approach to managing this monster.

Oh, and good morning to big footy !! Hope everyone has a CV19 free day.
Ever been to a hungarian wedding? Good god that palinka killed all my viruses, bacteria and general cells. But the midnight goulash somehow magically killed the hangover. Eggyshedadra (or however you say it)!

The latest person to die in Australia got off a cruise ship a week ago.
All the passengers were scanned for temperature prior to boarding.
They didn't stop at any port.

Australia was focusing on passengers from Italy , Middle East, and China.
What they didn't realise was that the USA was riddled with it.

How is Wuhan virus racist? That's where it comes from.

I haven't had the Wuhan Virus yet, but I have had Kobe Beef, and continue to call it Kobe Beef. Strike me down again.

Let's make sure to name the new Tassie footy club, AFLCL-25 when they gain acceptance into the competition - wouldn't want to reference their region due to racism concerns against Tasmanians
It's a bunch of PC warriors that take offence to everything that find it racist.

I'm Chinese and I couldn't care less if people refer to it as the Wuhan virus.

a couple of thousand people. Lets hope we don't look back and say "if only we had detained most of them for quarantine." We could have managed that quite easily.
We did that for the Wuhan evacuees seven weeks ago and we did it for the evacuees from the japan cruse ship. We have actually RELAXED our restrictions not tightened them
How anyone could have gone on a cruise since then beggars belief. Its literally the worst place in the world you could have put yourself in.

Yeah, I'm still trying to hold on to my 20-20 hindsight for this time next year, but I can't help feeling that we were waaaaay too soft on closing the borders to our "mates", like Italy and USA.

Exactly!

This will turn quickly. 1029 cases in NSW every one has been a result of either been overseas or direct contact with people that have come in from overseas. If people weren’t fu**heads when they arrived in Australia this would have been controlled quickly.
it’s bad but I don’t believe it’s as doomsday as everyone is believing. Just play it smart do the right things and this will pass.

People should stop posting BS, this is not fact.

The latest person to die in Australia got off a cruise ship a week ago.
All the passengers were scanned for temperature prior to boarding.
They didn't stop at any port.

Australia was focusing on passengers from Italy , Middle East, and China.
What they didn't realise was that the USA was riddled with it.
They should have implemented world wide rules, and said if you come from o/s, you need to quarantine and that is effectively immediately, including if you have arrived in the last 14d

they kind of did just left it to the individual. But as we have seen on here and on other social media platforms the individual knows better. People are just selfish *silly people

It wasn’t the temp screening that did it though, that’s more just an indication of which governments were taking the threat seriously and which weren’t. The real difference would’ve been in what was happening outside the airport.
I think temperature screening is a double edged sword.

If you are someone who is sceptical (I know, some people don't believe scientists - Climate Change, vaccinations) and you return a normal temp, you might think "I don't have it, I'm fine"

China has started to release Wuhan residents creating the new epidemic.
They are relaxing travel restrictions on April 8 because it’s largely been contained. They will be free To go to other provinces and return to work if deemed a green code healthy. Only imported cases Are new and those are handled in the airports. Awesome!

She has one big advantage over Scott Morrison. She doesn't have to deal with Australians.
Very good point. The population in Germany is more obedient than Australia, and the country has a living memory of hardship greater than what we are going through right now.

Our hysterics are fever pitch because we have never on a collective level have faced a threat like this for 80 years !

Slightly off topic, I think it’s time the media got onboard ‘team australia’ and Supported the message instead of criticising it by getting opinions from other people that contrast those of the Govt.

I've been home for three weeks. I don't drink. Your assumptions are your undoing.

In the last two hours since the keyboard warriors have been telling us this is not even as bad as the common flu there had been 4000 new cases and 300 deaths. And in Italy they stopped counting. Other countries will follow suit.

The underlying issue is no country in the world has the capability to test even people "possibly" sick with coronavirus. 80% are mild cases with people able to shake the effects off probably without knowing in a lot of cases.

Those people can still infect others, this is the issue the inability to diagnose the "maybe" cases.

What makes this virus explode 14 day incubation period.

So, social distancing is the only real way forward measures will be strict. 20,000 people on bondi beach shows how stupid this country can be.

They are relaxing travel restrictions on April 8 because it’s largely been contained. They will be free To go to other provinces and return to work if deemed a green code healthy. Only imported cases Are new and those are handled in the airports. Awesome!

According to Chinese media yes