News Swans Talk in the Media 2020

1-4 Jan 2020
Stephens Breakout Prediction ~ https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...-who-could-create-a-buzz-20200101-p53o0f.html

5-11 Jan 2020
Wallace's big improvers ~ https://www.sen.com.au/news/2020/01...e-believes-could-make-a-quantum-leap-in-2020/
Wallace's big improvers ~ https://www.sen.com.au/news/2020/01...e-believes-could-take-a-quantum-leap-in-2020/
Buddy Injured ~ https://www.afl.com.au/news/365142/buddy-big-blow-superstar-swan-undergoes-knee-surgery
Buddy Injured ~ https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/af...s/news-story/335ac795aa1c72141beaa93f81536a22
Blog on Buddy & Danger moves ~ https://themongrelpunt.com/afl-season-2020/2020/01/07/legacy-in-danger/
Franklin ~ https://www.sen.com.au/news/2020/01/08/swans-will-not-put-a-cap-on-franklin-in-2020/
Swans on Charity SoO Game ~ https://www.sen.com.au/news/2020/01/08/swans-support-charity-state-of-origin-game-but-want-a-say/
Charlie Gardiner on Sen ~ https://player.whooshkaa.com/episode?id=543827
Pre-season ~ https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/af...s/news-story/6e1c5d5eec16541ecaa742c93dafac9f
Lewis regarding Franklin ~ https://www.sen.com.au/news/2020/01/09/why-lewis-is-confident-franklin-will-have-huge-2020/
Horse = All-Stars Coach ~ https://www.afl.com.au/news/365462/all-stars-coach-thrilled-to-play-a-part-to-help-bushfire-victims
Replacements ~ https://www.afl.com.au/news/365186/the-replacements-who-will-step-up-to-fill-the-void-at-your-club-

12-19 Jan 2020
Bushfires ~ https://www.afl.com.au/news/365694/face-to-face-with-flames-sydney-pair-s-brush-with-nsw-bushfires
Horse on forward line ~ https://www.sydneyswans.com.au/news/553059/forward-line-a-strong-point-longmire
Cornes' 18 Breakouts ~ https://www.sen.com.au/news/2020/01/14/kane-cornes-18-breakout-players-for-2020/
Daniher's Groin ~ https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...gain-to-visit-groin-guru-20200115-p53rif.html
Priorities ~ https://www.afl.com.au/news/366067/january-focus-your-club-s-biggest-pre-season-priority
SoO Selection Criteria ~ https://www.sydneyswans.com.au/news/553718/state-of-origin-selection-criteria-revealed

20-26 Jan 2020
Season Preview ~ https://themongrelpunt.com/afl-seas...ad-and-ugly-sydney-swans-2020-season-preview/
Tommy Walsh ~ https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2020/0122/1110221-its-harder-to-be-a-gaa-footballer-than-an-afl-player/
Swans Podcasts On Sen ~ https://www.sydneyswans.com.au/news-and-media/podcasts
Richards Report w/ Chris Keane ~
Papley @ Training ~ https://www.sen.com.au/news/2020/01...t-swans-training-following-failed-blues-move/
Forwards ~ https://www.sen.com.au/news/2020/01/24/who-are-you-clubs-six-most-dangerous-forwards/

27-31 Jan 2020
The Blakeys ~ https://www.afl.com.au/news/366791/coach-dad-best-mate-how-the-blakeys-juggle-footy-and-family
Heeney Injury ~ https://www.afl.com.au/news/368109/star-swan-set-for-surgery-after-awkward-landing-at-training
Heeney Injury ~ https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/af...y/news-story/c387d1121232e2936782d65629b0d78e
Round 1 Best 22 ~ https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/af...s/news-story/eb41053f4ed260c4bc0dbb84302c0137
Longmire Podcast ~ https://player.whooshkaa.com/episode?id=545888

1 Feb 2020
Most Important Defenders ~ https://www.sen.com.au/news/2020/01/31/who-are-your-clubs-most-important-defenders/
Point to prove ~ https://www.afl.com.au/news/367924/who-has-a-big-point-to-prove-in-2020-

2-8 Feb 2020
Round 1 Ready Draftees ~ https://www.afl.com.au/news/368731/plug-and-play-the-10-draftees-ready-for-round-one
2020 Predictions ~ https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/af...m/news-story/acdff4e6977e6727025ea818ad85b343
Wallace Worried ~ https://www.sen.com.au/news/2020/02...s-worried-about-heading-into-the-2020-season/
Swans Review @ 33:33 ~ https://footyology.com.au/footyology-podcast-the-sore-points-of-this-summer/
Hayward and Paps 2020 goals ~ https://www.foxsports.com.au/video/afl/afl/swans-goals-for-2020!763866
Best Ever @ Each Club ~ https://www.sen.com.au/news/2020/02/07/who-is-the-best-ever-player-at-your-club/

9-15 Feb 2020
Midfield Rankings ~ https://www.sen.com.au/news/2020/02/10/champion-data-ranks-all-18-afl-teams-by-each-position/
Buddy Update ~ https://www.afl.com.au/news/371980/round-one-unlikely-despite-buddy-good-progress
Heeney Update ~ https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/sy...e/news-story/3c63aca542772d73628ed39c41b6b00f
Franklin ~ https://au.yahoo.com/sports/buddy-franklin-resume-running-next-week-234904312--spt.html

16-22 Feb 2020
Matthew Ling ~ https://www.sydneyswans.com.au/news...OegmZnmepo0MAj64HpomFIJeg6EmRZbHF7fuZ55gqLAGQ
Toughest Players of 80s and 90s ~ https://www.sen.com.au/news/2020/02...me-their-toughest-players-of-the-80s-and-90s/

23-29 Feb 2020
Amazon ~ https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...d-shake-up-the-afl-on-tv-20200224-p543v4.html
List Ratings ~ https://www.espn.com/afl/story/_/id/28732045/afl-club-list-rated-short-long-term
Australian Dream ~ https://footyology.com.au/footyology-podcast-australian-dream-or-nightmare/
Maths ~ https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/af...n/news-story/cab387292378f5181f62e14e23b8b177
Draftees For Round 1 ~ https://www.afl.com.au/news/377973/your-club-s-draftees-who-s-flying-who-s-r1-ready-who-needs-time-
Amazon Doco ~ https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...bs-in-documentary-series-20200225-p544ao.html
Teddy ~ https://www.afl.com.au/news/378448/2012-flag-hero-among-four-swans-added-to-club-hall-of-fame
Joe D ~ https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...e-daniher-than-the-swans-20200226-p544oz.html
Collissions ~ https://www.sen.com.au/news/2020/02...hat-live-with-umpire-chamberlain-to-this-day/
Goodes Docos ~ https://www.eurekastreet.com.au/article/adam-goodes--in-retrospectives?amp=1
Marsh 1 ~ https://www.afl.com.au/news/379457/giants-send-early-warning-by-crushing-crosstown-rivals
Kirk Presser ~ https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/af...s/news-story/1b863847eba1566e618a640dd860e7bd
Longmire Extension ~ https://wwos.nine.com.au/afl/jake-n...-preview/7327f7b9-74c2-4259-9867-9b10a4a263e3
1-7 Mar 2020
Goodesy Interview ~ https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2020/mar/02/adam-goodes-interview-racism-walk-away-afl
Wallace ~ https://www.sen.com.au/news/2020/03/03/the-four-clubs-that-must-fire-up-in-final-marsh-series-games/
Pass Mark ~ https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/af...n/news-story/a97e86c59893da586062113a2ac05ed2
Amazon Doco ~ https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...tarts-filming-this-month-20200304-p546wt.html
Harley ~ https://www.sen.com.au/news/2020/03/06/swans-ceo-confident-they-can-do-some-damage-in-2020/
16th Ranked Midfield ~ https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/af...g/news-story/1aa72906e9a2c0da4c525212f4ca4f6f
Parker Speech ~ https://www.sydneyswans.com.au/vide...dal=true&type=video&publishFrom=1583372949001

8-14 Mar 2020
COR ~ https://amp.irishexaminer.com/break...entment-986289.html?__twitter_impression=true
Best Spine ~ https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/af...s/news-story/da43b4974c90cb5632410b103d992c32
Kennedy's Expectations ~ https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...pes-for-rebounding-swans-20200311-p548yu.html
Real Estate ~ https://www.realestate.com.au/news/...t-at-auction/?rsf=syn:news:nca:news:spa:strap

15-21 Mar 2020
Next Captain Mills? ~ https://www.afl.com.au/news/384857/your-club-s-next-captain-current-skippers-earmark-their-successor
Rampe Interview ~ https://www.afl.com.au/news/384837/if-you-heard-clarko-sooking-it-up-on-the-radio-then
Gray and Paps ~ https://www.afl.com.au/news/387562/look-out-crows-the-gray-and-paps-show-is-coming
Safety Measures ~ https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...res-for-away-game-travel-20200320-p54c52.html

22-28 Mar 2020
Swans beat Crows ~ https://www.afl.com.au/news/387964/tex-sprays-sealer-swans-survive-crow-scare

29-31 Mar 2020
Doomsday ~ https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...this-time-with-17-others-20200328-p54etl.html

Jun 2, 2014
The Rebel Alliance
Public service announcement- go vote for the Capper story over on Roy & HG. As per their instructions at beginning of podcast.

Then stay for laughs

I recall Tom Browne reporting that McCartin was at risk of not playing again and it seemed like typical Tom Browne made up BS when it emerged about a week later that he was fine. So, and I am sure he is reading this, sorry Tom B.

Paywalled :(

tombomb

Sep 8, 2007
melbourne
Paywalled :(

Tom McCartin has revealed a doctor told him he was 99 per cent certain he would never play again during the much-publicised neck issue that threatened his career last season.
The emerging Sydney forward endured a panicked week where neurologists diagnosed a damaged artery in his neck from a head knock – only to eventually assess it as a childhood abnormality and give him the all-clear to return.

“The doctor was pretty brutal. I saw a bloke and he looked at the scan and he said: ‘that looks very similar to the lady I treated last week’,” McCartin told the Herald Sun.

“He said that would mean no contact sport. And if it doesn’t heal within 12 to 24 months I will put something in there to help blood flow but there still wouldn’t be any contact sport.

“It was a yes or no. He said he was 99 per cent sure I wouldn’t be able to play again. That was pretty scary. It was hard to comprehend at the time. He was pretty brutal and it was about a week between that and a scan which showed I was sweet.”

Relive classic AFL matches from the 60s to today on KAYO SPORTS. New to Kayo? Get your 14-day free trial & start streaming instantly

Sydney's Tom McCartin is one of the AFL’s best young key forwards. Picture: Phil Hillyard
Eventually an angiogram would get to the root of McCartin’s issues after they flared during an intra-club collision with Luke Parker.

“Me and ‘Parksy’ just collided heads and I was a bit knocked up from it, I just didn’t recover from it and I ended up getting a scan that showed something,” he said.

“He felt a bit bad. He kept messaging me and calling me and saying, ‘what’s going on mate’.

“I went under general (anaesthetic) so I was still a bit out of it and it took me a while to come to. And (the doctor) just said, ‘you are sweet mate, it’s all good’. I was like, ‘what?’.

“I was pretty rattled to be honest. It took me a good day or two to really soak in.

“To being prepared to not play and being told I was sweet after being told I was 99 per cent not playing again, it took a while to get my mindset back to being ready to play. So it was a weird week but a good one.”

The youngest player in his draft year has already notched 35 games as a swingman with a massive tank and a fierce attack on the ball, settled into attack again this year after a stint down back last year.

McCartin in action during a pre-season training session. Picture: Phil Hillyard

Based in the beachside Maroubra, he is being denied his trio of swim-and-sauna sessions at Bondi’s Icebergs ocean pool right now.

As the Joe Daniher trade foundered last year he saw his name mentioned in Twitter dispatches as a possible trade.

Yet Sydney didn’t even consider it and for any Victorian clubs hopeful of enticing him home once his contract runs out in 2021, he says he “definitely” sees himself as a long-term Swan.

“I love it up here. A few boys’ names got thrown up on Twitter as part of the trade but I didn’t take too much notice of it. I am happy staying here so it’s a win-win,” he said.

“We got a good young group coming up and I don’t see myself anywhere else.”

bungee

Inside Mid
Aug 16, 2006
Sussex
Sydney Swans
Into a pool I presume. Those swing ropes are on every river in every state. They are always put in places that are safe to swing into. So for someone who has been doing this since about his 5th Birthday it is a walk in the park

On U27 using BigFooty.com mobile app
`i finally got around to viewing the Heeney footage. `WTF ? Nanny state. The guy backflips off a swing into water he knows is safe. Level of difficulty 3/10, danger 0.5/10, then he has a little wakeboard behind a tinny doing about 20kph. Level of difficulty 2/10, level of danger 0.25/10. These are things a little kid could do easily and safely (I did them as a little kid). There's heaps more danger just driving in a car. Some toss-pot commentators need to get a life.

Oct 29, 2007
Lake Oval
SMFC. PMFC,OAFC
`i finally got around to viewing the Heeney footage. `WTF ? Nanny state. The guy backflips off a swing into water he knows is safe. Level of difficulty 3/10, danger 0.5/10, then he has a little wakeboard behind a tinny doing about 20kph. Level of difficulty 2/10, level of danger 0.25/10. These are things a little kid could do easily and safely (I did them as a little kid). There's heaps more danger just driving in a car. Some toss-pot commentators need to get a life.
Kane Cornes what else would you expect

Oct 2, 2016
When I saw the video I didn't think "oh jeez what an idiot" but rather "oh jeez some idiot will complain about this"

kazzfkh

SMFC
Apr 18, 2015
Las Vegas Bears
Can anybody find out when Swans/South games are on Fox Footy this weekend please.
not sure on times but as the list stands so far.. dunno if we have anymore games beyond these. probably the '05 semi and gf, maybe the gf the year after too if i had to guess. i'm still hoping to see the south melbourne games from '70 (v. collingwood) and '76 (v. geelong) that were on the initial list of 100 but it seems unlikely..

49 1994, Round 7: Sydney v St Kilda
48 1996, Preliminary Final: Sydney v Essendon

Bear31

Feb 15, 2020
If Heeney would never try these things from an early time in his life he would not be the amazing courageous and skillful player that he is today. does he have to stop doing what comes natural because he would offend the armchair critics who have never amounted to anything nor have done anything worth noting.

Jun 2, 2014
The Rebel Alliance
2 games of FOX today 05 v Geelong rated 16thbest and the 12 GF rated 11th
Watching the '12 GF now. LRT was a beast with the physical pressure. AJ enormous. The umps had a big influence int he 3rd. Hale's bullshit free, while a minute later Pyke cops the same for no free. Mumford clear hold 15 out not paid yet Hawthorn get one for less on the wing that results in a goal. Not to mention the deliberate OOB paid against us in the second and the incorrect disposals against Hawthorn that were just waved off.

Jun 27, 2010
Sturt
2 games of FOX today 05 v Geelong rated 16thbest and the 12 GF rated 11th

Just finished watching the Geelong game. Funny to see how many of them are now on staff - Harley, Gardiner, Stevie J (plus Playfair). We should have iced the game in the Q3, just couldn't kick straight. Hall had a hliarilously terrible night. Just nothing went right for him. A pleasure to watch club legends like ROK, Jude and Leo running around. Nicky D wasn't too bad in the first 3 quarters.The last ten minutes is still awesome.

Watching the '12 GF now. LRT was a beast with the physical pressure. AJ enormous. The umps had a big influence int he 3rd. Hale's bullshit free, while a minute later Pyke cops the same for no free. Mumford clear hold 15 out not paid yet Hawthorn get one for less on the wing that results in a goal. Not to mention the deliberate OOB paid against us in the second and the incorrect disposals against Hawthorn that were just waved off.

Biggest injustice though was definitely Hanners and the NS

bungee

Inside Mid
Aug 16, 2006
Sussex
Sydney Swans
Swans stuff light on the ground but this story from Jude is hilarious
Wasting such a lovely Champagne is what comes of casting pearls before swine. Drink it Jude. The cheap stuff is for spraying

I liked the side story better. There's some history of Swans players breaking Brent Staker.