Universal Love Down Memory Lane

I must have collected footy cards before I even started watching footy and do not remember it. As I never seen McKenna play and do not even remember how I came to have his footy card as a Carlton player.

Plenty of these classic names come up in this week's episode, recorded and readily available via the links in our signature.

All Time Twenty-Twos: Odds vs Evens. It's Fab vs Tim, stars on every line and a frivolous (yet fun) battle for the ages.

Have a listen and let us know who got it right, who got it wrong and who you got.

seeing ASOS tear buddy a new one makes me feel good inside, was at this game, the infamous willo staredown, we had just come back from being absolutely pantsd by port at AO. i miss footy x.

That was an impressive display of how a defender should play. Absolutely destroyed them. Amazing how impactful you can be when you have real intent.

Then he played North in London and hit Clarkson so got reported when already on suspension and got more weeks.
Both deserved it though.
Dom willing to pay the price...as the great John Kennedy himself might say

how much id luv dominator to be in our current team. one of my fav players. im proud of what he did there and in london. clarko deserved worse.

Not very peacenik Accidental.

True story here (I think - if I have my years lined up). The club I played for won the flag in 1986 by 132 points. We were on our end of season trip in Tassie at the casino having a ball when David Rhys Jones and the Dominator sidled up to me to congratulate me (and the club) on our huge win. Clearly the boys had seen them there and teed them up knowing how big a fan I was. Had a few beers with them and they told me that they had escaped Melbourne as Big Jack was pi##sed off at them for bailing out on the game that was being played about the same time v Hawthorn in Japan and that he couldn't find them there. Must admit it was a damn fine feeling having two of the greats of the game come up to congratulate you.

I knew about Harry ‘Soapy‘ Vallence when I was knee high to a grasshopper.

My father was a long time Blues supporter and Soapy was one of his heroes. His game was built on strong marking and prodigious kicking. For so many years the answer to Carlton’s greatest goal kicker was Vallence with 722 goals in 204 games. I’ve gone searching for the raw statistics which made him a great of Australian Rules football. Apart from his VFL career he also played in the VFA where he kicked 426 goals in 83 games. Yes that’s 1148 goals in 287 games.

Soapy was a big occasion player and destroyed Collingwood in consecutive seasons. He kicked 11 in the first semi final in 1931 and then repeated that effort in the 1932 preliminary final. Both are records. Equalled but not bettered. Soapy had to wait until his final season to snag a flag (against Collingwood in 1938). He only kicked 1 goal but I reckon he wouldn’t have given his own performance much thought. There’s plenty more of an incredible career if you want to go looking.

One rare fact is that Gary ‘Soapy‘ Vallence captained the Carlton u19s in 1975.

I rubbed shoulders with Harry Vallence on plenty of occasions at Princes Park. He attended Carlton games and could be found in one of the bars in the Social Club. His hair was perfect and he liked a beer. I had known that since I was knee high to a grasshopper.

In the old days it used be the Carlton Footy Club and Carlton Cricket Club acting in unison at Princes Park. I’ve been thinking a lot about Princes Park and lamenting it’s death as a hub for supporters. We’ve lost the Heatley Stand, the Social Club Stand and, in the near future, the Hawthorn Stand. I understand the requirement to build state of the art complexes for the men and women. I also support creating a learning environment for those who want to pursue an education. However the supporters appear to get little in this redevelopment of Princes Park.

I hope I live long enough to see a supporters hub at Princes Park. I think the ideal venue is there staring us in the face. The Gardiner Stand is steeped in history and should be restored to its former glory. We all know what it looks like from the outside but it has a rich history lurking underneath.

I know it well and I hope it’s saveable.

Firstly, there’s a small room where the umpires change. Think of the umpires who emerged from the dug out to a chorus of boos.

Secondly, there is the away teams change room. Think of the opposition players who have suffered a defeat and a cold shower to top it off. Warms the heart. I can tell you that when you walk up the race you enter a main change room and a smaller locker room next to it. There was a huge net set up at one end of room that has taken thousands of prodigious punt kicks over the years. No doubt it’s disappeared.

In between the umpires and the away teams was the Carlton Cricket Club bar. There were a number of cricketers adorning the Honour Board. None more famous than this player.

So it’s a dream of mine that one day we can find the money to make this a space for those of us who love the Carlton Football and Cricket Clubs. Online forums and question and answer sessions are a poor substitute for what I enjoyed many years ago. Hanging out with the tribe.