QAFL 2020

smy1305

Jan 27, 2011
Buderim
Gold Coast
I think all the directives are local or state government directed. Certainly AFLQ aren’t making any up. But this doesn’t change the fact it will be difficult under current parameters. Best case is that there is a relaxation around numbers by mid July bc this will at least allow a bit of socialising to occur and possibly $$ in the door.

Still Me

Feb 18, 2019
I think all the directives are local or state government directed. Certainly AFLQ aren’t making any up. But this doesn’t change the fact it will be difficult under current parameters. Best case is that there is a relaxation around numbers by mid July bc this will at least allow a bit of socialising to occur and possibly $$ in the door.

It’s hard enough to get blokes to train nowadays due to the amount of other distractions , which is totally different from 10 years ago.

I think once clubs speak to playing groups, I am not sure how many will be real keen to get to excited about playing in a watered down competition.

Let alone club volunteers and committees. I know AFLQ have to be seen as being proactive to get some form of footy up and going, but I still think we need to either make a clear decision to can the season or work out an actual last date possible to get some form of normal season up and going at a shortened number of rounds.

No winners here, but we don’t need to make more work for an already demanding sport just to say we got a season away.

Think there is still more challenges ahead and questions to be answered, but I can’t see to many clubs jumping at this competition set up if I am being honest.

smy1305

Jan 27, 2011
Buderim
Gold Coast
The normal season is a 8 rd season for the guys - tbh the winners are the women who have played 3 matches already and play another 9 so really get 3/4 of their season slotted away.

Still Me

Feb 18, 2019
The normal season is a 8 rd season for the guys - tbh the winners are the women who have played 3 matches already and play another 9 so really get 3/4 of their season slotted away.

That’s a normal season if it gets underway by 18th July. Not sure how we get everyone training on same oval prior to that if Government Restrictions of 100 aren’t until mid July anyway?

Still makes it hard to be ready to go if we can’t get full use of ovals before that start date.

BlackGun1

Oct 13, 2007
Qld
Brisbane Lions
That’s a normal season if it gets underway by 18th July. Not sure how we get everyone training on same oval prior to that if Government Restrictions of 100 aren’t until mid July anyway?

Still makes it hard to be ready to go if we can’t get full use of ovals before that start date.

Sounds like AFLQ are crossing their fingers the 100 person thing is changed. 12 active cases at the moment. At what number do you think it becomes more viable? 300? 500? At the end of the day 100 people in the same place is still risk for transmission. Bumping it up by another couple hundred cant make all the difference in the world you'd think.

Still got 2 months to go.

stuyd1

Jul 9, 2011
gold coast
Gold Coast
Sounds like AFLQ are crossing their fingers the 100 person thing is changed. 12 active cases at the moment. At what number do you think it becomes more viable? 300? 500? At the end of the day 100 people in the same place is still risk for transmission. Bumping it up by another couple hundred cant make all the difference in the world you'd think.

Still got 2 months to go.
Geez 500 people spread around a footy oval with social distancing at the canteen and clubhouse should be more safer then going to a Westfield Shopping centre esprcially by the time the first games begin if that occurs ..

BlackGun1

Oct 13, 2007
Qld
Brisbane Lions
Geez 500 people spread around a footy oval with social distancing at the canteen and clubhouse should be more safer then going to a Westfield Shopping centre esprcially by the time the first games begin if that occurs ..

Yeah mate - surely close to 1000 people at Burleigh Hill two weeks ago. Still no cases popped up from that media circus either.

Still Me

Feb 18, 2019
Yeah mate - surely close to 1000 people at Burleigh Hill two weeks ago. Still no cases popped up from that media circus either.

Agree the only way I see it working is government relaxation of the numbers and staged dates.

The numbers control our game both to train as a club with juniors, youth and seniors and parents and game day as well. To cap any of that is not feasible or controllable in my opinion.

But then there is sponsorship dollars with shorter season and revenue issues for all clubs.

Participants will still have normal expectations, that just cannot be afforded or done in these new timeframes.

Yet AFLQ will still expect things run as effectively and normal as usual on match day with extra pressures to ensure COVIDSafe protocols are being met as well.

Just can’t see it all coming together and all the stars aligning.

Jun 2, 2007
Brisbane
think if we don't get started by July 18, the 'spring series' is an opt in thing and won't get much interest.

Certainly for us, would think we might enter one senior side in something like that, and we currently have 4 senior sides!

Glorified AFL9's, but I commend them for the effort in getting it up and I think it will create some interest and give people something to do.

Still Me

Feb 18, 2019
think if we don't get started by July 18, the 'spring series' is an opt in thing and won't get much interest.

Certainly for us, would think we might enter one senior side in something like that, and we currently have 4 senior sides!

Glorified AFL9's, but I commend them for the effort in getting it up and I think it will create some interest and give people something to do.

Agree something is better than nothing mate. Just think timelines are working against everyone, but hopefully I am proven wrong.

smy1305

Jan 27, 2011
Buderim
Gold Coast
Cant see how the admin could expect everything to be done as "business as usual". Think there will be a little bit of slack given. I saw Coorparoo had a bit of a fundraiser effort yesterday with a picnic in the park afternoon. Like all businesses clubs will need to be thinking outside the square a bit to generate revenue this year.

stuyd1

Jul 9, 2011
gold coast
Gold Coast
See Morningside on the Nine News last night , approaching the Brisbane City Council for assistance. Thyis morning I arrived at work and had a ae mail from the club about the financial struggle and asking to sign a partiton for support to be sent to the Council.

Dezario

Dec 14, 2011
QLD
E1620587-C1B2-4BF0-829C-BE7F2223E14A.jpeg

Apr 26, 2010
Gold Coast
Brisbane Lions
There is momentum towards community sport and every club in the land needs spectators to bring in the $$$ so hopefully common sense prevails and socially distanced crowds are allowed.
We shouldn’t forget we are still 8 weeks away and if (hopefully) the curve stays flat by then things should loosen up a fair bit.

stuyd1

Jul 9, 2011
gold coast
Gold Coast
See down south the Heathcote football league has abandoned the season altogether and the Hume League will proberly play a shortened season with no finals as 9 of the 12 clubs voted against playing into the month of October.

BlackGun1

Oct 13, 2007
Qld
Brisbane Lions
See down south the Heathcote football league has abandoned the season altogether and the Hume League will proberly play a shortened season with no finals as 9 of the 12 clubs voted against playing into the month of October.

Yep, they cited concerns around their volunteers' ability to enforce the COVID protocols and a lack of communication in general from the state government. Sounds like they too were banking on outdoor restrictions to be eased, but wanted to make a decision ASAP.

Really hope that doesn't happen to us as there does seem to be a bit of buzz building.

Apr 26, 2010
Gold Coast
Brisbane Lions

And of course country leagues often require players to travel from Melbourne and other parts to assist with numbers and competitiveness.

In a situation where it’s basically amateur who is going to travel to play?

I understand where they are coming from.

I find it hard to reconcile especially with news of 50 in pubs and restaurants in NSW from Monday week that we can’t play footy in 8 weeks out in the open.

Qld footy fan

Mar 10, 2019
Brisbane Lions
And of course country leagues often require players to travel from Melbourne and other parts to assist with numbers and competitiveness.

In a situation where it’s basically amateur who is going to travel to play?

I understand where they are coming from.

I find it hard to reconcile especially with news of 50 in pubs and restaurants in NSW from Monday week that we can’t play footy in 8 weeks out in the open.
That's only them trying to stir us up
The health of everyone is way more important than a beer at the pub
Remember the dumb arse
Things they have done in NSW
IN the past two months does cruise ships ring a bell
Just hand July is not far and we will be safe

you watch for the outbreacks down there

LaggingBehind

Aug 8, 2019
That's only them trying to stir us up
The health of everyone is way more important than a beer at the pub
Remember the dumb arse
Things they have done in NSW
IN the past two months does cruise ships ring a bell
Just hand July is not far and we will be safe

you watch for the outbreacks down there
I dont think anyone will argue that health of everyone is more important than anything. We just need a balanced risk approach to return and right now all we need to know is that for QAFL there's a govt approved training in groups of 20 from 12th June and competition from 10th July.

Still Me

Feb 18, 2019
I dont think anyone will argue that health of everyone is more important than anything. We just need a balanced risk approach to return and right now all we need to know is that for QAFL there's a govt approved training in groups of 20 from 12th June and competition from 10th July.

Agree totally Lagging. We still have around 530 odd live cases around Australia at present and we coming into winter.

I see Government expecting spikes now schools back and parts of community reopening. If we get to open on or around June 12th will be interesting to see how much it has increased by then ad no doubt once we start that will add another layer of risk to increasing spikes.

Most sports can get around many of the issues but due to our playing numbers makes our game just that bit harder to manage.

The thing I can see happening is the scenario I put up on other site. Where a game is played on a Saturday and the following week a club is notified by one of their players they have tested positive to the virus. They then notify the opposition club they played on weekend. Good luck to both clubs then getting every player tested and cleared before the next game.

Once a scenario like this occurs the entire season that everyone has juggled and adjusted to get going is under serious cloud.

GC2015

May 27, 2013
Gold Coast
“At the moment, the NEAFL doesn’t look like it’s going to come back,” Greg Swann told Fox Footy.

“All the northern state clubs need somewhere to play so we’ve been pushing to perhaps join with the VFL, or an AFL reserves, or an eastern-seaboard AFL reserves.

“If 10 teams in Melbourne run a comp then us four would probably join it, or that’s what we’ve been pushing to do.”
It's looking increasingly likely that the NEAFL will disband this year which should mean Aspley, Redland and Southport return to the QAFL for 2021. They could potentially just add those three teams and run a 12-team competition but I have a feeling they'll push a team from Brisbane and a team from the Gold Coast to the QFA. That way you'd have a 10-team competition which is pretty standard for state leagues these days.

LaggingBehind

Aug 8, 2019

It's looking increasingly likely that the NEAFL will disband this year which should mean Aspley, Redland and Southport return to the QAFL for 2021. They could potentially just add those three teams and run a 12-team competition but I have a feeling they'll push a team from Brisbane and a team from the Gold Coast to the QFA. That way you'd have a 10-team competition which is pretty standard for state leagues these days.
Just read the same article. I agree that it appears almost certain that there will be a major restructure before 2021. Not sure answers are quite as simple as suggested though. There is still plenty to consider. Firstly plenty of how the 4 Northern AFL clubs top up their reserves is important, secondly the sports clubs and many various NEAFL & QAFL club sponsors need to recover their own businesses before they start paying out to footy programs. Thirdly the process from AFLQ needs to be better than a plain "whoever can pay the fees". That has been the process in the past and it needs a bit more vision than that.

smy1305

Jan 27, 2011
Buderim
Gold Coast
Just read the same article. I agree that it appears almost certain that there will be a major restructure before 2021. Not sure answers are quite as simple as suggested though. There is still plenty to consider. Firstly plenty of how the 4 Northern AFL clubs top up their reserves is important, secondly the sports clubs and many various NEAFL & QAFL club sponsors need to recover their own businesses before they start paying out to footy programs. Thirdly the process from AFLQ needs to be better than a plain "whoever can pay the fees". That has been the process in the past and it needs a bit more vision than that.

Agree Lagging - the status quo around footy in Jan 2020 is going to be incredibly different come 2021. Peoples habits will have changed socially and around pokies (thankfully), there possibly will be a bit more wariness from older people about crowds, like you said businesses that were relied upon o be sponsors possibly cant or will at reduced income. It could change the landscape incredibly. Not the least that the QAFL comp will have a points and salary cap system in place for the first time that clubs like Southport, Redlands and Aspley have competed. It will be different for sure. Plus of course the knock on affect from AFL lists potentially being decreased plus possibly some really good people coming back into the tiers below that no longer can work at NEAFL and maybe AFL level with the reduced soft cap. Interesting times.