Kennett's letter to Hawks members

#gosaintas

Veteran Reimagine Moorabbin
Nov 11, 2013
So Hawthorn is not permitted to have sponsors or to receive an AFL distribution (close to the lowest).

By your logic the saints are being propped up by the AFL ($20M the highest for a Victorian club) and by the Chinese government.
of course hawthorn can be propped up by Tassie taxpayers and Victorian pensioners if they want to. They really should stop pretending they are unaided though. Where do they think the money comes from?

dave10

Apr 26, 2004
I had to laugh When Jeff said his club was with Geelong as leaders in governance and culture. This said only a week after hearing about the ‘governance’ in place at his club that led Jonathan Hay into the medical cabinet... They’re far from perfect!

big_e

Existential crisis management consultant
Apr 28, 2008
Back Pocket
Wycombe Wanderers
Thats exactly what Chairman Jeff is suggesting, get 3 years to get your act together .... the bankers will make the decisions
The state of football is not so bad that it will fall apart in three years if one or two clubs are given extra assistance. Especially considering what is lost by removing a club with 120+ years of history (and a large chunk of their supporters).

Apr 12, 2010
I had to laugh When Jeff said his club was with Geelong as leaders in governance and culture. This said only a week after hearing about the ‘governance’ in place at his club that led Jonathan Hay into the medical cabinet... They’re far from perfect!

Jeff introduced a tsunami of poker machines to Victoria and is now pres of the Pokies Football Club.

I don't think he has much credibility when it comes to culture or financial management.

Feb 21, 2006
Muckertal
Turtles, NYJets, Celtics, Tottenham
Thats exactly what Chairman Jeff is suggesting, get 3 years to get your act together .... the bankers will make the decisions

3 years in a compromised economy to overturn decades of inequities. Yep, ok mate.

Aug 14, 2011
Trafalgar
Mclaren Mercedes F1
The state of football is not so bad that it will fall apart in three years if one or two clubs are given extra assistance. Especially considering what is lost by removing a club with 120+ years of history (and a large chunk of their supporters).

The line of credit has clauses that need to be met, from Jul 1, loans to clubs will incur interest. The next test is Nov 1, i.e the day after the end of the financial year.
Nothing to do with the state of footy, its about the money, the laws that cover club CEOs & Directors.
Chairman Jeff might be being overly kind suggesting clubs have 3 years.

Aug 14, 2011
Trafalgar
Mclaren Mercedes F1
Jeff introduced a tsunami of poker machines to Victoria and is now pres of the Pokies Football Club.

I don't think he has much credibility when it comes to culture or financial management.

Fortunately for Victoria Mrs Kirner had introduced pokies to deal with rust bucket disaster of the day, its an example of an era when people were bailing out of Vic.
He turned Vics finances around SO thats probably why he has cred. Pokies didnt make Vic a desirable place to live.

Aug 14, 2011
Trafalgar
Mclaren Mercedes F1
3 years in a compromised economy to overturn decades of inequities. Yep, ok mate.

Success or failure will be the money on the scoreboard imho, if you are on the improve or overpromising/underperforming.

Inequities eh, why wouldnt the clubs in that category act together to address the inequities, remembering its a national comp. There is enough movement between clubs of senior management* to make a case IF there are these inequities you elude to.

* Gary Pert, Peter Jackson, Brian Cook

Pessimistic

30k Posts 10k Posts HBF's Milk Crate - 70k Posts TheBrownDog
Sep 13, 2000
Melbourne cricket ground. Australia
Horks

‘but some are even further from perfect ey?

May 16, 2007
coffs
chess

Your club gets to play at the MCG and has the Queen's birthday blockbuster as a fixture. You also support a club that has turned the competition into a farce by tanking, it is little wonder that no one turns up to watch your club's games.

Just how much more of a leg-up does your club need?

Aug 8, 2007
It's what is keeping them profitable

That and pokies

Reality is the competition would be so much better without hawthorn
Yes, let's wait for the day when Hawthorn are pushed out of Tassie and finally enough pressure comes for them to be rid of pokies. Their current financial success is the result of taking tax payer money from Tasmania and preying on people through gambling. Once they lose those revenue streams, and the members and crowds start dropping off as performances like last night's become the norm, I wonder if Jeff will be singing the same tune.

May 16, 2007
coffs
chess
Yes, let's wait for the day when Hawthorn are pushed out of Tassie and finally enough pressure comes for them to be rid of pokies. Their current financial success is the result of taking tax payer money from Tasmania and preying on people through gambling. Once they lose those revenue streams, and the members and crowds start dropping off as performances like last night's become the norm, I wonder if Jeff will be singing the same tune.

You sound like the supporter of a club successful in leeching millions from the Victorian taxpayer and Federal Government.

What was it something like $180M for the redevelopment of Kardinia Park with the GFC contributing something like $12M.

Aug 8, 2007
You sound like the supporter of a club successful in leeching millions from the Victorian taxpayer and Federal Government.

What was it something like $180M for the redevelopment of Kardinia Park with the GFC contributing something like $12M.
Went to the stadium, not the club. Geelong has also severed ties with its pokies venues.

Jan 19, 2008
Fortunately for Victoria Mrs Kirner had introduced pokies to deal with rust bucket disaster of the day, its an example of an era when people were bailing out of Vic.
He turned Vics finances around SO thats probably why he has cred. Pokies didnt make Vic a desirable place to live.

Jeff had some credibility and he made some good reforms. However he behaved like an idiot in his later years (and was rightfully turfed by the voters), much like he does with the Hawks, he doesn't actually have much cred anymore. A bit more than Eddie but that isn't saying much.

Jan 26, 2006
East Fremantle
of course hawthorn can be propped up by Tassie taxpayers and Victorian pensioners if they want to. They really should stop pretending they are unaided though. Where do they think the money comes from?

Hawthorn have a commercial agreement with the Tasmanian government. Hawthorn fulfil their side of the contract so it is not propping up.

Oct 17, 2000
Brisbane Lions
Fitzroy Football Club
If a club ends up in the equivelant financial strife as Fitzroy in 1995

After making a loss of $948,546 in 1992 and on the back of winning 10 matches and income from the newly acquired Fitzroy club Hotel and despite receiving no income from their hme ground, Fitzroy actually made a profit of $29,939 in 1993. Their debt in 1993 was $1.75 million. By 1996 it was $2.7 million.

The afl should be prepared to make the big call like they did back then" then most would be more understanding.

The AFL didn't make the "big call'. It was Fitzroy that sought a merger on the back of the AFL's merger package for two clubs to merge.

JohnZ

Mar 10, 2016

Plenty of Gov money has been pumped into every AFL stadium. Weak argument shows how little you have to work with...

Feb 21, 2006
Muckertal
Success or failure will be the money on the scoreboard imho, if you are on the improve or overpromising/underperforming.

Inequities eh, why wouldnt the clubs in that category act together to address the inequities, remembering its a national comp. There is enough movement between clubs of senior management* to make a case IF there are these inequities you elude to.

* Gary Pert, Peter Jackson, Brian Cook

You've been reading on here long enough to understand the inequities that have been disadvantaging certain clubs for decades die to AFL policies. Have a read of the OP if you want a start.

The clubs don't complain because they don't want to rock the boat lest the AFL punish them further through the fixture and other ad-hoc decisions. They have done themselves a disservice and I've been posting about it on here since I signed up almost 15 years ago. Kennett talks about clubs on the AFL teat but the AFL gives additional funds to those clubs to make up for the financial impact of the AFLs policies on those clubs. The additional funds may cover short term losses such as gate receipts/sponsorships but do nothing to address the longer term financial impacts of these policies. Clubs have gone along to date because the AFL has made it clear they will provide compensation for these decisions but as I have said the compensation is inadequate and creates a culture of dependence among those clubs who are then unable to create financial independence.

Feb 21, 2006
Muckertal
Your club gets to play at the MCG and has the Queen's birthday blockbuster as a fixture. You also support a club that has turned the competition into a farce by tanking, it is little wonder that no one turns up to watch your club's games.

Just how much more of a leg-up does your club need?

I'm not talking solely about my club. We do have it a bit better due to playing at the MCG though having Queens Birthday (something we don't get every year anymore) is/was more than offset by the other inequities in the fixture (hosting Essendon and Carlton once every 10 years for starters).

North, St Kilda and Bulldogs have it worse off - they cop poor fixtures, have poor stadium deals that they have no control over due to the AFLs contracts/fixturing arrangements and are provided inadequate compensation to account for the long term financial impacts of these inequities.