News Coronavirus (COVID-19) Discussion Thread II

Virus outbreak at Al-Taqwa College linked to COVID-19 crisis at public housing towers
Less than a fortnight since COVID-19 was first detected at Al-Taqwa College in Truganina, the outbreak has become the biggest in the state and has now been linked to the public housing towers. Here’s what we know so far.

Grant McArthur, Herald Sun
July 9, 2020 7:30pm

Victorian Premier Daniel Andrews has warned if the state is not successful in driving down the number of COVID-19 cases, Melbourne could be in lockdown for more than six weeks.
similars

Victoria’s two largest coronavirus outbreaks have been linked together, potentially also combining with at least two other major clusters.
The 113-case Al-Taqwa College cluster and the 159-case public housing towers outbreak have been strongly connected by health investigators, though it remains unclear which may have become infected first.

Spiralling transmissions among the two outbreaks saw both surpass Cedar Meats’ 111 cases on Thursday to become the state’s largest sources of COVID-19.
The Department of Health confirmed in June the Al-Taqwa College outbreak is also linked to previously identified family clusters in Truganina and Sunshine West.

But with students attending the college associated with the Truganina and Sunshine West family outbreaks, as well as the North Melbourne and Flemington housing estates, it may never be known who infected who first.

Victoria’s Chief Health Officer Brett Sutton on Thursday confirmed there was an epidemiological link between Al Taqwa and the towers.

“It might have gone in one direction, it might have gone in the other direction,” Prof Sutton said.

“There may well be multiple importations into these towers - indeed, there might have been multiple importations into Al-Taqwa College.

“These are communities that cross over between Truganina and these towers.”

Despite the massive scale of the outbreaks, it is still less than a fortnight since COVID-19 was first detected at Al-Taqwa College, so genetic sequencing has not yet been able to establish its exact strain or source.

Although the school’s first case was confirmed in a teacher on June 27 - the first day of school holidays - investigators believe coronavirus had been introduced to the school much earlier, probably among senior students with no or only mild symptoms who never sought tests.

How Al-Taqwa College outbreak exploded
June 29 - one coronavirus case
June 30 - three cases
July 1 - eight cases
July 2 - 15 cases
July 3 - 23 cases
July 4 - 33 cases
July 5 - 59 cases
July 6 - 77 cases
July 7 - 90 cases
July 8 - 102 cases
July 9 - 113 cases

Department of Health epidemiologists say the teacher had worked for two days while infectious, however the speed of infections over the following week makes it likely the virus had already spread further within the school community before Term 2 wound up.

On June 30 all students and staff were ordered isolate to seek coronavirus tests, prompting a flood of positive results.

At the same time the Truganina family outbreak blew out from three cases on June 29 to 16 on July 6.

Although the first cases of coronavirus were detected in the public housing towers last week, it was only on Sunday the Andrews Government took the extraordinary step of confining more than 3000 residents to their apartments.

On Thursday another Truganina cluster emerged - this time at the Catch.com Distribution Centre - with four cases.

Covert-covid update;

Brian aka The Lord of War has returned a day early according to Ms Lisa, he must of knocked off that small nation single handily a day quicker they they thought.

Ms Lisa picked him up from the airport, that surprised as I was thinking a parachute drop was on the cards. and I got an "LOL" . I texted her and my name came up on the dashboard.🤦‍♂️

He didn't day anything, just looked at her. Although TAO won't be easy to trace I suppose.

Covert-covid update;

Brian aka The Lord of War has returned a day early according to Ms Lisa, he must of knocked off that small nation single handily a day quicker they they thought.

Ms Lisa picked him up from the airport, that surprised as I was thinking a parachute drop was on the cards. and I got an "LOL" . I texted her and my name came up on the dashboard.🤦‍♂️

He didn't day anything, just looked at her. Although TAO won't be easy to trace I suppose.

You’ll be grand mate, NM bigfooty to the rescue

Looks like a grand old time down in Mornington. I heard they were going to hire security guards for the pier but they were worried they might try fu** the whales.

Driving to my Mountain home
Where all the blokes names are Pierrette
Why the sing song dance...

Works on Thompson and Dandenong Rd have caused a lot of traffic diversion. Came home that day, and while it was pretty bad up to the Eastlink exit, was pretty clear after that, even moreso when I used to work in Bayside. In peak hour too.

That being said wouldn't be surprised if a few of the Toorak flogs have made their way back to their Sorrento holiday homes and done the dodgy address update with Vic Roads.

EDIT: LOL hadn't read the rest of the thread and seeing recent posts now. FMD we are screwed.

Works on Thompson and Dandenong Rd have caused a lot of traffic diversion. Came home that day, and while it was pretty bad up to the Eastlink exit, was pretty clear after that, even moreso when I used to work in Bayside. In peak hour too.

That being said wouldn't be surprised if a few of the Toorak flogs have made their way back to their Sorrento holiday homes and done the dodgy address update with Vic Roads.

EDIT: LOL hadn't read the rest of the thread and seeing recent posts now. FMD we are screwed.
Yep :-(

So I'm in the supermarket last night, going through the self-serve checkout. The checkouts are divided by plexi-glass but if someone is using one next to you they'd struggle to be a metre away, let alone 1.5m. Anyway, dude rocks up and goes to use the self-serve checkout next to mine. The supermarket worker girl supervising the area says "Hang on", grabs her cloth and bottle of disinfectant, and wipes down his checkout screen, etc. To which he loudly replies "Yes, that's right, everyone's worried about the fake virus."

Suddenly I find myself less than a metre away from this moron whose 'fake virus' beliefs may well translate to him not following the same hygiene and covid protocols that most of us are adhering to. Awesome.

I don't think I'm being too harsh in suggesting this, but since we're currently going through the whole 'authoritarian measures' thing at the moment, is there any chance we can arrange to have guys like that shot?

The dickhead ratio in supermarkets is very high. Have lost count of the people in my vicinity I've wanted to give a sharp uppercut to.

Very tough to resist the urge to call these campaigners out as you undoubtedly put yourself at potential risk.

Getting groceries shouldn't be a clandestine operation.

Amazed we haven't heard of outbreaks linked to supermarkets, although I doubt we ever would.

So I'm in the supermarket last night, going through the self-serve checkout. The checkouts are divided by plexi-glass but if someone is using one next to you they'd struggle to be a metre away, let alone 1.5m. Anyway, dude rocks up and goes to use the self-serve checkout next to mine. The supermarket worker girl supervising the area says "Hang on", grabs her cloth and bottle of disinfectant, and wipes down his checkout screen, etc. To which he loudly replies "Yes, that's right, everyone's worried about the fake virus."

Suddenly I find myself less than a metre away from this moron whose 'fake virus' beliefs may well translate to him not following the same hygiene and covid protocols that most of us are adhering to. Awesome.

I don't think I'm being too harsh in suggesting this, but since we're currently going through the whole 'authoritarian measures' thing at the moment, is there any chance we can arrange to have guys like that shot?

Yes- I'm sure I could get you Brian's phone number.....

The dickhead ratio in supermarkets is very high. Have lost count of the people in my vicinity I've wanted to give a sharp uppercut to.

Very tough to resist the urge to call these campaigners out as you undoubtedly put yourself at potential risk.

Getting groceries shouldn't be a clandestine operation.

Amazed we haven't heard of outbreaks linked to supermarkets, although I doubt we ever would.
i aint going to the supermarkets on a sat morning for a while. pretty crazy down there at that time,

Almost 12m infected worldwide and 547,931 dead, nice fake virus.

My old man is one of these dipshits. Will believe every conspiracy theory on Facebook but won’t listen to our chief medical officer. Go figure.

If/when we are told that they’ve developed a vaccine, how inclined are people to go and get the jab ?
Despite it sounding like the start of a Zombie movie, worldwide vaccine to inoculate against pandemic disease has horrible side effects and bang zombies.

I don't see how a vaccine for this would be overly different to the flu vaccine.

I reckon there would be plenty that wouldn’t.

Those that fail to take preventative measures should forego hospital beds.

Despite it sounding like the start of a Zombie movie, worldwide vaccine to inoculate against pandemic disease has horrible side effects and bang zombies.

I don't see how a vaccine for this would be overly different to the flu vaccine.

Those that fail to take preventative measures should forego hospital beds.

I'm certainly not an anti vaxxer OF but I must admit I would be somewhat reluctant to be injected with a substance that would clearly have been fast tract within minimal human testing. I wonder if they'll have a safe injecting room out set up out at windy hill with Hirdy working at reception

If/when we are told that they’ve developed a vaccine, how inclined are people to go and get the jab ?
Why not? What's the down side?
  1. You get vaccinated
  2. You can then head down to the casino and clean up at Black Jack
Winning.