Player Watch #22: Josh Caddy - Retired

What did he say Geelong did to him?
I think he wasn't happy he was moved out for Selwoods brother and then shopped around

Didn't really speak glowingly of his time there and I made a joke about bringing Hawkins over and he made a "too old and slow" quip

Grockadoc and I chatted away to him at a function halfway through 2017 and he was pretty clear he is happy to play anywhere thats needed, loves kicking a goal though

Wasn't happy about Geelong and how he was treated leaving the club

Yep. Wanted to play more as a forward. Said that it was Bullshit that people think he came for midfield time. Said it was weird leaving a club with only Selwood and Danger as the inside mids but coming to Richmond with Cotch, Dusty and Prestia for midfield time.

What did he say Geelong did to him?

Pretty much they told him he was a required player. Also noted they asked him to take a pay cut to re-sign some of their younger players, as they told him they would not be active in the trade period. Anyway, news broke of Deledio wanting to leave, and the Cats wanted him which annoyed Caddy as he had agreed to the pay cut thinking it was going to younger players. The Tigers then enquired about Caddy as part of the deal. Cats said no. Tigers approached Caddy's management about it. Got told Caddy was annoyed at the Cats for asking players to take pay cuts to keep youngsters and then targetting players in trade week. We won Caddy over with a promise he would be valued and appreciated and that there would be a spot in the forward line for him, rather than in the midfield. Caddy went back to the Cats and requested a trade.

Punt Road Feral

Aug 23, 2007
Punt Road's Manure Pit
He hasnt played deep forward now for 2 seasons , dunno why the hell not , as we could do with dusty in the midfield right now , why doesn’t someone email dimma maybe he hasn’t considered it

I think the introduction of Tom Lynch has something to do with that.
If Jack or Tom goes down Caddy can slot straight in there and be a damaging forward. But if you play Caddy with the other two up forward teams will burst us open from half back.

Trade bait. Good player but no spot for him when we are fully fit and the bloke ain't going to want to play VFL.

Back to the GC?...😉

May 17, 2004
Punt Rd ‘17? ‘19?
If Jack or Tom goes down Caddy can slot straight in there and be a damaging forward. But if you play Caddy with the other two up forward teams will burst us open from half back.
Yes, but rather than use dusty deep at times , use caddy. As our midfield needs him right now

Nov 24, 2008
Yes, but rather than use dusty deep at times , use caddy. As our midfield needs him right now
I agree. I can't see why it wouldn't work. If anything we'd be better defensively up forward with caddy there instead of dusty and we'd be better off in the midfield with dusty there for the majority.

Feb 4, 2008
Have said almost from the get go that the role he plays for us makes him one of the biggest disappointments we have at the club for me.

What is so wrong with asking a big 186cm 87kg mid to play inside. He played that role well as a junior and had two pretty good yrs playing the role at Geelong before getting squeezed out of their midfield.

2015 he was doing exactly what you would expect from a mid like him.
20 Plus disposals over 10 of em contested along with winning over 5 clearances a game and laying nearly 6 tackles a game.We all know this is what we originally went and got him for yet he has never come close to reproducing any thing like that apart from 2016 when at Geelong.

His 2018 as a mid /fwd cannot be scoffed at either 46 goals in a season at 2 a game is excellent but that yr we all know is one out of the box.

Get him to play inside and if he cant perform that role then dont play him.

Jeez Mopsy that is high praise coming from the man who specialises in being disappointed with our players and staff.

Fair dinkum, if you had stumbled on the Hope Diamond you’d have spewed it wasn’t bigger and better, and a different shape.

Can you please provide us with a comprehensive list of the one or two people at the footy club who you are not deeply disappointed with. Dusty and.......??

Stand in front of a mirror and repeat one thousand times....”I must try to see the value in people.” 😁

I thought they played Caddy as a more Offensive Wing after he came back last year and into finals, maybe theyre just holding back on what they want other teams to get ready for
Also AO is a diff shape and always looks like our wings are cramped, this is compared to the G and from 2017
393D38F5-7C1D-438E-960B-99F7C54494F7.jpeg

AO is the mustard color and it might not look like much but its close to 20 mtr
Probably a kick and a half quicker end to end with 45 kicks.

Nick Daffy 10

Apr 28, 2015
I agree. I can't see why it wouldn't work. If anything we'd be better defensively up forward with caddy there instead of dusty and we'd be better off in the midfield with dusty there for the majority.

Dont think Dusty has the tank anymore to be in the midfield the majority of the time.

Others have gone past caddy now in the midfield and forward. We would be better off trying to offload him to carlton for a second round pic. He can play every week there and get a payrise

He hasnt played deep forward now for 2 seasons , dunno why the hell not , as we could do with dusty in the midfield right now , why doesn’t someone email dimma maybe he hasn’t considered it

reckon he’s good on the wing. Just form and fitness at the moment. Hopefully have him peaking at the right time, we’re a better side when he’s playing well

Aug 25, 2007
Richmond VFL
That sounds right but we`re playing Lynch, Jack and Chol together up there so we`d be getting burst open from half back with those 3 there. I don`t think Chol is any better at forward pressure than Caddy.

Mar 1, 2010
Dont think Dusty has the tank anymore to be in the midfield the majority of the time.

Others have gone past caddy now in the midfield and forward. We would be better off trying to offload him to carlton for a second round pic. He can play every week there and get a payrise

I have been browsing the bigfooty archives and noticed a few things. One of the guys that might be able to help us thats on the improve, offers something different and a little cheaper is possibly Mathew Kennedy. He is improving his running, is leaner. He is a bit more inside, taller than Caddy and arguably more a contested mark threat. I thought Carlton would ideally want to keep him because apart from his improvement he seems to fit well with Cripps and the group. However, I am not sure if he is most suitable to their needs. Carlton have Cripps, they also have Setterfield and a young Kemp they hope will develop. Jack Martin has given them something up forward and inside. Arguably despite Kennedy improving maybe in reality he is excess for them unfortunately and they probably are looking for some more enhanced features as they reconstruct and add to their improving list. So is Mathew Kennedy a better support fit for us? He can provide instant inside bull presence, relief for Dusty, help Cotch in the physical stakes to, not costly, a bit more inside and stronger in terms of contested marking which compliments our smalls better. He is known as bam bam and we want someone to give Dusty a chop out and physical inside presence. I watched him v West Coast on the weekend. He has a thirst for the contest, does not shy away from the physical contest and is not afraid to step in the corridor take a mark and hit for the team. He could give us more central backbone. He is a little different meaning he is separate from the likes of a Ross, RCD who I think is more versatile as a possible backman/winger centreman, as well as Marytn and others that are a little shorter with different skill sets and he is the sort of guy who is polar opposite to Bolton, Edwards, Lambert etc.. so he should be a good compliment in theory. He is average at disposal I think but adequate possibly, however we have Dusty as the star we no one does what Dusty does so you let him roam from half forward. Kennedy is not afraid of a defensive mindset, he did a tag job on Shuey on the weekend. Is this a guy who can help us in the middle and back half or as a bigger tagger that could be thrown forward at a pinch if needed. Is he a better fit? Carlton might want Caddy more with a bit more experience and more versatility in terms of the midfield forward mix they are shaping. It looks like Carlton are searching for something and they always are active as a rule. If they envisage Jack Martin going into the midfield are they looking at someone like Caddy to provide a forward chop out and help elsewhere? There is the Gold Coast connection with Jack Martin to. Food for thought and it is interesting how things develop

When Caddy is fit and in form (around finals) he's a damn fine player. Smart tough and gets to the right spots and hits the right target - and loves a goal.

He's slow and not really inside. But I reckon he adds a heap to our team. We'd lose more than we gained if we traded him.

Mar 1, 2010
When Caddy is fit and in form (around finals) he's a damn fine player. Smart tough and gets to the right spots and hits the right target - and loves a goal.

He's slow and not really inside. But I reckon he adds a heap to our team. We'd lose more than we gained if we traded him.

Caddy is a good player, and generally versatile to. However, I agree he is not really inside for long periods and suitable for us inside, and on the wing he does not have the endurance and coverage like.

Caddy is more of a medium forward that can help in other areas but the trouble with our team is we have JR and Lynch as well as others like Chol with the smalls that rotate all over the place and I don't think that helps him in terms of best fit. We are getting refined to in our set-up to, understand our pieces that fit the jigsaw, and we have a lot of youth coming though looking at multiple roles back as well as forward and in the midfield

Caddy is a good player, and generally versatile to. However, I agree he is not really inside for long periods and suitable for us inside, and on the wing he does not have the endurance and coverage like.

Caddy is more of a medium forward that can help in other areas but the trouble with our team is we have JR and Lynch as well as others like Chol with the smalls that rotate all over the place and I don't think that helps him in terms of best fit. We are getting refined to in our set-up to, understand our pieces that fit the jigsaw, and we have a lot of youth coming though looking at multiple roles back as well as forward and in the midfield

What we did with Caddy last year was play him on the wing, but leave the hard running to the small forwards etc. What he did was simply out muscle and out play others on the wing. Our game style means that we can play a slower wing because they aren't so exposed. And if he creates miss matches then the oppo has a problem they don't often face. But to make it work Caddy has to be in the right spot at the right time. He's a smart footballer so it worked. But it's a fairly on the edge strategy. A bit off and he isn't much chop. If he is on and so is the rest of the team, then we constantly create miss matches and Josh can rule the wing. Let's see how it evolves as we start to accelerate.

Mar 1, 2010
What we did with Caddy last year was play him on the wing, but leave the hard running to the small forwards etc. What he did was simply out muscle and out play others on the wing. Our game style means that we can play a slower wing because they aren't so exposed. And if he creates miss matches then the oppo has a problem they don't often face. But to make it work Caddy has to be in the right spot at the right time. He's a smart footballer so it worked. But it's a fairly on the edge strategy. A bit off and he isn't much chop. If he is on and so is the rest of the team, then we constantly create miss matches and Josh can rule the wing. Let's see how it evolves as we start to accelerate.

When its reliant on the system that creates rigidity in itself. Still this year will be very interesting in how robust this method will be. The media have been talking about Touhy, Blicavs and others rotating through the wing position and Scott adapting his positions and players to certain opposition matchups. Geelong were a reasonable foe last year until later in the game. 16 minute quarters it will be interesting to see what happens. I think the full scope of what Balta might be able to offer for us in terms of ball transition forward complimenting the group is yet to be fully exploded as well

Goshaa

🏆🏆
Jul 8, 2020
Tbh do you really want to cook him now when we can manage his time now with stints up forward and have him primed for the right time of year?
That’s not what the other posted said though. He said Dusty doesn’t have the tank to play midfield anymore. Dusty would be the fittest he has ever been and probably has scope to become fitter.

He will likely slow down once he hits the wrong side of 30 but even then the guy is not human. I fully expect him to be playing at a high level until 34-35.

Aug 25, 2007
Richmond VFL
I thought they played Caddy as a more Offensive Wing after he came back last year and into finals, maybe theyre just holding back on what they want other teams to get ready for
Also AO is a diff shape and always looks like our wings are cramped, this is compared to the G and from 2017
View attachment 933355

AO is the mustard color and it might not look like much but its close to 20 mtr
Probably a kick and a half quicker end to end with 45 kicks.

Yep, the last one I can find is from an article in 2018.

GMHBA Stadium - 170m - 116m
Adelaide Oval - 167m - 123m
MCG - 161m - 138m

It`s the closest ground in dimensions to Kardinia Park.

Long and narrow.

Dimma said after the game that Port defend it well because when they get it in their forward line it`s harder to get out because it`s narrow.