Tasmania Congratulations on Tassie License. Mens team to enter 2028. Womens team TBA. Other details TBA 3/5

abc.net C. Rowbottom 22.7

Rowbottom writes that the AFL might be facing a crisis in finding suitable locations- & that the spurned Tas. govt. may now want some "assurances" from the AFL re Tas. soon having its own team.

24.7 Tas. govt position here, for current opposition to Qld. transfers

The Age C. Wilson 7.8

Only 1% of AFL fans, in an amazing act of loyalty, have requested a refund of their 2020 membership fees- albeit with large nos. pledging the 2020 moneys for 2021 membership.

The AFL HQ, & all its Clubs, have decided (for 2020 & future years) to make major, permanent cuts to HQ & Club spending- to cope with the loss of revenues due to covid-19. It will become much "cheaper" to run an AFL club. This will particularly help the smaller AFL clubs-& a future Tas. 19th club.

This renewal of membership fees/attendant financial confidence will make it easier for the AFL to give approval for a 19th Tas. team to enter c. 2025.

There are also other reasons (new AFL Rights' deals in June 2020 only resulted in c.12-13% reductions in Rights' $, cf old deals; possible reduction to 16 on-field per team etc.) to believe that the AFL is not prevented, by financial pressures, to reject a Tas. 19th team.

(Scroll down to my post #2446 for details)

Ch.7 ratings are booming, up 18% cf 2019. Will this give the AFL confidence that they can expect a better deal from Seven for their next, post 2024 deal? (The AFL only wanted a 2 year extension to 2024).
This rise was achieved, even though games have nil atmosphere for the viewer at home- due to no, or limited, crowds.

Ditto, the next Foxtel deal, which still terminates in 2022?
Live Foxtel matches are up 34%, cf 2019.

1. Thought I should put this here, as the new, greatly reduced AFL HQ & Club revenues & expenditures, post covid-19, are crucial factors in determining when Tas. will become the 19th Club.

The Australian C. Walsh 24.8

Re former AFL HQ staffing levels of c. 1,000 "...20% of the workforce was made redundant..."
"...hundreds of jobs will be gone in a couple of weeks...".
(Does this mean 200 staff to go- or more?).

The AFL Executive (previously paid c. $10.5m pa- outrageous for a Not For Profit, relative to the AFL HQ annual revenues, cf private sector Executive rates at private companies with similar revenues) will be cut from 11-8.

(Go to Sports Industry tweet 24.8- then click on "The Australian" article)

IMO, it's a case of "when", not" if", Tas. becomes the 19th team. The AFL desperately wants the fabled Tas. recruitment goldmine of stars & great players to be revived in Tas.; & to fulfill its self-proclaimed duties to protect & foster AF.
Both Demetriou (including recently), & Mc Lachlan (including recently) have both said that, paraphrasing "...when the AFL expands next, Tasmania will probably be the next team"- but no specific date given.

Much reduced Club expenditures on the overpaid & overstaffed Football Depts./soft caps or hard caps, large List Reductions etc. will make the financial sustainability of "small" clubs much more viable- & improve their long term competitiveness cf rich Clubs.

2. G. Mc Lachlan said today (reported Radio 3AW) that the AFL is committed to fully funding community football around Australia, despite its covid-19 financial loss of revenues- it is a priority.

But in reality, HQ aren't going to want that speed bump. Pointing the blame at the Tas govt. won't help any.

Nor will it have any legal basis. The boarder restraints were not done not as a political decision to just exclude 2 money hungry FIFO teams. It was a medically based decision which has affected all interstate travel, not just AFL clubs.

No judge/magistrate wouldn't entertain any such frivolous attempt by the AFL.

First things first.
Tassie have to create a team to play in the eastern seaboard second tier league to get up and running. That is not an easy thing until border restrictions etc. all sorted. We also have to get rid of complete dickhead premier here before anything approaches normal for anything to function again.

First things first.
Tassie have to create a team to play in the eastern seaboard second tier league to get up and running. That is not an easy thing until border restrictions etc. all sorted. We also have to get ride of complete dickhead premier here before anything approaches normal for anything to function again.

Gotta say this and I do not vote Liberal - Gutwein has been doing a good job.

First things first.
Tassie have to create a team to play in the eastern seaboard second tier league to get up and running. That is not an easy thing until border restrictions etc. all sorted. We also have to get rid of complete dickhead premier here before anything approaches normal for anything to function again.

No, we've been down that rabbit hole one before. It went well, then it was used as a cheap 2nds game for North Melbourne, It lost credibility & public support. It had no aim to go anywhere. It proved to be an expensive waste of time.

The ONLY way to get an AFL club, is to get an AFL club. GWS & GC were given a licence straight up. The NEAFL teams were only there to give development time to the young draft picks.

You cant con Tassie again with that one.

No, we've been down that rabbit hole one before. It went well, then it was used as a cheap 2nds game for North Melbourne, It lost credibility & public support. It had no aim to go anywhere. It proved to be an expensive waste of time.

The ONLY way to get an AFL club, is to get an AFL club. GWS & GC were given a licence straight up. The NEAFL teams were only there to give development time to the young draft picks.

You cant con Tassie again with that one.
Mate, you need to pull your head out of the sand with your paranoia. There is no con from me. I want to see a Tassie team in the AFL. Clearly to get a team representing Tasmania in any form is a step forward. Whatever happened in the past, is the past. Gold Coast had a reserves team a year or two before their proper real team in AFL. Stop being paranoid.

A Tassie VFL team is a great idea ... If it's followed by an AFL team a couple of years later.

I wasn't calling you a con. You should actually look at the brief history of the 1st Tas VFL team of 2001. Then look at Gill's 'rescue'(attempted con job) plan for Tasmanian football, the 2nd VFL team. Neither of which 'rescued' Tas footy. They were still all about resurrecting & maximising the growth & export of players for mainland AFL clubs. SFA to do with the health of football here. The Tas AFL business case committee & Government have rightfully knocked the stupid 'Gill's rescue con job' on the head.

The GWS & GC were given an AFL license first before anything else, the NEAFL teams were just for player development. They had a direction which Tasmania was never given. Hence both Tas VFL teams floundered. Stepping stones to nowhere in fact.

Even the VFL itself is in a state of flux. Whats its role, whats its direction??

Paranoid? No just realistic & opened eyed to the AFL & Gill's BS.

The past may be the past. It was the AFL wanted to repeat the same BS. We're just not copping that cheap crap again.

Give us a future for a change. Or Fcough all together.

I wasn't calling you a con. You should actually look at the brief history of the 1st Tas VFL team of 2001. Then look at Gill's 'rescue'(attempted con job) plan for Tasmanian football, the 2nd VFL team. Neither of which 'rescued' Tas footy. They were still all about resurrecting & maximising the growth & export of players for mainland AFL clubs. SFA to do with the health of football here. The Tas AFL business case committee & Government have rightfully knocked the stupid 'Gill's rescue con job' on the head.

The GWS & GC were given an AFL license first before anything else, the NEAFL teams were just for player development. They had a direction which Tasmania was never given. Hence both Tas VFL teams floundered. Stepping stones to nowhere in fact.

Even the VFL itself is in a state of flux. Whats its role, whats its direction??

Paranoid? No just realistic & opened eyed to the AFL & Gill's BS.

The past may be the past. It was the AFL wanted to repeat the same BS. We're just not copping that cheap crap again.

Give us a future for a change. Or Fcough all together.
Absolutely love this. Couldn't have said it better myself.

I wasn't calling you a con.

State of flux is being kind. It is not even that. It is a dogs breakfast situation. There seems little to no direction, although given current circumstance of 2020 I cannot see how we have any Eastern Australian Coast second tier comp at this stage. We have to get rid of the ******* premier before anything else. We can speculate until the cows come home but things need leadership. There is none at the moment.

If Tasmania had done what Qld did, and offered to host the AFL for long stretches, they would have curried a fair bit of favour with the AFL.
We've been sucking up to them for years and it's got us no where. Ball is in their court now. With a brand new NBL team coming next year (a sport that's quite popular here), they might lose Tassie for good if they don't start to respect us.

1. SEN Melbourne Radio G. Whateley Program "The Top Office With Tony Shepherd".

This illuminating interview provides a rare insight into the AFL HQ's inner sanctum; & AFL HQ's motivation for choosing GWS & GCFC for expansion- & HQ's evaluation of GWS & GCFC's funding & their current progress.

(scroll to my post#3265)

The interview highlights the great importance the AFL places on extra, 9th game pw content.

This will help the Tas. 19th team bid since, if successful, there will be an eleven extra H & A games pa (ie to 209 pa- plus possibly an extra Final).
And perhaps a Final 9 or 10, which greatly extend interest/ratings/crowds, for more fans, for more Clubs, for longer in the season.
These 11 extra games will be very valuable, if they add 11 extra lucrative, Prime Time Thur. night games (much sought by broadcasters).

The Shepherd interview also reinforces the AFL places great importance on GR AF growth- but Tas. male GR comp. player nos are in decline; &, more importantly to the AFL, the traditional Tas. goldmine of champions & great players being drafted has collapsed.
Soccer & basketball nos., at record nos., are booming in Tas.- directly attributable to the AFL's neglect there.

You should actually look at the brief history of the 1st Tas VFL team of 2001. Then look at Gill's 'rescue'(attempted con job) plan for Tasmanian football, the 2nd VFL team. Neither of which 'rescued' Tas footy. They were still all about resurrecting & maximising the growth & export of players for mainland AFL clubs. SFA to do with the health of football here. The Tas AFL business case committee & Government have rightfully knocked the stupid 'Gill's rescue

For completeness, for those who may not be aware, the Tas. VFL games initially attracted very large crowds for VFL games- over 13,000.
Then NMFC began to treat them as experimental games, designed primarily to benefit the NMFC AFL team- NMFC obviously didn't care if the Tas. VFL team won or lost.
Of course, Tas. fans recognised this insult/charade as a FU to Tasmania- then fans totally lost interest, & VFL crowd nos. collapsed.

We've been sucking up to them for years and it's got us no where. Ball is in their court now. With a brand new NBL team coming next year (a sport that's quite popular here), they might lose Tassie for good if they don't start to respect us.

I appreciate that, but the fact remains that Tassie was better placed than Qld in many respects, yet did not pursue the possibility at all.
Now that's their perogative, and they have every right to put health first, but by the same token, they can't expect that the AFL didn't take any notice.

I appreciate that, but the fact remains that Tassie was better placed than Qld in many respects, yet did not pursue the possibility at all.
Now that's their perogative, and they have every right to put health first, but by the same token, they can't expect that the AFL didn't take any notice.
we sorted offered, and we sort of didn't. We would have liked a hub, but we were not going to give exemptions to the AFL. It was very similar to the WA position, apart from the fact we don't have a team and have no players to care about. the border policy is too popular to give exemptions for the government to risk it(hello WA again). We also had the added issue of the cricket sight screens being up til July at Blundstone and the NW hospital outbreak meant we were slower to reduce restrictions than the mainland. Gutwien(our Premier) has been very cautious with Covid and was the one of the most liked Premier is this country due to this reason.(again hello WA)

It should also be mentioned that his tougher stance with the AFL seems to be generally popular down here as well.

If Tasmania had done what Qld did, and offered to host the AFL for long stretches, they would have curried a fair bit of favour with the AFL.
What have they done for us? The AFL can get flipped. We will probably never get a team anyway, unless the AFL puts it in writing we are getting a team, then Tasmania should do absolutely nothing else for them and everything in its power to get an A League team instead.