Autopsy Round 14, 2020: Melbourne v St.Kilda

On a positive note Ben Paton totally shut out Kosi Pickett. 4 touches and 0 score involvements.

I also recall geary laying a huge tackle on him when he was threatening to break into the 50, as well as geary being the only bloke our our team who showed the strength and ability to actually stick a tackle on petracca for the whole night.

Won't hear about any of that from those who watch games with their preconceptions rather than their eyeballs though.

We're just in the 8. We've lost 4 games by under 10 points. We're not really ready to challenge. It's pretty obvious. We're a relatively consistent team.

Last night was so irritating however we aint winning a flag with a 15 gamer at FF. We're building toward something. In that process we'll havw 'nearly' games and 'nearly' seasons. We'll also evolve and in doing so, the Geary and Hind types will either be good enough or be ushered out. We need to add a few, its so clear.

We're on the righ track and may yet do a bit of damage this year. I shudder to think where we'd be this year without the changes made in the last 12 months. We need to keep calm and support the boys. We'll get there!

Great post, helped calm me down a lot

Not laughing at you mate .

Think we got ahead of ourselves with Port win .....still half way thru rebuild as you said.

Ratten has to put his imprint on the team structure , speed & skill .

Definitely needs Roughead around significantly big loss in my humble opinion.

Ratts has definitely got us playing a more positive brand. Richo looked like he was holding back the dam wall not improving us. The Port win got us ahead of ourselves and the Geelong loss knocked the stuffing out. Losing Gresham makes a big difference too. He's got something about him despite poor disposal that gets shit done. So many times in his career he's been the match winner.

The forwards have been on a slow decline since we lost Roughy.

Hi guys, this is a bit random but my son-in-law, a Saints supporter, has just asked my opinion on the female Indigenous dancers performance.

He said it was obvious that many of the young women dancers were very uncomfortable and self-conscious about being topless and were visibly trying to cover up.

So I didn’t see it so couldn’t give an opinion. Did anyone else notice? He was pretty angry about it.

It was pretty awkward. They just didn't look very rehearsed overall. I must admit I was more reading big footy though so perhaps I didn't take a lot of notice of individuals, I didn't even notice they were topless. The old lady gave a pretty good speech though I thought. Gave a good bit about walking side by side and respect being the message behind the BLM movement.

9th here we come. It’s clear we’re not ready for finals & if we did sneak in I think it would be 8th spot & play maybe eagles at Optus, we all know how that would end. It’s been a fun ride in parts this year but stick a fork in us, we’re done. Bring on 2021, hope I win the #1 ticket holder raffle!

Part of me is happy that they had to fly back last night with the Demons.
Hopefully there was some slight gloating.
If only more of our players played with the same heart as Steele.

I hope Petracca wasn't being nasty to our bunch of choir boys on the plane.

Looks like Billings forgot to bring his teddy to Noosa. Maybe that's his problem. Ratts should ask that Qld monstrosity of a premier if she would allow Mrs Billings to fly it up in time for the next game.

9th here we come. It’s clear we’re not ready for finals & if we did sneak in I think it would be 8th spot & play maybe eagles at Optus, we all know how that would end. It’s been a fun ride in parts this year but stick a fork in us, we’re done. Bring on 2021, hope I win the #1 ticket holder raffle!
Certainly not done. Should win the next game fairly easily and that could still have us a game clear plus a big percentage break on the 9th side with 2 games to go.

Few things

- You can see what they were trying to do with the Carlisle omission and the thinking behind that, but we clearly missed him, his experience and his intercept marking last night. I always sense a feeling of calm when he gets the ball and reckon he’s a pretty decent kick most of the time

- We just played straight into Melbournes hands last night. Bomb it long to a constantly flooded forward line. Unbelievable to think we didn’t get Max up the ground more and just plonk the resting ruckman deep to mix it up and provide a stronger body. How no move was made until minutes left in the last quarter is poor coaching. We know Max can get on a gallop so I’d be keen to see him move away from the goal square when the plan A doesn’t work.
It’s obviously so frustrating him missing a few marks but too many people who know all say it’s just a matter of time. His ability to get to the right spots at his age and experience is astounding.

- Having Gresham and Hannebery out hurts us so much. The one area of the ground we couldn’t afford two of our guns to be missing. Dunstan may be more depth but his injury too is at the most inopportune time. He would be a walk in currently, to help with the inside ball that rests far too heavily on Steele and Jones. If we don’t finally start addressing our midfield this off season then we will be no where near it.

- The old saying is it’s never as good as you think, but it’s also never as bad as you think. We are in the 8. I’d far and away rather be in this position than just out and needing to get in. We’ll beat Hawthorn this week. Of that I’m very confident.
4 losses by less than a goal. This tells us we’re in games and realistically 15 points off potentially a top 2 spot. I’m sure composure in these tight games will be a major focus over the pre season and like Brisbane did the year before where they reversed the previous seasons close results, fix that and we may see a major jump up to contention.

IN: Jake Carlisle, Jack Lonie, Jack Bytel
OUT: Ed Phillips, Nick Hind, Jarryn Geary

Nothing wrong with last night that Brad Crouch and a fit Hannebery wouldn't fix.

Unfortunately though Hannebery will probably never be properly fit again, and who knows how many suitors Crouch will have this year. If I was him I'd go to Gold Coast and make them into a serious contender.

Yep Brad Crouch would have ensured the game was over way sooner with his constant turnovers 🥴

The personal attacks on billings a bunch of BS, he's no where near as a soft as some of you make out, yea he had a terrible game, yea he's had a poor few weeks, but the weak attacks on his hardness, and the class based attacks on him being from a private school do not make any sense, despite. The fact is that lots of guys come from a private school bacround now and it has nothing to do with their toughness

For instance

Battle, Taranto, Degoey, Weitering Brayshawx 2, Petracca, Fyfe, Jobe, Judd, Goddard, ball, Mcrae, Bont,Tom Mitchel so lets give this BS insult a rest aye.

Hunter needs two things to exist;

Time.
Space.

In his current iteration, he is Hill with a bit more body to him and less punch in his running capacity, where if you want him to run to that contest, put the body on the line, repeat effort and basically be Steele, Hill will try once, Hunter will try twice and Steele will still be contesting.

That's his "problem", and in this match where you have one side two way running to plug space and rebound, well there's a reason guys like Seb, Gears, Phillips, Sincs, Paton, Long, Coff get to contests and try to contest them continually, and it's not because you trust their disposals, but it's because they have the desire to impact that contest, recognise their need to, and so they do.

We'll likely finish 6-7, limp in, do nothing much and hey, we played finals, congrats.

Too top heavy with him, Dees have a few mid types that stream forward, hence Jones starting forward for them and Pretracca going deep, Snake being there does literally zero unless you rotate Battle back and plug him around the forward half since you expect members and King to even things but not take contested marks. I mean, there's a reason we looked better with Roma on May instead of King and Battle in the F50 with Members deep, as those are lead up guys compared to members and Ming who people just dump things on their head and say good luck.

Snake is more of the same, he basically only say gives Long and Coff a bit more release, but then who are you taking out of that line up?
For mine Long

Well that was something of a bitter pill to swallow; but honestly I don't really understand the melts on here.

We should have won the game, but deserved to lose. If we run the exact same game again through some kind of sim we probably win by 10 points about 80% - most of the time Membrey kicks 1 out of the 2 he missed (or both), Roma kicks his maybe half the time, and Brown kicks that goal maybe 10% of the time with Trac kicking that massive goal maybe 30% of the time.

Sucks that we just lacked the composure - 46 to 30 i50s but we just kept kicking it to May. As other posters have said though, you learn more from the losses than the wins and I suspect Jones, Hill and Long are having nightmares about their disposal choices in the last ten mins. Hill looked genuinely shattered after the game which I see as a good thing, he's a laid back guy generally but it really did look like he was cruising a bit earlier in the season.

Need to reset expectations here because there is no way we're beating Geelong, Bris, Rich or WC in a final with the system, skill and talent those teams have going. Hopefully we grind our way into the finals somehow.

Few things

- You can see what they were trying to do with the Carlisle omission and the thinking behind that, but we clearly missed him, his experience and his intercept marking last night. I always sense a feeling of calm when he gets the ball and reckon he’s a pretty decent kick most of the time

Broken down hack according to some.

Most likely will need to win one of two but with a little luck we may not. What I do know is we need every side in the 8 to beat every side outside the 8 when they play each other
At this point in our development under Ratts it’s important we make finals even if we go straight out. We need to see the long game. We’re not ready to contend yet IMO and that’s becoming clear but we need to attract talent and be on an upward trajectory.
we just seem to have lost our way of late - correct that and we are going somewhere not treading water

I hope Petracca wasn't being nasty to our bunch of choir boys on the plane.

Looks like Billings forgot to bring his teddy to Noosa. Maybe that's his problem. Ratts should ask that Qld monstrosity of a premier if she would allow Mrs Billings to fly it up in time for the next game.
I wonder who's more courageous, Billings stepping out on AFL footy field, or you behind a keyboard telling everyone how much of a pu##y he is

It was pretty awkward. They just didn't look very rehearsed overall. I must admit I was more reading big footy though so perhaps I didn't take a lot of notice of individuals, I didn't even notice they were topless. The old lady gave a pretty good speech though I thought. Gave a good bit about walking side by side and respect being the message behind the BLM movement.
Thanks. I get this isn't the best place to discuss it but it would be concerning if these girls were being coerced for the sake of tourism and tv entertainment.

Coffield is going to be an absolute jet. He reads the play so well, is a good mark, has pace and is a good kick. I reckon his season as a whole has been a fair bit better than Clark’s.
Coffield legit looks like he is in his own world when he plays, always seems to have time and composure

Autopsy Round 14, 2020: Melbourne v St.Kilda