News Gibbs to retire after final game against the Blues

Does Gibbs deserve a farewell game?

• Yes

Votes: 72 51.1%
  • No

Votes: 69 48.9%

Why wouldn't Gibbs retiring be a great announcement for the club? We could be saving hundreds of thousands in the salary cap!

You reckon Gibbs is foregoing much of his contract value? Maybe a small amount to get his pity game. Thank Christ he's gone, but a farewell game for a guy who checked out 12 months into a 4 year deal. These are the decisions well run footy depts laugh off as an attempt at humour. "Shit, you're being serious, you're fired too"

When he didn't want to come back as a free agent, that should have been the end of it.

I also believe he would have had a much better career had we been able to draft him, than for him to get killed by the worst era of Carlton

Enjoy your retirement

At the time I worked with an old mate who was a Glenelg member - said Gibbs was glad he missed f/s and always wanted to go to a Melbourne club

After the wash out, the outcome of the Gibbs trade turned out quite complicated.

2017 AFC-CAR trade:
  • Out: Pick 10, Pick 16 and AFC's 2018 2nd Rounder (Pick 33)
  • In: Gibbs, Pick 77, Carlton's 2018 2nd Rounder (Pick 24) and 3rd Rounder (Pick 44)
2018 AFC-GWS trade:
  • Out: Carlton's 2018 2nd Rounder (Pick 24)
  • In: Pick 30, Carlton's 2019 2nd Rounder (Pick 24)

So if I'm following this correctly, and ignoring the later round picks, wash up of trades:
  • OUT: 2017 Pick 10 (O'Brien - CAR), Pick 16 (Richards WB), 2018 Pick 24 (B Hill - GWS), Pick 33 (Jordon - Melb)
  • IN: Gibbs, 2018 Pick 30 (Hamil), 2019 Pick 27 (Worrel)

Last year the Gibbs deal was looking heavily one sided, but given what Hamil has shown this year, it's looking quite palatable.

Edit: Worrel instead of Schoenberg.

Pick 16 was split to become de Koning and Matt Kennedy.

I can't for the life of me work out what happened to our 2018 2nd round pick to get it to Melbourne - it seemed to go through multiple hands.

I think there's a logic problem with including Bobby Hill in the trade?

I just posted this news to a port mate and he let me have it re the Gibbs deal and how bad it was for us. Can anyone summarise the deal in its totality. Was it that bad for us in the final wash up?

The final washup for both clubs is an absolute nightmare to work out because picks got traded a lot. To the point, there is a part of the deal which is still "live". However if you want every tether from this deal explained, I'll do it, because its kind of fun to see how much the league ended up getting changed because of this deal. Resulting player from these picks denoted in italics as I do want to note that just because they were selected does not mean they go at that pick if this trade didn't happen. There are some trades I didn't include as well because this job was becoming a mammoth task and these deals don't directly impact either Adelaide or Carlton but I've put the end result in brackets. I might come back to it later tonight and add all of those tentacles.

The direct result was:

Gibbs + 2018 2nd (24, on traded) + 2018 third (44, on traded) + Pick 77 (unused) for 10 (O'Brien) + 16 (on traded) + 73 (Schumacher) + 2018 2nd (33 on traded)

Now, all the trades that ended up occurring from this trade:

That 2018 2nd was traded to GWS (Bobby Hill) + 2019 fifth-round pick (unused) for pick 28 (Hamill) + 2019 second-round pick for Carton (which would be on-traded again).

The 2019 second-round pick in the previous trade went to Sydney (used for Gould) + a 2020 4th for pick 27 (Worrell) + 2020 third (Fremantle).

The 2018 third would be in the three-way swap with Sydney and Carlton:
Carlton gained: McGovern + 2019 third (on-traded)
Adelaide get: 13 (McHenry) + McAdam + 2019 fifth (no one)
Sydney get: 26 + 28. Naturally, both those picks were on-traded.

Sydney traded pick 26 to West Coast for a 2019 third round pick (51, on-traded ends up resulting in GWS getting Ricardi)
Sydney traded pick 28 + Hannebury to Saints for 39 + 2019 2nd round pick (naturally, on-traded - ends up getting linked the Sharp deal to Geelong)

The 2019 third from Carlton got split into 54 + 63. Both get on-traded for Pittonet + 61 (unused)

Pick 16 (Richards) for Carlton would be traded alongside pick 40 to the dogs for 28 + 30 + 2018 2nd round pick (dogs).
Pick 28 is traded to GWS for Matt Kennedy. Direct swap, thankfully.
Pick 40 ends up at the Lions in another trade with the dogs - another tentacle as this gets linked to the Josh Schace trade.
2018 2nd rounder was involved in the McGovern trade

The 2018 2nd (Jordan) was also traded to Sydney in that deal. Ends up at St.Kilda.

So the final washup with everything that is included (and all the things that got linked to the nightmare behemoth that is the Gibbs trade). Italics are the player selected from the draft picks. Other clubs aren't included on this list though the true winner of this trade is probably Geelong.

Adelaide gained: Gibbs + 2018 2nd (28, Hamill) + 2019 2nd round (27, Worrell) + 2020 third (Fremantle) + 2018 1st (McHenry) + McAdam + 2019 fifth (no one)
Adelaide lost: 10 (O'Brien) + 16 (Richards) + 73 (Schumacher) + 2018 2nd (24, Hill) + 2019 2nd (25, Gould)+ 2019 fifth round pick (unused) + McGovern + 2019 third (51, Riccardi)

Carlton gained: 10 (O'Brien) + 30 (De Koning) + 73 (Schumacher) + Kennedy + McGovern + Pittonet
lost: Gibbs + 2018 2nd (24, Hill), 2018 third (44, McInerney) + McAdam selection rights + 2018 2nd (26, Foley) + 2018 second (28, Jordan)

I think that's the summary of the two major clubs, but you'd be hard-pressed to find a trade which really changed the complexion of the league as much as this trade did. I gave up after a while chasing all the links because **** that.

In terms of winner? It certainly wasn't football. That's for sure.

You're too kind. You'd hope any senior player on the outer playing reserves was doing that with the youngsters as a minimum.

The game is a slap in the face to whoever misses out now. It's not like AFC fans want to see the pea heart play a final game. Just go quietly into the night Bryce.

Mate, not everyone feels the same way as you, and certainly within a football club they wouldn't feel this way about one of their friends.

Just an isolated game gifted to a cooked senior player denying a kid a game. Doesn't speak to ingrained Philosophical weakneshe's. I'm not against farewell games, but not to a player like Gibbs. We bend so easy when faced with even moving slightly towards a toughish decision on a senior player.
Triggered again

If Kelly isn't an out, then it's Gibbs n for Hamill who we were told was returning against Carlton. I think Kelly might still miss as Gibbs bringe the experience up a notch.
No issues if Hamill comes in

Lol.
We had late draft picks and you have no idea would would or wouldn't have been there when those picks came up.
We gave up two first round picks for him.
If you think the trade was good, you need to slap yourself upside the head.
I think we made the best of a bad deal, unlike you who throws himself off a cliff at every opportunity

The final washup for both clubs is an absolute nightmare to work out because picks got traded a lot. To the point, there is a part of the deal which is still "live". However if you want every tether from this deal explained, I'll do it, because its kind of fun to see how much the league ended up getting changed because of this deal. Resulting player from these picks denoted in italics as I do want to note that just because they were selected does not mean they go at that pick if this trade didn't happen. There are some trades I didn't include as well because this job was becoming a mammoth task and these deals don't directly impact either Adelaide or Carlton but I've put the end result in brackets. I might come back to it later tonight and add all of those tentacles.

The direct result was:

Gibbs + 2018 2nd (24, on traded) + 2018 third (44, on traded) + Pick 77 (unused) for 10 (O'Brien) + 16 (on traded) + 73 (Schumacher) + 2018 2nd (33 on traded)

Now, all the trades that ended up occurring from this trade:

That 2018 2nd was traded to GWS (Bobby Hill) + 2019 fifth-round pick (unused) for pick 28 (Hamill) + 2019 second-round pick for Carton (which would be on-traded again).

The 2019 second-round pick in the previous trade went to Sydney (used for Gould) + a 2020 4th for pick 27 (Worrell) + 2020 third (Fremantle).

The 2018 third would be in the three-way swap with Sydney and Carlton:
Carlton gained: McGovern + 2019 third (on-traded)
Adelaide get: 13 (McHenry) + McAdam + 2019 fifth (no one)
Sydney get: 26 + 28. Naturally, both those picks were on-traded.

Sydney traded pick 26 to West Coast for a 2019 third round pick (51, on-traded ends up resulting in GWS getting Ricardi)
Sydney traded pick 28 + Hannebury to Saints for 39 + 2019 2nd round pick (naturally, on-traded - ends up getting linked the Sharp deal to Geelong)

The 2019 third from Carlton got split into 54 + 63. Both get on-traded for Pittonet + 61 (unused)

Pick 16 (Richards) for Carlton would be traded alongside pick 40 to the dogs for 28 + 30 + 2018 2nd round pick (dogs).
Pick 28 is traded to GWS for Matt Kennedy. Direct swap, thankfully.
Pick 40 ends up at the Lions in another trade with the dogs - another tentacle as this gets linked to the Josh Schace trade.
2018 2nd rounder was involved in the McGovern trade

The 2018 2nd (Jordan) was also traded to Sydney in that deal. Ends up at St.Kilda.

So the final washup with everything that is included (and all the things that got linked to the nightmare behemoth that is the Gibbs trade). Italics are the player selected from the draft picks. Other clubs aren't included on this list though the true winner of this trade is probably Geelong.

Adelaide gained: Gibbs + 2018 2nd (28, Hamill) + 2019 2nd round (27, Worrell) + 2020 third (Fremantle) + 2018 1st (McHenry) + McAdam + 2019 fifth (no one)
Adelaide lost: 10 (O'Brien) + 16 (Richards) + 73 (Schumacher) + 2018 2nd (24, Hill) + 2019 2nd (25, Gould)+ 2019 fifth round pick (unused) + McGovern + 2019 third (51, Riccardi)

Carlton gained: 10 (O'Brien) + 30 (De Koning) + 73 (Schumacher) + Kennedy + McGovern + Pittonet
lost: Gibbs + 2018 2nd (24, Hill), 2018 third (44, McInerney) + McAdam selection rights + 2018 2nd (26, Foley) + 2018 second (28, Jordan)

I think that's the summary of the two major clubs, but you'd be hard-pressed to find a trade which really changed the complexion of the league as much as this trade did. I gave up after a while chasing all the links because fu** that.

In terms of winner? It certainly wasn't football. That's for sure.
Excellent summary!! Now I feel bad about my clumsy earlier post.

I think you did it the smart way. That's a good 45 minutes of my life gone that I want back. ;)

I wish we could say that Bryce Gibbs didn't have the career that we'd hoped when he was traded to us, without having to say he's a disgrace who just stole a paycheck and everyone involved should be fired.

Maybe it just didn't go as well as we wanted it to, and that's it.

Given the announcement of the miscarriage a week or 2 ago you can imagine there's been a hell of a lot of emotion lately.

Not enough respect being shown here IMO

He'd get more respect if he didn't wedge a game out of us. Zero respect for this grub and it's nothing to do with his personal life. He was stealing from our TPP well before his partner miscarried. Disgusting request and even worse acceptance. Oh that's right, just another HS isolated incident.

Bryce was very good in 2018 and I reckon he would’ve been shocked at that year being the pinnacle of Crows team success during his time here.

He clearly had family reasons to move back to Adelaide but I don’t think he would’ve moved without believing he was becoming a Crow to play finals.

You're too kind. You'd hope any senior player on the outer playing reserves was doing that with the youngsters as a minimum.

The game is a slap in the face to whoever misses out now. It's not like AFC fans want to see the pea heart play a final game. Just go quietly into the night Bryce.

On SM-A205YN using BigFooty.com mobile app
Jacobs wouldn't even play finals with his junior teammates. To Gibbs' credit, he hasn't sulked. He's continued to help the kids during a difficult year both professionally and personally.

A damn shame it ended the way it did. Was looking pretty good in 2018 and just found the cliff.

Ah well, hopefully, this retirement game lowers his payout.

I don't think he should be given a farewell game, but I'm not going to be upset about it. Can only assume it was part of his negotiations to part ways and not have to pay out his entire contract for next season.

He played well in his first season here but you could tell his heart was never in it. One of those trades that seemed like a good idea at the time as we all thought we would still be in our premiership window for another couple of years. Didn't work out that way, you win some you lose some.