Unofficial Preview 2020 Draft Discussion

HAWKSBESTEVA

Jun 14, 2020
Have you watched the last 2 months? Pick 3 is in the vault.
Suns are a bigger rabble mate have you watched them recently ? Their kids are buggered and we have the better team and more experience on paper... we will flog them unfortunately

daniel23

Mar 19, 2006
Any ruckman worthy of drafting? Had a gut full of watching Ceglar spanked weekly..

Yep Corey gault playing for Swan districts in the wafl is absolutely dominating. Averages 19 disposals per game and big hit out numbers , he is 27 and could slot right in as our number 1 ruck for a few years while we hopefully develop our own .

No better time to start developing than now.. I’d love to get a stop gap like Pruess and draft a young gun ruck to come up underneath him...
We’ve already got Reeves on the list.

Is he the answer though? Possibly only there because he’s the CEO’s son. Been on the list a few years and still no where near it by all reports.

Would like to see us target the best ruck from this years crop..
🤦‍♂️ How can you possibly think the HFC would do this?

We’re not going to draft in another ruck and have to wait 5 years to see something from them, if we think the ruck has an immediate need.

Yep, draft gun forwards and midfielders with super early picks. Trade for rucks.
Exactly, and fwiw there’s been a few snippets from the club this year that they are liking what they’re seeing from Reeves.

He was always going to take time.

Glebehawk

Aug 24, 2006
london
It’s not the norm, but De Koning’s come on pretty quickly. 2017 draft, missed half a year with injury too. I’m okay with us looking for a ruck with our 2nd or 3rd pick...if there’s a ruck worth landing.

How can you possibly think the HFC would do this?
Possibly because our club is part of the multimillion dollar entertainment industry?
Where there's $$$ involved.........well, ya know? 😉
I'm not suggesting it is the reason why the CEO's son is on our list but I can understand why some might think it.

IN: Impey, Downie, Greaves, Pick 3, ???

OUT: Sicily, Puopolo, Stratton, Henderson, Ceglar

B: Hardwick, Frawley, Impey

HB: Scrimshaw, Frost, Greaves

C: Smith, Mitchell, Day

HF: Gunston, Lewis, Wingard

F: Breust, Patton, ———?

R: McEvoy, O’Meara, Worpel

INT: Downie, Shiels, Scully, Pick 3

Jan 17, 2008
Brisvegas
Kruze played about 37 games in his first two seasons.
The norm is that they don’t come good until about 25. You do have some that perform earlier but it is a highly contested position and young ruckman lack the strength and conditioning to play that role consistently week in week out. Rookie list one and find a mature one.

I’m really worried about the lack of small forwards on the list. Wingard needs to play in the midfield, Puopolo will retire, Minchington will be delisted, Moore might stay on the list beyond this year, but he’s not a small forward, neither is Josh Morris who’s more a half forward. If we can get a couple of small forwards with those late picks that would be great. A new look forward-line is exactly what we need.

TylerDurden

Mischief. Mayhem. Soap
Mar 5, 2007
Lou's Tavern
We need to take the best attacking midfielder.

• Must not be short
  • Must not be slow
  • Must be able to kick the ball over 50m
  • Must be able to kick ball to a person wearing the same coloured jumper as him regularly
  • Must be able to take a mark over his head at some stage around the ground
You just described Hollands. Who's probably pick 1.

Zack

Apr 14, 2002
Victoria
We need to take the best attacking midfielder.
  • Must be able to kick the ball over 50m
  • Must be able to kick ball to a person wearing the same coloured jumper as him regularly
If combined probably the most underrated skill in a midfielder. It's funny Hodge, Lewis and Mitchell could all kick a 50m pass to a team mate. It's what actually broke up teams defensive structures against us... well that and the old 50-70m get out of Hale kick to boundary.