Chelsea
Mod Notice:-

Continued from here:-

Continued here:

Just like to thank Aphrodite and the other Carlton mods who started the Bluemours NON Discussion Thread and who have kept it free of chat over the past few years.

It helps so much when you just don't have the time to read through this thread, cheers and great job.

Last edited by a moderator:
If it's between us and Norf we've got nothing to worry about. Can't see them grabbing two FA's from GWS though, heard they've given Corr a decent offer too.

As for Essendrug, come on, what's with them. If they want a Williams type why not re-sign Saad? They're in desperate need for big bodied mids how stupid can they be.

There's rumours circulating that St Kilda are leading the race for Williams, followed by CFC and North.

Time will tell, but the Saints are now looking like a more attractive proposition than what they were 12 months ago.

If it's between us and Norf we've got nothing to worry about. Can't see them grabbing two FA's from GWS though, heard they've given Corr a decent offer too.

As for Essendrug, come on, what's with them. If they want a Williams type why not re-sign Saad? They're in desperate need for big bodied mids how stupid can they be.

Essendon want to keep Saad, but Saad wants out. Disillusioned at the club. Could also be a ploy to get more $, who knows. But I’m tipping he leaves Dons if the right offer comes along. We’re showing some interest in Saad but it’s more of an insurance policy For if the Williams deal Falls through.

If players are retiring ( 3rd one to come supposedly), it would suggest we are confident in gaining most of our targets

No doubt we have shown significant signs of improvement, players will see a satisfying offer as well as finals potential, especially players in clubs outside the 8

Or the list manager has seen enough and wants to make room for new kids or new acquisitions, it also might point to the club knowing list cuts are coming and want to go with youth over guys who will retire in a year.

I find it strange when you and others think he has 5 years left, if he comes to us next year, he will have completed 5 seasons with us and still only be 30, I don’t see 30 being old, so I’d say he would play 6-8 years.
Not too many players who play his position dominating at 31 (which would be his 6th year with us). Not much chance he is going strong at 33 imo

Unfortunately, he's a lost cause. He's 26 now - going on 27 next year.

He won't be improving. With the amount of i50's we have he still can't get touches.

Good players bring themselves into the game... he can't.

One thing that I will mention, I've given Levi a bit of crap in the past, but if I were him I'd be filthy af at McGovern. Levi is a limited footballer and he had to work his chops off year after year to get the most out of himself. For him to turn around and see we have a bloke here who cbf and he's getting paid twice as much to do so must make him feel sick.
McGovern has made me angry at the club this year. Just kept getting games despite doing nothing week in, week out since probably the port game. Will be so disappointed if he gets more than a 1 year contract.

Essendon want to keep Saad, but Saad wants out. Disillusioned at the club. Could also be a ploy to get more $, who knows. But I’m tipping he leaves Dons if the right offer comes along. We’re showing some interest in Saad but it’s more of an insurance policy For if the Williams deal Falls through.
Love that your back posting rumours reg great stuff!! Keep them coming mate!
We can always have a crack at both?

Yeah Saints would be the ones we have to beat I reckon.

I agree with you, but how do they have much $$$ left to spend? Some high price recruits last year, and just resigned Steele on a decent pay rise. Reckon they’ll need some $ up the sleeve for Marshall, Clark and Coffield.
As much as it pains me to say, I think if the $/yrs are similar - the Saints are gonna be hard to beat for his signature.

Levi & Murph have agreed to terms for 1 year deals for 2021. Unless something has dramatically changed in last 24 hours they’ll be in Blue next season.

Eddie - nothing definitive as of this evening - this will change in coming days with certainty prior to Saturday. Don’t read anything into his family being in the hub.

Don’t read too much into Gibbs being chaired off, club ok with it, with a few a bit uncomfortable.

Levi & Murph have agreed to terms for 1 year deals for 2021. Unless something has dramatically changed in last 24 hours they’ll be in Blue next season.

Eddie - nothing definitive as of this evening - this will change in coming days with certainty prior to Saturday. Don’t read anything into his family being in the hub.

Don’t read too much into Gibbs being chaired off, club ok with it, with a few a bit uncomfortable.

Will be a very emotional day for all Blues fans Saturday

I agree with you, but how do they have much $$$ left to spend? Some high price recruits last year, and just resigned Steele on a decent pay rise. Reckon they’ll need some $ up the sleeve for Marshall, Clark and Coffield.
As much as it pains me to say, I think if the $/yrs are similar - the Saints are gonna be hard to beat for his signature.
Can see Saints possibly not renewing Jake Carlisle’s contract if they need extra money....

Fair distance between what Saad wants (5 years, 600+) and what Bombers have offered (~4years, ~450)
Feels more like managerial posturing than genuine desire to move. That said, if the gap doesn't close, we are genuinely interested.

Very progressed with Williams. As stated before, he will defs leave. He would be more than happy to join us but our offer is not and will not be the biggest. Small management firm pushing for highest offer as its better for them. If he chooses us, we know we've got a player that really wants success.

Approach has been made to Jack Graham on the mooted 4 year deal. He's had a heap of enquiries made about him. Doesn't have a desire to leave, but might be a mutual parting of ways if its best for both parties.

Smith from the hawks has been spoken to and about. Potential cheapish UFA pick up that has ~2-3 years of best 22 footy. More of a backup/late move depending on moving parts.

Doubts on Austin won't last long. Very very professional and incredibly thorough. Only thing left to find out is his ability not to blink on the big stage. Sos reportedly hasn't blinked since a balloon burst at his 3rd birthday party, although I haven't been able to confirm this from any of the attendees.

Thanks so much for posting this 😊 I know you say nothing definitive with Eddie, but is it heading in a certain direction? Or fully on the fence? Thanks again 💙

Not for what it will cost us. A player 24 and under would be sensible

If it’s a choice then yes. Securing a quality FA changes everything and allows us to be super aggressive in trades or the draft. If we have to offer an extra $100-$200,000 to secure a Viney or Williams then it’s worth it, its essentially paying for an extra first round pick to play with.