Universal Love Ben Reid Retires

Reidy was one of my favourite players back in the day. He was a GUN CHB.

He was the first player that I remember backing into packs and taking intercept marks. I remember thinking... 'why isn't he punching it?'

Does anyone know if he was one of the pioneers in intercepting the ball (now every backline has an interceptor), because for years I've always stated that Reidy invented it. I'm probably wrong but he was incredible at it.

Thanks for 2010, you were vital. Love ya Reidy

Reid and Brown were great, especially given their timing regarding the departures of Clement, Presti and Wakelin. Reid especially had all the talent in the world, shame his body couldn't hold up. Should have 100 more games in his career.

Will always be a premiership hero

Not really an amazing haul, but getting Reid was super important to 2010.

Wait, doesn't every club manage to recruit a premiership winning FB, CHB and CHF all in the same draft?

Add in Goldsack, Wellingham and Macaffer and you have more than a quarter of our 2010 premiership team in one draft year. It's one of the best hauls you can imagine.

In hindsight their careers turned out to be shorter than they would have liked.

But I told you we’d draft three future premiership key position players in this years draft to go with an existing father son, would you take them?

Reid clearly was a star player who just couldn’t get on the park. But he’s a premiership player and a Collingwood immortal

Spot on.

Wait, doesn't every club manage to recruit a premiership winning FB, CHB and CHF all in the same draft?

Add in Goldsack, Wellingham and Macaffer and you have more than a quarter of our 2010 premiership team in one draft year. It's one of the best hauls you can imagine.

Spot on.

I think Dawes and Brown were poor players overall.

I could easily name 3 AFL drafts that were more important, but this is getting off topic.

Congrates Reidy on a fantastic career.

I think we'll always lament what might have been if the footy Gods had been kinder on the injury front but a premiership player and 2011 All Australian bare testimony to just how good you were.

May your life post footy be blessed with many sons who inherit their size and skill from you and their physiology from your partner.

Congratulations Ben. Top clubman and a pity about the injuries over the years. Unfortunately our Youngest ever premiership side dynasty come to a halt very quick. Reid, Nathan Brown, Dawes, Thomas either through injury or loss Of form Played there best footy in 2010, 11 and didn’t improve.

All the best to your Reidy - Premiership hero from 2010 and AA - nothing to be sneezed at!

The great shame is injury never allowed him to be the player he could have consistently been over his career.

Go Pies

I'm a little perplexed why he has effectively retired now. He could have made a statement in front of all the players that he was retiring at the end of the season.
Otherwise they’d expect him to travel to Perth

Mentioned he had a setback this week = some form of injury

i started watching the video and then i realised it went on for a long time so i hit eject.

well i suppose it's his choice. I heard it was a week in quarantine. It must be difficult to be isolated for a week.

Onya Reidy, you can walk tall in our club as a premiership hero. Highly skilled player who gave his all for the back and white.
thanks heaps mate.

Great mark and a very good contested mark. Deceptively strong for his light-ish build, excellent kick, very cool and smart. Covered the ground well and fairly quick for his height. Found a way to contribute when his body was shot. An a-grade footballer no doubt.

I'm a little perplexed why he has effectively retired now. He could have made a statement in front of all the players that he was retiring at the end of the season.

Because there were only so many spots on the Arc to Perth and he wanted to give his spot to somebody who wasn’t injured.

It’s a Presti like sacrifice. Maybe we should retire his number!!!

Because there were only so many spots on the Arc to Perth and he wanted to give his spot to somebody who wasn’t injured.

It’s a Presti like sacrifice. Maybe we should retire his number!!!

ah. that sounds reasonable. I heard buckley say that the group was going to be separated. thanks

Classy out on the field and classy off it, right to the very end. For a player who has an AA gong and a premiership medallion he has copped a bit of flack on here at times, but I've always had the utmost respect for him and what he has given the club.

i started watching the video and then i realised it went on for a long time so i hit eject.

well i suppose it's his choice. I heard it was a week in quarantine. It must be difficult to be isolated for a week.

He hurt his calf/hamstring again so no point him going to quarantine when his season is finished

Universal Love Ben Reid Retires