Preview Geelong v Richmond 2020 Grand Final Sat Oct 24 @ Gabba

If it’s wet, it’ll even things up, we know Richmond play chaos wet or dry, but we ourselves go alright in the wet. I think we are in better form, hard to get a read on Richmond’s, they lost to Brisbane, got over the saints by 5 goals who I thought outplayed them in general play for almost 3 quarters, then had a big slog off with Port and got up by 1 goal.

Our form also is hard to read, smashing pies and lions in our last 2 games, were they off or were we just to good? The truth probably lies in the middle.

Our players have that look about them, they’ll be up for it, just need things to go our way on the night.

If it’s wet, it’ll even things up, we know Richmond play chaos wet or dry, but we ourselves go alright in the wet. I think we are in better form, hard to get a read on Richmond’s, they lost to Brisbane, got over the saints by 5 goals who I thought outplayed them in general play for almost 3 quarters, then had a big slog off with Port and got up by 1 goal.

Our form also is hard to read, smashing pies and lions in our last 2 games, were they off or were we just to good? The truth probably lies in the middle.

Our players have that look about them, they’ll be up for it, just need things to go our way on the night.

I honestly think the big difference in our last 2 games has been Simpson, the bloke goes hard and throws his body in, gives us a physical presence in the middle, he is also pretty clean with the ball in hand, hope to see his form continue.

I think our form is red hot. It just comes down to how well Richmonds game plan holds up. Theyre a good side and I cant imagine that they'll be too off their game, if at all, at any stage.

Richmond had to fight a lot harder on the weekend than we did too. Theyre super fit, but Im hoping they run out of puff.

Something that I noticed at the end of both PFs on Friday and Saturday, was the behaviour of the players. Richmond carried on like they had already won the flag, it seemed to me. Whereas Geelong were ecstatic but a little more demure, as in there's still another game to play. Maybe just maybe Friday night was the Tiger's big dance.

I think our form is red hot. It just comes down to how well Richmonds game plan holds up. Theyre a good side and I cant imagine that they'll be too off their game, if at all, at any stage.

Richmond had to fight a lot harder on the weekend than we did too. Theyre super fit, but Im hoping they run out of puff.

They play in burst’s, and tend to hit the scoreboard when they need to. We must kick accurate, keep that scoreboard ticking.

Something that I noticed at the end of both PFs on Friday and Saturday, was the behaviour of the players. Richmond carried on like they had already won the flag, it seemed to me. Whereas Geelong were ecstatic but a little more demure, as in there's still another game to play. Maybe just maybe Friday night was the Tiger's big dance.
I used that same argument with a mate, however he rightly pointed out that the tigers they had just won a very close game so that could be the reason for the high emotions.

Something to consider I guess

And I looked at that “banter” thread that tiger flog posted...what absolute garbage..if that what counts as banter I hate to see what counts as insults and disrespect on the tigers board

Could also be just the margin. Cats were 40 points up, knew they had it won. Tigers were a goal up, so it was nailbiting all the way to the siren. Much more emotional way to finish a game.

I used that same argument with a mate, however he rightly pointed out that the tigers they had just won a very close game so that could be the reason for the high emotions.

Something to consider I guess

And I looked at that “banter” thread that tiger flog posted...what absolute garbage..if that what counts as banter I hate to see what counts as insults and disrespect on the tigers board

Lmfao I clicked on it and saw, "ShAi WiLl WiN NoRm AnD rUn DaNgeR ofF HiS FeEt".

Like that isn't even funny or good banter.

The weather forecast makes me more nervous - we haven't played in the wet since the Freo game. Would seem to favour the chaos game BUT it might make us less predictable - I don't think we can play a control game to the same level we have (like the Pies game, we got the balance spot on against the Lions).

That said, rain would suit Hawkins - I still remember his 6-goal game up here when it was p*ssing down. Didn't phase him at all. Also think we have the big bodies to suit a rumble in the wet. And finally, the Tiges might have had experience with it last week... but they also had to slog through it too. If we're within a goal or two going into the last, we might have the legs to get over the line.

That said, rain would suit Hawkins - I still remember his 6-goal game up here when it was p*ssing down. Didn't phase him at all.
Rain does seem to have a lesser impact on him than other forwards. Probably because he takes more marks on the lead, so he gets them on the chest. Also kicks through the ball at high force, so friction between boot and ball matters less?

None of it is banter and fair few posts are full on vitriol posts

Should be carded imo
I have no idea why they think anyone would want to engage with them, they aren't funny, clever, or even seem to have any kind of grasp on what actually happens on a football field. Plus, all they do is shitcan other teams. Its bizarre that one of them came in here with that thread like a kind neighbour with a casserole. I think the reality is it was a disguised paper bag of dog crap.

Let them play with themselves. Id rather talk about actual football.

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/thre...ose-the-gabba-final-all-fans-welcome.1249982/ -.

If you go there, expect the worst.

Its their board - its their thread so whilst its banter, its just a troll trap for GF week. Go in, get sucked into it, over react and get banned.
Simple enough ploy - just dont get sucked into it.

There are some good Tiger posters that want to share their thoughts here and they will continue to be allowed to.

They will be treated with respect until they provide a reason to not - but its a short short road as well.

Dont bite on shit that will get you whacked in GF week.

I can assure you the GFC mods will be busy this week.

GO Catters

The weather forecast makes me more nervous - we haven't played in the wet since the Freo game. Would seem to favour the chaos game BUT it might make us less predictable - I don't think we can play a control game to the same level we have (like the Pies game, we got the balance spot on against the Lions).

That said, rain would suit Hawkins - I still remember his 6-goal game up here when it was p*ssing down. Didn't phase him at all. Also think we have the big bodies to suit a rumble in the wet. And finally, the Tiges might have had experience with it last week... but they also had to slog through it too. If we're within a goal or two going into the last, we might have the legs to get over the line.
What weather forecast are you looking at?

I was thinking this too, but with the year Guthrie is having, I don’t want to sacrifice his game to solely blanket Martin.
I’m not sure how we go about it to be honest but I want Guthrie to play his normal game.

Maybe Parfitt then? But that's a similar conundrum.

I reckon Joel could do the job. He's smart enough to know when to run off and tough enough to dump Martin in a tackle - he's no longer the prime target in the center, and I'm sure he'd love the licence to go and show the Tigers what real toughness is

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/thre...ose-the-gabba-final-all-fans-welcome.1249982/ -. You're all welcome to our banter thread - have a laugh, just remember it's banter but board rules still apply

Best of luck guys

You aren’t very clever are you?

If that is banter, I’m the King of England.

That thread is just full of vulgar BS, it reminds me of something a Big Dog occasionally leaves on the Naturestrip.

Here’s a suggestion: GTFO of here, and don’t come back 👎

Good luck this week, guys. Should be a cracking game. I'm certainly expecting you guys to put up more of a fight than the Crows or GWS did.

Usually can't stand your mob, but gotta admire the way you guys have handled the hub. If you win on Saturday it is a seriously deserved premiership.

That said, I obviously hope you lose by 120 points. :p