List Mgmt. Contracts. Trades. Draft. Other Assorted Crap. 2020 Edition

Nelson's skills are fine. Took kick in duties regularly.
"isn't a huge liability" is also unfair. He was very assured throughout 2020.

I appreciate reputations are hard to shake, but I thought he did enough in 2020 that we can leave his 2018/19 form behind.
He just doesn’t offer anything that screams A grade footballer and he’s coming in to his SEVENTH season.

Rebounding he is a safe and tidy kick out of attack but will almost never go for a creative option, and defensively he really isn’t as much chop as people assume he is.

Just because he ‘has mongrel’ doesn’t mean he is a tackling machine or anything - averages a measly 1.9 tackles per game. And you rarely see him dominate forwards in the air, despite being taller than Hurn.

OK depth but doesn’t offer enough from either an attacking or defensive perspective, so I’d prefer someone who did one or the other.

Do you think we could use withos kicking on the wing instead of defence? Brisbane supporters on another thread saying he has pretty much no defensive game. He is slow so maybe wouldn’t be great on the wing but think his kicking would make him a good player to deliver the ball into forward 50

I'd like to be proven wrong but I don't think we'll be able to deliver anyone that's going to improve our list enough to get us past Richmond or Geelong in 2021 in this trade period. Especially when all the Vic teams are back playing at home again.

Vozzo should pull a Pat Riley and tread water, reserve cap for the superstar. Sign 1 year deals for any of our uncontracted players this year that might be useful and leave the books relatively clear for a mammoth front loaded Cripps RFA offer.

This is just a quick list of players who got a game this year.

2020 expiring contracts via foootywire
Ah Chee
Ainsworth
Edwards
Hutchings
Jetta
Vardy

2021 expiring
Hurn
Kennedy
Sheed
Redden
Duggan
Hickey
Nelson
Rotham

Surely with these guys off the books we can put a front loaded offer that will keep Carlton from matching. Then resign Duggan, Sheed, Rotham, Nelson and possibly Kennedy if his body isn't shot.

He just doesn’t offer anything that screams A grade footballer and he’s coming in to his SEVENTH season.

Rebounding he is a safe and tidy kick out of attack but will almost never go for a creative option, and defensively he really isn’t as much chop as people assume he is.

Just because has ‘has mongrel’ doesn’t mean he is a tackling machine or anything - averages a measly 1.9 tackles per game. And you rarely see him dominate forwards in the air, despite being taller than Hurn.

OK depth but doesn’t offer enough from either an attacking or defensive perspective, so I’d prefer someone who did one or the other.

Again, we can’t have a team full of a+++ players we have to have some players in lower wages that make up the team. Every club has them, I dont get the hes not a grade talk, it’s the b graders every team has to have, I’m happy with Nelson he plays his role

Ah Chee
Ainsworth
Edwards just signed on for two more years. He is a keeper at this early stage of his career.
Hutchings
Jetta
Vardy

2021 expiring
Hurn
Kennedy
Sheed
Redden
Duggan
Hickey
Nelson
Rotham

Surely with these guys off the books we can put a front loaded offer that will keep Carlton from matching. Then resign Duggan, Sheed, Rotham, Nelson and possibly Kennedy if his body isn't shot.

If we get Langdon and Witherden this trade period, that is already a win.

One of the main reasons we sucked this season was due to our bottom 5 or so players who were being carried week in week out.

Delisting players like Nic Reid, Brayshaw and signing these new boys automatically increases the potency of our depth and competition for spots.

Its a no brainer.

Again, we can’t have a team full of a+++ players we have to have some players in lower wages that make up the team. Every club has them, I dont get the hes not a grade talk, it’s the b graders every team has to have, I’m happy with Nelson he plays his role

Agree - it will be the quality of the players 15 to 25 that play that will determine how far we go. The strength or games we got from of Ah Chee, Reid, Ainsworth, Foley, Petruccelle (2020), Cameron (2020), hamstrung Hutchings and Brander out of position are what I believe causes us to drop points each year.

I think Langdon is capable of a solid C role player while Witherden could make it to being a B grader.

We have a cap full of A graders that need more around them

If we get Langdon and Witherden this trade period, that is already a win.

One of the main reasons we sucked this season was due to our bottom 5 or so players who were being carried week in week out.

Delisting players like Nic Reid, Brayshaw and signing these new boys automatically increases the potency of our depth and competition for spots.

Its a no brainer.
Disappointed that Brayshaw got cut... he was definitely developing in last half of 2019 and 2020 was a shit show.

Naitanui is an incredible player and influences games like few other rucks currently in the game (maybe Grundy & Gawn). If NN goes down, it won't matter whether we have Hickey, Vardy or Williams taking his place. Nor am I convinced that a ruck can have any influence on the contest unless they're of NN's ilk.

So Hickey, a 29 year old 2nd string ruck, for a pick in the 20's seems value. Not just for the pick we receive, but for the very little that we actually lose.

I’m not really sure it’s a fair claim to say that Vardy, Williams and HickGod are all of the same quality. Just because Nic goes down, doesn’t mean his replacement wouldn‘t have an impact. HickGod would best cover the whole left by Nic the best out of the trio you’ve listed.

It doesn’t have to be Nic or bust. We can replace him somewhat (as we did in 2018 with Vardy and Lycett), and HickGod is the one that offers that.

Duggan could possibly be a good midfielder?? He showed signs this year, he can find the ball that’s for sure. Not sure he is the smartest footballer and that could play against him as a mid. Worth a good year to find out though.
The reality however will be that Shuey, Yeo, Kelly, Sheed and Redden in the coaches eyes will all play midfield ahead of him. Simmo maybe rightfully so doesn’t change things much and the club I reckon still thinks we have a high level midfield.

Funny enough I think we have a high level midfield that just don’t work hard enough, they don’t hunt in packs, they don’t like getting the hard ball. It’s the attitude that needs to change and the game plan in my opinion. We have enough talent.

Yes: "Funny enough I think we have a high level midfield that just don’t work hard enough, they don’t hunt in packs, they don’t like getting the hard ball. It’s the attitude that needs to change and the game plan in my opinion. We have enough talent".

But happy to have Duggan have a run in there when someone is out. And we do badly need young midfielders because Redden and Shuey don't have too long left. Gaffy strikes me as someone who'll still be going when he's 35 though

Disappointed that Brayshaw got cut... he was definitely developing in last half of 2019 and 2020 was a sh*t show.
Nowhere near AFL standard.

I get the same sense with Foley tbh, he’ll need a big 2021 to convince me otherwise.

Those not wanting duggan in the midfield must be watching a different game than me . All I see is duggan hunting the loose balls and winning 1 on 1 ground balls getting the ball to a team mate or getting it forward at all cost in the wet.

He also loves to line players up and smash them . Unfortunately one day a player will slip or duck and he will get weeks for choosing to bump

Take your point but Nic is out only A-plus player, certainly out bottom 6-8 let us down.
Our mids are slow

Anyone genuine, relevant and non trolling is fine here.

I also cannot see that Brisbane would be looking to offload. But salary cap for Daniher maybe? It's just odd this popped up on AFL trade radio.
To me Brisbane would be better with keeping him and retiring Birchall, but that's me.

I'd take him if he was genuinely available at a decent price. I would be surprised if it happens, but you never know.

Maybe there is a left field, clubs discussing on the side thing going on. Our Ah Chee and Cameron join their brothers and Witherden and a pick come the other way?
Your right, it's a strange one. He is a Victorian kid apparently from a quite well-to-do-family so going to the West would seem a strange move for him and your right again Birchell is on the edge of Retirement tearing his hamstring in the last final I cant see him playing all the games next year in a full season. Witherden's name first came up with the Bombers from some Journo speculating I think. But Redden went to you guys and he was a South Aussie so who knows. There is no talk of Brisbane needing to loose some salary cap and if we did that would be Steph Martin. There has been a bit written we actually have plenty of Salary cap and are chasing another quality mid fielder. Where there is smoke there is fire even though Brisbane has said he is going no where.

Yeo says hi

I would rather get Witherden cheapish and keep Brander than trade Brander for Clarke. Witherden has massive upside
You should have said, Redden says Hi. That would have worked he went from us to you guys as a South Aussie kid with no connection to WA. Then we got Lacie Neale to Queensland so your right but, players do move without connections.

Those not wanting duggan in the midfield must be watching a different game than me . All I see is duggan hunting the loose balls and winning 1 on 1 ground balls getting the ball to a team mate or getting it forward at all cost in the wet.

He also loves to line players up and smash them . Unfortunately one day a player will slip or duck and he will get weeks for choosing to bump

Nobody is saying he doesn't crack in. So what? Mcginnity cracked in, does that mean we should've played him in the mid?

I like the way Duggan goes hard much as anyone else, but that doesn't mean he can find the footy, it doesn't mean his hands in tight are good, it doesn't mean he's good in a stoppage, doesn't mean he can mix it with the best, it doesn't mean he's quick to get ball to boot. All the things which are crucial for a mid.

Everyone has the game vs St Kilda in their heads, because that's where he showed the most laying 6 tackles, but he only had 15 disposals. This is against a gun midfield which included superstar Zac Jones, who was laughably nullified by a crab like Ainsworth. He was decent against North the following week, but that's North. Might as well play South Freo for something closer to an AFL quality opposition.

If i was to take a look at Duggan's numbers, say from round 15 onwards after Redden/Shuey/Yeo went down:

His contested possession's were 3, 5, 4, 7, and 5. He had 1 Centre clearance from those 5 games.

I wouldn't be basing any long term list strategy of Duggan shifting to the midfield permanently when we've barely seen it work. I'm far from against the idea, but anyone saying "Oh nah, our midfield is sorted we've got Duggan in the mid" like that's a full proof plan with a decent body of evidence is a nuff.

I'd like to be proven wrong but I don't think we'll be able to deliver anyone that's going to improve our list enough to get us past Richmond or Geelong in 2021 in this trade period. Especially when all the Vic teams are back playing at home again.

Vozzo should pull a Pat Riley and tread water, reserve cap for the superstar. Sign 1 year deals for any of our uncontracted players this year that might be useful and leave the books relatively clear for a mammoth front loaded Cripps RFA offer.

This is just a quick list of players who got a game this year.

Ah Chee
Ainsworth
Edwards
Hutchings
Jetta
Vardy

2021 expiring
Hurn
Kennedy
Sheed
Redden
Duggan
Hickey
Nelson
Rotham

Really.....

We finished equal on points (behind on %) with Geelong, 1 game behind Richmond. 2 games off top 2.

Geelong and Richmond have shown nothing to say they can beat us in Perth. I know we lost a home final this year but reality is that doesn't happen often (and even less often when we finish top 2, unsurprisingly).

I'm glad we are adding some fringe players, and they do improve us - of course the bulk of the improvement needs to come from the squad we already have (trading might improve the bottom 5, but attitude, consistency and desire will improve our 5-15 ranked players who were all a bit off where we needed them to be to contend this year).

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Nobody is saying he doesn't crack in. So what? Mcginnity cracked in, does that mean we should've played him in the mid?

I like the way Duggan goes hard much as anyone else, but that doesn't mean he can find the footy, it doesn't mean his hands in tight are good, it doesn't mean he's good in a stoppage, doesn't mean he can mix it with the best, it doesn't mean he's quick to get ball to boot. All the things which are crucial for a mid.

Everyone has the game vs St Kilda in their heads, because that's where he showed the most laying 6 tackles, but he only had 15 disposals. This is against a gun midfield which included superstar Zac Jones, who was laughably nullified by a crab like Ainsworth. He was decent against North the following week, but that's North. Might as well play South Freo for something closer to an AFL quality opposition.

If i was to take a look at Duggan's numbers, say from round 15 onwards after Redden/Shuey/Yeo went down:

His contested possession's were 3, 5, 4, 7, and 5. He had 1 Centre clearance from those 5 games.

I wouldn't be basing any long term list strategy of Duggan shifting to the midfield permanently when we've barely seen it work. I'm far from against the idea, but anyone saying "Oh nah, our midfield is sorted we've got Duggan in the mid" like that's a full proof plan with a decent body of evidence is a nuff.
Personally I would think we don’t need him to be a full time mid, but if he can rotate through their from the half back flank, and fill in when we are missing players, that will make a difference. I’d want Witho to do the same if we got him. Think he could be a good winger with his foot skills.

The core of Shuey, Kelly, Yeo, Gaff, sheed, redden are going to do the heavy lifting in terms of minutes but finding more players (Willie Rioli style) who can give us five minutes here and there to help out makes life’s lot easier for them.

I'm a bit suprised we got rid of Mitch O'Neil tbh. Seems like exactly the type of player we need to be developing. Surely another year on the rookie list wouldn't have hurt especially since we was injured all season