C-section Ammo's 2007

what a game that was. hard to say - often games when watched on TV or in person are completely different than when you are out there. I would expect Carey and Rupo would need to have a net gain of 3-5 good solid senior players AND 1-2 superstars (at our level). Given they can do this they both will be right up there.

St Bedes '06 will be the C grade yard stick for some time - although Ajax proved that special things happen in grand finals - saw them first hand kick 12 goals in a 15 minute burst in 1999 to blow us out of that grand final.

How are the boys coming along for 07? Can they push for promotion?

Ugly,

If they can retain there lists and add the 3-5 good quality players then I think they should go well. OC sound like a strong on field unit with quality and Rupo are young with depth in their Unders ranks which is a real key IMO. C Section is always a difficult one to predict as it is the 'middle of the road for many'

I reckon B section might be a hot one this year and rumours abound as always. We have had terrific numbers at training (88 Monday night this week) and this gives us a base to work with. Worked hard on retaining our list which we have with few execeptions and adding where possible but we all know the players are the best recruiters.

To reach the next level will be the culmination of many years of planning and hard work but we are in the best possible state to do such I reckon.

RCT

Ugly,

If they can retain there lists and add the 3-5 good quality players then I think they should go well. OC sound like a strong on field unit with quality and Rupo are young with depth in their Unders ranks which is a real key IMO. C Section is always a difficult one to predict as it is the 'middle of the road for many'

I reckon B section might be a hot one this year and rumours abound as always. We have had terrific numbers at training (88 Monday night this week) and this gives us a base to work with. Worked hard on retaining our list which we have with few execeptions and adding where possible but we all know the players are the best recruiters.

To reach the next level will be the culmination of many years of planning and hard work but we are in the best possible state to do such I reckon.

RCT

RCT,

good to have my old sparring partner back from whatever hole you have dragged yourself out from. Tell me, will you be enlightening C Grade observers with your thoughts this year or are you going to concentrate on the B Grade thread now the Tigers have gone up?

Roy fully expects to see you nect year in the B Grade forum as the Reds continue their unstoppable march to A Grade Glory.

88 on the track at tigerland?? Wouldn't fit that many on the postage stamp would you?

You wouldn't be fudging just a little bit there RCT?

The tigers will find the going a lot tougher in B Grade next year, they will be well undersized and found out me thinks.

Anyway, all the best

Roy

Roy my Boy,

Sometimes the bait barely hits the water...that Roy March became a crawl in 06!

you could come down and visit training at the 'postage stamp'...but you won't see us!

What happened to the messiah who was to lead you to the promised land 'Burgs'...gone to assist elsewhere...and Magmahez left and more...might be D1 in 08 for the remainder that's left at Brunswick Street for mine.

RCT

what a game that was. hard to say - often games when watched on TV or in person are completely different than when you are out there. I would expect Carey and Rupo would need to have a net gain of 3-5 good solid senior players AND 1-2 superstars (at our level). Given they can do this they both will be right up there.
St Bedes '06 will be the C grade yard stick for some time - although Ajax proved that special things happen in grand finals - saw them first hand kick 12 goals in a 15 minute burst in 1999 to blow us out of that grand final.

How are the boys coming along for 07? Can they push for promotion?

Nice work Ugly. Carey were very big and powerful last year and will need to keep all of those guys to make top 4 in C Grade....and I don't know where the Reds keep pulling their players from but they keep doing it!

And while I am on it....a little bird told me Ajax actually kicked 13 goals in that 15 minute Grand Final frenzy as a result of Bulleen-Temp only having 15 men on the ground for most of the 2nd quarter?? One of them reported and sent off wasn't you was it?:cool:

Ugly, as a newcomer to Amateur football i am amazed at the success of having two promoted and two relegated. From the 2005 "C" Grade there are 3 teams still playing "C" Grade. Not alot! The turnover is amazing. It makes Amateur footy, it gives clubs motivation and opportunity if they are run well and have a successful culture and at the same time being vulnerable to the dollars on offer in other leagues.

The games last year that revolved around relegation were as equally as exciting as the finals aspirants. Prahrans lift from bottom was amazind and could put them in good stead for 2007.

Thanks for the insight into sides moving to "C" Grade, OC to me last year in spite of having the s hits at the Grand Final were an awesome side IMO. Is no.3 Bull playing, to me he is the equal of anyone i have seen in Amateurs!!!!!

No. 3 might have been one of the Angus brothers. His performance in the Grand Final was equal to S. Collins as far as influence on a game meant. Is he playing, evidently he only played 5-6 games last year. I rate that bloke big time!!!!

Ugly, as a newcomer to Amateur football i am amazed at the success of having two promoted and two relegated. From the 2005 "C" Grade there are 3 teams still playing "C" Grade. Not alot! The turnover is amazing. It makes Amateur footy, it gives clubs motivation and opportunity if they are run well and have a successful culture and at the same time being vulnerable to the dollars on offer in other leagues.

The games last year that revolved around relegation were as equally as exciting as the finals aspirants. Prahrans lift from bottom was amazind and could put them in good stead for 2007.

Thanks for the insight into sides moving to "C" Grade, OC to me last year in spite of having the s hits at the Grand Final were an awesome side IMO. Is no.3 Bull playing, to me he is the equal of anyone i have seen in Amateurs!!!!!

KB you're right about the promo system. Best in the country IMO, a bit harsh for guys who lose a GF but still get promoted. Mixed feelings for a while but soon look forward to the challenge of a higher grade. It really is a good comp to test yourself and changing clubs for some players seems quite normal (probably coz there's no mula).

I'm sure Scribes messages will be most entertaining given his writing last year. I'm also confident they will be more sophisticated than one of his newly appointed opposing coaches. This guy is no stranger to reds fans after being sent off in the 1st semi and then reported for striking thus missing the Grand Final. Not that his presence would have made any difference to that result! (red doesn't think he was worh 15 goals)

Is this the sort of ecample you would want set? Not exactly the best foundation to lay for a coaching career, here is an exerpt of round 1:

Coach 'You have to be disciplined boys"

Bemused player "Why aren't you playing coach?"

coach " still serving that suspension form last year that i got in the finals"

oops. do as i say not as i do may be the motto!

that is all

the Red

Rather a front on confrontation than a snipe anyday.Don't condone Toddies action at all but at least his target was in front of him,unlike the snipe he got whilst laying on the ground moments later.
Two sides to every story mate. 6.

As for his appointment he's doing a top job,as is his assisstant and I'm sure that this will continue all year.Big numbers at training so far with lots of new heads and returning faces.I said last year it was a rebuilding year,a clean start for many.I said last year that 2007 was the target.
All systems go so far.

Be afraid ,be very afraid.;)

Rather a front on confrontation than a snipe anyday.Don't condone Toddies action at all but at least his target was in front of him,unlike the snipe he got whilst laying on the ground moments later.
Two sides to every story mate. 6.

As for his appointment he's doing a top job,as is his assisstant and I'm sure that this will continue all year.Big numbers at training so far with lots of new heads and returning faces.I said last year it was a rebuilding year,a clean start for many.I said last year that 2007 was the target.
All systems go so far.

Be afraid ,be very afraid.;)

Oh Come on zoo, give us a break. We have heard all this stuff before out of Balwyn and frankly, it never really amounts to much. I don't know much about the reserves coach and the incident you talk about but I do know the Reds are flying and will meet the Friars in the GF!!

shame we can't back up our thoughts with some serious betting action. That'd sort out who is for real and who is just blowing smoke.

never know some registered bookie may approach the VAFA to bet on just grand finals...No integrity issues if just Premiership betting cut off say after 9 rounds.

Wonder who would be favourite,not only in C but in other grades as well.

shame we can't back up our thoughts with some serious betting action. That'd sort out who is for real and who is just blowing smoke.

never know some registered bookie may approach the VAFA to bet on just grand finals...No integrity issues if just Premiership betting cut off say after 9 rounds.

Wonder who would be favourite,not only in C but in other grades as well.

Ill tell yoiu who wont make much of an impression in C, and that is Mazenod. With Dunne now rucking in the 2s at Sandy, could be a long year for the boys. If OC dont win it this year it will be a disaster, POS talks the talk all of the time, now time to deliver Paul, and you know it.
Should be an exciting year with Chard and Loats up forward, the most potent in any Section since Richardson and Bourke in the late 90s for Xavs...who will stop them? For my money, the new glamour team of the Ammos and possibly headed to A Section in 09.

What happened to the messiah who was to lead you to the promised land 'Burgs'...gone to assist elsewhere...and Magmahez left and more...might be D1 in 08 for the remainder that's left at Brunswick Street for mine.

RCT

Burgs wasn't so much a Messiah, more a prophet - and don't worry, he put us in good stead for the Promised Land. As for Magmahez (sic), we couldn't afford to keep him in 'bling' and Kappa tracksuit pants, so we traded him for a forward wearing a smart pair of tailored slacks.

The remainder left at Brunswick Street have been joined by some very handy recruits. Another handy recruit has been the off-field support from a pizza shop in Carlton that has had the 'closed for renovation' sign on the window for the last 16 years.

Other C-Grade Clubs can expect a visit from the gentlemen that manage this fine establishment on the Friday night before their games against the Reds.

nothing but a heap of hot air from the boys from brunswick st.

can't wait to rd 1, not long to go.

I think this will be the year that history will be created, for a fourth year in a row, work it out.:)

may i pose a question to the thread:

Know that Dolly is out for the season like the old carey boys tell us ( yet i hear he could still be a chance of they make the finals) who is going to captian. The obvious answer would be collins (steve i think it is) who was clearly there best player last year>
I have heard on the grape vine though they may consider breeding someone young. They over the last 3 years have had two of the best U19 skippers i have seen Evans then Laidlaw. both very different players but great leaders. Are these guys going to be the leaders? Neither played in grand final last year apprantly. Laidlaw was ver sick i and evans was in england playing cricket (is he and Kent back?). If any old carey boys know or anyone has any thoughts would be keen to know..

maybe people could also post other captians for the season. any major changes

c-section

may i pose a question to the thread:

Know that Dolly is out for the season like the old carey boys tell us ( yet i hear he could still be a chance of they make the finals) who is going to captian. The obvious answer would be collins (steve i think it is) who was clearly there best player last year>
I have heard on the grape vine though they may consider breeding someone young. They over the last 3 years have had two of the best U19 skippers i have seen Evans then Laidlaw. both very different players but great leaders. Are these guys going to be the leaders? Neither played in grand final last year apprantly. Laidlaw was ver sick i and evans was in england playing cricket (is he and Kent back?). If any old carey boys know or anyone has any thoughts would be keen to know..

maybe people could also post other captians for the season. any major changes

c-section

Interesting times at the Reds with Vinnie "captain couragous" Cahill not going around. He has been a fantastic leader for the Reds.
Flanker faced with a tough decision but should be Tim Davis for mine ahead of Rockstar. Tim clearly the best player.

Perhaps Frase can comment.

Interesting times at the Reds with Vinnie "captain couragous" Cahill not going around. He has been a fantastic leader for the Reds.
Flanker faced with a tough decision but should be Tim Davis for mine ahead of Rockstar. Tim clearly the best player.

Perhaps Frase can comment.

Might have thought Tim a little new to the club for a skipper's hat, though yeah pretty much the best player and definitely a leader.

You think no chance HotDog, or Arrogance? Surely Dacca a chance!

Tim Davis has been at Fitzroy a few years now, is a leader on the track and should be a given to lead the Club this year.

For any Redders reading this - there's a gathering of sorts at The Lord tonight, so be sure to drop in and say a prayer or two...

Out.

Tim Davis has been at Fitzroy a few years now, is a leader on the track and should be a given to lead the Club this year.

For any Redders reading this - there's a gathering of sorts at The Lord tonight, so be sure to drop in and say a prayer or two...

Out.

Correct. He has done ( more than!) enough and flanker sould appoint him captain immediately! He virtually won the state game last year off his own boot when he had to play in the Ruck.

Should be a good night for a few cold ones. See you there!

Correct. He has done ( more than!) enough and flanker sould appoint him captain immediately! He virtually won the state game last year off his own boot when he had to play in the Ruck.

Should be a good night for a few cold ones. See you there!

The reverend should be annointed as skippper. He may be able to secure some devine intervention for us in any times of need.

The Roy will definitely be on board for a few bevvies tonight. See all of you reds there.

Roy out.