Rumour GFC 2020 Player Trading, Drafting FA, Rumours and Wish lists Pt2

WARNING TO ALL VISITORS TO THE GEELONG BOARD. You are - for the most part - welcome to discuss the current list management & trading situation at Geelong. However, this is our board, so be respectful of the home board posters & don't inflame arguments (make your points succinctly and move on). And if you're just here to troll, then don't bother or you will be enjoying a holiday

He also struggled last year and had a month of footy this year leading up to the finals
Ablett struggled last year? What? He made the AA40 squad and was one our best vs Richmond in the PF. You believe too much rubbish you read on BF mate

Higgins is in way better form than they were.

SJ had a big first year at GWS, kicked 40+ goals then fell off a cliff. Chappy had a good first year at Essendon then fell off a cliff.

What Geelong now has to do is make sure they win a lot of games in the first 1/2 to 2/3 of the season so they can manage the older players heading into a finals campaign. No point getting there on top of the ladder with 20 wins and then they're all cooked for the finals.

Higgins just said that Nth said if he wanted to play on after next year to look elsewhere now. Pushed out of the midfield and finished 8th in the best and fairest in a shocking side

People think he’s going a lot better than he is.

Pick 30 is overs, but considering North are probably paying for most of his salary, you can understand the compromise.

He's a class act, always has been and will fill Gazza's role nicely.

I ask one simple question. We have lost Fogarty and Cockatoo and gained Smith and Higgins. Purely from a quality point of view, forget their ages, is our list better as a result? It's an overwhelming yes. And that is key.
Their ages are absolutely critical though. If they break down because they are getting on, miss 4 or 5 games here or there due to hammies/calves, will you be spruiking their talent when they can't get on the park?

WAYYY too many posters hung up on age and not on talent.
Whats the point of a limited 20 year old when you can get a classy 30 year old.
Talent > age FFS.
How many old teams win flags? The last 10 teams win their first flag with an average age of 25. We will be above 27, which is the average age of teams who have won a flag and competing for more.

No point having old talent injured and on the sidelines.

Granted he will look awesome when we are kicking dirt in other teams faces, it is more his ability to play pressure footy that seems to be all the rage days. From what I have seen of him I am unsure.

I always thought the best sort of pressure was the scoreboard kind. Higgins with his silky skills hitting forward targets lace out. Our forwards will need to put in time on their goalkicking (except for Miers)

SJ had a big first year at GWS, kicked 40+ goals then fell off a cliff. Chappy had a good first year at Essendon then fell off a cliff.

What Geelong now has to do is make sure they win a lot of games in the first 1/2 to 2/3 of the season so they can manage the older players heading into a finals campaign. No point getting there on top of the ladder with 20 wins and then they're all cooked for the finals.

Totally agree.

Higgins just said that Nth said if he wanted to play on after next year to look elsewhere now. Pushed out of the midfield and finished 8th in the best and fairest in a shocking side

People think he’s going a lot better than he is.

They pushed him out because they are rebuilding and need draft capital not form. The last 3 years his form has been exceptional. The only question is whether his body stays healthy at his age..if we had him in the GF side i honestly reckon we would have won it.

IMG_0747.JPG

All do respect to the veterans who have joined however I, Big Tom Atkins, thoroughly disagrees with the list decisions made this year. One of either Higgins or Smith not both and if one definitely just Higgins however, I hope that Wells and Scotty know what they are doing because I would be leaving the half forward position free for daddy Atkins and the wing position for speedy Jordan Clark. Disapprove most of the decisions made this trade period, just need to ensure Jeremy Cameron and the disappointment will be slightly lifted. Would rather be a good team for 6-10 years rather just 2-3 more. Just my take, Adios lads. All the best from Tommy.

So who would back in Fogarty to play more games then Higgins for the rest of their careers?

Thats not really the point though. He wasnt in our best 26 and would have been unlikely to play much in the next 3 years which is our window. Sure he might play 150 games all told but if they come after we are a flag chance it matters little. To effectively trade him for a player who slots into our top 12 talent wise is a win.

I don't think Fogarty will play another 30

The next 3 years is our window 2 at the most

Last year Ablett made the AA squad

Made the AA squad largely off the back of his early season form (and the fact he's Gary Ablett). As much as I love him - his back half of last year and most of this year looked very much to me like a bloke who was either carrying a niggle - or pretty much cooked.

Their ages are absolutely critical though. If they break down because they are getting on, miss 4 or 5 games here or there due to hammies/calves, will you be spruiking their talent when they can't get on the park?

And we just traded out two blokes under 25 who did exactly that.

No point having old talent injured and on the sidelines.

True. But both have been very durable over their careers. There's no guarantees, but that applies to any player.