Senior 16. Jack Carroll

16-carroll-jpg.1578900

Last edited by a moderator:
Aph, I don't suppose you know what level that's at?
No sorry I don't Geth.

Metalcrusher

Mostly colts G man, played up in the seniors for 5 games, very topsy turvy year over here.

Broke his wrist in late August/ early September and hung the boots up for the year. Was lucky he got the all clear for the combine over here. Kid is a goer!

Further more whilst this is nothing super out of the ordinary, he was playing as a 17 yo against mostly 18/19 yo's in the Colts and obviously open agers when he played up in the Seniors. So to dominate the centre like he did shows he has "it".

Looks like he can take a mark too. Being a bottom-ager, if he does keep growing he could have that coveted midfielder trait of being a danger resting in the forward line.

He is currently listed as 188cm and he turns 18 this month ... who knows how big he will get.

Thanks Crush.

I really like the look of this kid. He's smooth, and has that natural kind of thing that some players (pricks) have around them which makes it extremely hard to tackle them. He's also got a bit of pace, a sidestep to envy, and looks to be very, very good by foot. In some of those game reviews, it mentions 4+ tackles a few times.

It's really got me wondering what that doubts were, where the downside is. His athletic stats aren't anything to laugh at, and the only think I can think of is the lack of a true top level 18's formline. Love to see him tear up the twos for a month before getting the promotion.

Where's that mystic mythical marsupial? Might be time to renew talk of the word we cannot mention, starting with D.

Thanks Crush.

I really like the look of this kid. He's smooth, and has that natural kind of thing that some players (pricks) have around them which makes it extremely hard to tackle them. He's also got a bit of pace, a sidestep to envy, and looks to be very, very good by foot. In some of those game reviews, it mentions 4+ tackles a few times.

It's really got me wondering what that doubts were, where the downside is. His athletic stats aren't anything to laugh at, and the only think I can think of is the lack of a true top level 18's formline. Love to see him tear up the twos for a month before getting the promotion.

Where's that mystic mythical marsupial? Might be time to renew talk of the word we cannot mention, starting with D.

Super pumped with this draft pick mate. Super pumped. If he can learn from Crippa, look out, watch this space.

Definitely makes up for missing out on Poulter, but I can also see why he slid: kicking action likely leads to inconsistencies, and he probably doesn't get the drive out of his legs that he needs inside the contest, where he'll be pushing off contact.

His versatility looks exciting, but then again so did Kane Lucas', though that had pick 11, hamstring issues - and a total loss of confidence in his own abilities and game sense - to contend with. For pick 41, this kid looks better prepared.

He's 188cms as a 17 year old, and has a frame that will fill out some more. Should finish up in the low 190's. His contested numbers were exactly where you want them for a draftee - actually they were elite for a bottom aged mid (he led East Freo with an average of 15 contested per game). Was also racking up 30+ touches and on an upwards trajectory before breaking his hand.

For an underager, that's exactly what you want to see.

Only reason I can see why he slid was no clear best position (had just been moved from defence to the midfield because you want to be drafted as a tall mid, rather than an undersized KP player) and no elite standout physical traits (speed, endurance, leap etc).

He looks like he's going to develop into a taller balanced all round mid. Tons of upside here.

Looks like a combination of Ken Hunter and Scott Pendlebury .....so will be a nice depth player :D

Any reason he slid? I get he's not as physically developed as Poulter, Pedlar, Macrae etc, but seems sound in pretty much every area.

Bottom aged player with no clear point of difference (no elite athletic traits). Had only recently moved to the midfield in an effort to improve his draft standing (tall mids are valued more than undersized KPPs).

From all reports he interviewed well and is a solid citizen.

He's a good mover, who is solid all round (courage, can take a mark, fantastic contested numbers, good disposal, high possession getter, fast enough). He's still 17 (December 20 birthday) so he doesnt really get much more 'bottom ager' than Jack.

We were in the market for a smooth moving, balanced mid with a good contested game. I really like this pick - I reckon with another few years under his belt to fill out, he's going to be a regular for us.

Plenty of upside too.

Bottom aged player with no clear point of difference (no elite athletic traits). Had only recently moved to the midfield in an effort to improve his draft standing (tall mids are valued more than undersized KPPs).

He's a good mover, who is solid all round (courage, can take a mark, fantastic contested numbers, good disposal, high possession getter, fast enough). He's still 17 (December 20 birthday) so he doesnt really get much more 'bottom ager' than Jack.

We were in the market for a smooth moving, balanced mid with a good contested game. I really like this pick - I reckon with another few years under his belt to fill out, he's going to be a regular for us.

Plenty of upside too.
This, and calling an 187cm player a 'tall mid' in this day and age is stretching the definition a bit. He's a bit of a true 'in-betweener', a term that gets abused a bit too much, and is a little hard to project at the moment.

Plenty of upside too.

Cheers.

Interesting that something as important is footy IQ and general nous around the ground isn't given the same standing as a point of difference. I know he's not not head and shoulders above in comparison to his peers and opponents, but it seems unless your footy IQ is off the charts: Walsh, Kelly, Cotchin etc it almost works against you.

Seemed pretty clear from the outset we were always going to take one midfielder, and even if he wasn't our first choice he probably fits our needs better than the guys we'd put more work into (Pedlar, Poulter etc).

Cheers.

Interesting that something as important is footy IQ and general nous around the ground isn't given the same standing as a point of difference. I know he's not not head and shoulders above in comparison to his peers and opponents, but it seems unless your footy IQ is off the charts: Walsh, Kelly, Cotchin etc it almost works against you.

Seemed pretty clear from the outset we were always going to take one midfielder, and even if he wasn't our first choice he probably fits our needs better than the guys we'd put more work into (Pedlar, Poulter etc).
Very true but trying to apply that to juniors who aren't absolute standouts is difficult. As for the point as to whether he suits our needs better, well, that's just arbitrary.

Very true but trying to apply that to juniors who aren't absolute standouts is difficult.

Agreed, and he went in the same range as Ramsay last year who has pretty similar attributes including his general read around the ground.

That extra second often evaporates when you get to AFL level with more physical pressure and specialist drills to combat player movement through traffic.