List Mgmt. 2020 List Management, Free Agency & Trade thread - Part 2

You're ranging out a bit again. My original point was in response to yours', which essentially it was unreasonable to play Fyfe as no.1 mid over Neale.

Also I don't think it was as simple a case of Neale being "I want out", but more so of Brisbane putting together a really compelling and targetted pitch to him after Neale had been mentioned as possibly gettable in a regular wide-ranging conversation about players status etc.

Certainly, that pitch would've centred around his role and probably was along the lines of the Lions being "the place to grab the no. 1 mid role". But they'd also offer heaps more cash, outline how'd they'd ease the relocation - including opportunities for Julie to re-establish her business or whatever, as well as playing off their status as a buzz team and the invigoration of a new environment etc. I reckon that seed grew, was multifaceted and well established by the time Freo found out about it. You have to credit Brisvegas for the job they did in getting him there with that pitch.

As for your question re Neale vs Serong, I think it's only appropriate to return in kind and respond to your question with a question...would Neale transform us into a finals side this year or next? Because I'm not so sure he would've as he certainly hadn't in previous seasons. Serong-In/Neale-Out is really a timeframe shift and Serong buffers our future better than Neale.

I’m confident Serong will be a better player for longer than Neale. Just has more class and also appears to want it more.

The issue for us when we play only 2 talls, is that Tabs and Lobb are so handy to take marks up on the wing to allow us to get out of defense, thus leaving us devoid of a tall option other than a midfielder in the forward line.

However the stronger our small/mid forwards and wings get, the better we will be. I expect our spacing and speed in the forward line to make up for the lack of a third tall.
Again..... Only Tabs and Lobb are the only 2 guys on the list that can play FF.

If Lobb is in the ruck, Tabs can play FF.

Dont mind Tabs playing FF if he is double teamed. If it frees up someone like a walters or Schulz or Cox to kick 3-4 goals in a game then I am all for it.

A year ago you might have said only Hamling and Pearce can play full back. Creative coaching changes all that.

Sturt can play full forward. Fyfe as well.

I think the coaching staff would view Meek, Cox, Sturt and Treacy as potential but less desirable backups to Taberner and Lobb to play FF if required.

I think Cox could play FF pretty well at least the best FF after Tabs and Lobb.

I reckon most opposition would see that as a win, especially Fyfe at FF.

Maybe until he kicks five or six on them. I'm not saying that could have happened before now or that it ever will but at the right time and with the right midfield he could kick them

We're not going to play our best midfielder as a permanent forward for a couple of years at least.

Wait.. what?

Tabs is now Wayne Carey??

I think we need to calm down a little. He was injured for the rest of 2020 and here is his stats:

2020​
16​
129​
37​
166​
92​
29​
13​
8​
8​
10​
12​
5​
29​
3​
37​
4​
3​
2019​
9​
105​
44​
149​
72​
13​
10​
18​
16​
7​
8​
2​
22​
7​
24​
4​
2​
2018​
9​
88​
47​
135​
48​
10​
7​
12​
40​
11​
16​
2​
22​
6​
31​
2​
2017​
8​
65​
27​
92​
43​
11​
6​
20​
30​
8​
19​
2​
14​
3​
33​
2​
2016​
17​
121​
89​
210​
82​
18​
6​
41​
21​
8​
19​
2​
27​
1​
42​
3​
2015​
15​
83​
42​
125​
51​
14​
7​
20​
2​
9​
17​
6​
27​
3​
32​
3​
2014​
9​
61​
31​
92​
40​
7​
6​
25​
1​
6​
8​
3​
12​
4​
19​
7​
2013​
4​
18​
11​
29​
11​
2​
0​
9​
0​
0​
3​
1​
3​
0​
8​
0​

Wait.. what?

Tabs is now Wayne Carey??

I think we need to calm down a little. He was injured for the rest of 2020 and here is his stats:

2020​
16​
129​
37​
166​
92​
29​
13​
8​
8​
10​
12​
5​
29​
3​
37​
4​
3​
2019​
9​
105​
44​
149​
72​
13​
10​
18​
16​
7​
8​
2​
22​
7​
24​
4​
2​
2018​
9​
88​
47​
135​
48​
10​
7​
12​
40​
11​
16​
2​
22​
6​
31​
2​
2017​
8​
65​
27​
92​
43​
11​
6​
20​
30​
8​
19​
2​
14​
3​
33​
2​
2016​
17​
121​
89​
210​
82​
18​
6​
41​
21​
8​
19​
2​
27​
1​
42​
3​
2015​
15​
83​
42​
125​
51​
14​
7​
20​
2​
9​
17​
6​
27​
3​
32​
3​
2014​
9​
61​
31​
92​
40​
7​
6​
25​
1​
6​
8​
3​
12​
4​
19​
7​
2013​
4​
18​
11​
29​
11​
2​
0​
9​
0​
0​
3​
1​
3​
0​
8​
0​
I can see him thrive as our full forward.

The bloke is 197cm and takes contested marks..

If Taberner is FF and either Cox or Fyfe or even traecy is CHF, who are the opposition goin' to double team? Tabs obviously.

If Taberner is injured then Lobb plays FF. Again if Lobb is FF and either Cox or Fyfe or Tracey is CHF again, who is likely to be double teamed? The 206 cm Lobb is likely to be tagged.

I can see him thrive as our full forward.

The bloke is 197cm and takes contested marks..

If Taberner is FF and either Cox or Fyfe or even traecy is CHF, who are the opposition goin' to double team? Tabs obviously.

If Taberner is injured then Lobb plays FF. Again if Lobb is FF and either Cox or Fyfe or Tracey is CHF again, who is likely to be double teamed? The 206 cm Lobb is likely to be tagged.

Why would anyone tag Lobb? Guaranteed contested mark into a behind or out on the full.

He's hardly a KPF.

We had terrible problems with forward entries, and playing Fyfe at full forward isn’t part of the solution.

Why would anyone tag Lobb? Guaranteed contested mark into a behind or out on the full.

He's hardly a KPF.
Lobb has had short defenders on him plenty of times. He plays like a medium forward given his insecurity/ lack of confidence in himself and his height. If he had Tabs’ resilience and goalkicking, he’d be a 40+ goal forward. Rory needs a massive firing up, can be a dominant forward.

Because he is on record by his manager that he didn’t want to come here and even told Freo not to draft him.

Wasn’t it his parents that made that comment? Teenagers never want to leave home and favour their familiar surroundings. Meh. Victorians always tend to say that before moving across.
Drafted Mundy- 330 games.
Pavlich- proud South Australian. Never left, and has stayed.

Cerra has always been happy to play for Fremantle, don’t get any future reason for him to leave. He has grown up and seems settled, girlfriend is over here too.
He has played 58 games out of possible 64 over 2018-2020. Missed just 6 games.
Club sure has shown him the faith and development. Lots must go wrong for him to think he’s not staying around.

Lobb has had short defenders on him plenty of times. He plays like a medium forward given his insecurity/ lack of confidence in himself and his height. If he had Tabs’ resilience and goalkicking, he’d be a 40+ goal forward. Rory needs a massive firing up, can be a dominant forward.

If I was 200cm tall, I'd be an AFL player.

Lobb is who he is at this point of his career. He will not be a dominant forward, regardless of the fact we have no forwards on our list.

He's hardly a KPF.
I remembered he kicked 29 goals and 16 behinds from 24 games in 1 season for GWS and they played in a preliminary final that season too.

Believe me if freo made a preliminary final in 2021 or 2022 and Rory Lobb kicks 30 goals and 16 behinds from 24 games I don't think many Dockers fans will complain.

I remembered he kicked 29 goals and 16 behinds from 24 games in 1 season for GWS and they played in a preliminary final that season too.

Believe me if freo made a preliminary final in 2021 or 2022 and Rory Lobb kicks 30 goals and 16 behinds from 24 games I don't think many Dockers fans will complain.

Not sure of the relevance? In 2016 Hayden Ballantyne kicked 26 goals from 20 games, should we get him back in the side?

Lobb averaged 1.2 goals a game for 1 year. He hasn't averaged a goal a game at any other point let alone the 1.5+ I would hope for from a KPF.

It's a good thing he can ruck and take a clunk otherwise he would be looked at similar to Jack Anthony.