Alternate History of Australian Rules Football.

Would you like to see more of this mini series?

• Total voters

Teimy

Draftee
Jan 14, 2021
AFL Club
St Kilda
Hello everyone at BigFooty, my name is Tim and today I am going to share with you something I have been working on in my head for the past 3-4 years (on and off). I present to you an alternate reality where everyone's favourite egg shaped ball game is an internationally played game at a high level. I will be introducing some of the top tier nations history with the game.

Without further ado here is Chapter 1 of 3

“A Brief History into the sport of Association Rules Football”.

So lets quickly go over the invention of Australian Rules Football and why it was invented in the first place.
Tom Wills created a variation of a sport which became Footy in 1858, a sport created to keep cricketers in shape during the off-season. The sport originally resembled something closer to a scratch match of Rugby with looser rules, however over the next year the game evolved into something more unique and most importantly Australian.

From this point on things said in this story are completely fiction, beginning the alternate reality of Australian Rules Football or for what it will be known in the coming years as Association Rules Football.

The game was a hit amongst the local Victorian cricket clubs, and began touring the game to other states. Western Australia and South Australia is where the game really made an impact within the cricketing clubs. Realizing the potential of the sports success the majority of Cricket Clubs across Australia became Association Clubs, supplying local players the ability to participate in both sports, depending on the time of the year. Eventually the Australian Cricket Club began touring the sport to other nations while on tour, most notably Australia's biggest rival New Zealand.