Society/Culture Australian Property Prices to Crash?

Remove this Banner Ad

I thought they were trying to stimulate the economy like that, but would they care if the economy crashes as long as their debt isn't worthless?

It stimulates the economy by injecting liquidity and lowering Fx. Other countries are doing this as stimulus but also a currency war.

What is scary is currency wars are always followed by trade wars and then real wars.

The cute arrangement between the RBA and treasury is keeping interest rates lower than market

The government cant afford to raise interest rates - they need people spending money in the economy, not worrying about their mortgage payments.

The government has shown to everyone now that they are absolutely steadfast in fighting any natural correction to the Australian housing market.

Lowering interest rates in the first place hasn't done anything to allow people to enter the housing market, all its done is allow people to pay more for a property which has essentially inflated the market. Its absolutely crazy and has just created a huge divide between people who already own property compared to those who don't. People literally have no choice but to get a $1,000,000 mortgage. Raising interests rates on that would be a disaster for anyone new in the market.

Its absolutely nuts what's going on, and the government has essentially allowed it to happen.

I would love to see the statistics of how many people own houses that couldn't actually afford to buy, without taking into accounting equity.

The government cant afford to raise interest rates - they need people spending money in the economy, not worrying about their mortgage payments.

The government has shown to everyone now that they are absolutely steadfast in fighting any natural correction to the Australian housing market.