News Coronavirus (COVID-19) Discussion Thread III - L6ckdown

Remove this Banner Ad

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yep, and their summer outbreak that required a lockdown in parts of Sydney spread down here and we didn't need anything major, our contact tracing kept it sweet

Again, my point the whole time.

Comparing incidents and outbreaks as if they are like for like is a mug's game.

In hindsight, our contact tracing actually contained this outbreak. Every case has been in the immediate contact tracing bubble. Obviously, there was a point where they lacked confidence that would be the case.

You can compare the aggregate of results over twelve months though. And you can compare responses to individual outbreaks.

Not at all. The Murdoch press gave him a hard time and everyone else may as well have started every question with #istandwithdan.

I worked as a journo here and overseas for a long time. I covered politics here and overseas.

The only thing I've ever seen that can compare to the partisan unhinged bullshit that defined the media coverage of the winter lockdown was the dying days of Gordon Brown's government in the UK.

TONY ABBOTT'S ex chief of staff lobbed at pressers and pretended to be a journo.

The likes of Baxendale (who I trained to a degree lol) were literally making stuff up.

Seb Costello (surname a bit of a hint) was running around just straight up LYING about a spike in suicides, something subsequently disproven by the Coroner.

I'm happy to agree with you that the Andrews Government made serious, terrible mistakes, because they did.

But you're flat out wrong on the media stuff. It was shocking partisan bias, not seen since the Kirner days here.

The Hun and Oz thought they would use a public health emergency to knock off an ideological rival.

Not only is that sickening in of itself, they failed.

I worked as a journo here and overseas for a long time. I covered politics here and overseas.