Preview 2021 Best 22 Discussion

Heart Of Purple

Mar 26, 2018
Or your forwards generally. That would make more sense than robbing Peter to pay Paul IMO.
If you've got a magical solution to getting more out of the same players, I'm sure we'd offer you a coaching role. You can't do the same things over and over and expect the results to improve. We've got some young forwards that you can expect natural progression from, but none with the same aerial threat as Fyfe.

Dec 20, 2014
Hong Kong
Theres having a rotation, and then theres getting a good opportunity around the center bounce. Yes they'd still be in the team, but they wouldn't develop nearly as quickly as if they're playing in critical positions.
I hardly think playing Fyfe forward 20 per cent more is going to make a critical difference in this regard. Your young mids will still have a ton of opportunity to develop.

Dec 20, 2014
Hong Kong
If you've got a magical solution to getting more out of the same players, I'm sure we'd offer you a coaching role. You can't do the same things over and over and expect the results to improve. We've got some young forwards that you can expect natural progression from, but none with the same aerial threat as Fyfe.
That's the job of your coaches and ultimately the players. All I'm saying is that taking Fyfe out of the midfield (where he is elite) to play him forward more often (where he may be serviceable but probably not a match winner) doesn't seem to me like the most efficient or effective solution.

Heart Of Purple

Mar 26, 2018
That's the job of your coaches and ultimately the players. All I'm saying is that taking Fyfe out of the midfield (where he is elite) to play him forward more often (where he may be serviceable but probably not a match winner) doesn't seem to me like the most efficient or effective solution.
Completely understand what you're saying. But I'd say if Fyfe spends time forward and gets used to the best way to the position - he's definitely a match winner. I cant think of a harder match up anywhere across the league other than Buddy.

vidwhal

Grade A Douchebag
Oct 4, 2012
New York Knicks
Fyfe absolutely is a match winner up forward. He may not have that historical record that backs up that statement but anyone with eyes and a brain can see he is going to kick goals for us and cause bad mismatches with defenders.
I think Freo fans have a lot of confidence in our upcoming mids to become elite in their own right without Fyfe.
Just depends on how you think things are going to play out.

On AOSP on Manta using BigFooty.com mobile app

wakojako

Nov 15, 2020
Completely understand what you're saying. But I'd say if Fyfe spends time forward and gets used to the best way to the position - he's definitely a match winner. I cant think of a harder match up anywhere across the league other than Buddy.
I'd say given his excellent performance in the intraclub matches in the foward line we should give him a go in the foward line. What seperates great players from legends is their ability to excel wherever they play on the field. Fyfe is nearing that legendary status with 2 brownlows under his belt. Pavilich got AAs in positions all over the field why can't Fyfey?

Dec 20, 2014
Hong Kong
Fyfe absolutely is a match winner up forward. He may not have that historical record that backs up that statement but anyone with eyes and a brain can see he is going to kick goals for us and cause bad mismatches with defenders.
I think that might be overselling it slightly. Being effective as a midfielder who drifts forward is different to starting there matched against a specialist defender. But I guess pre-season is a time for optimism.

How many goals would Fyfe need to kick playing forward to make the shift worthwhile? Is he going to be a guy who kicks 40+?

Bring back Drum

Mundy4Hundy
Jul 8, 2019
Wouldn't have won against saints last year without Fyfe forward. On a sample size of one, ladies and gentlemen we have a match winner
Yep & I reckon Fyfe would say to JLo “mate I’ve got 2 brownlows, you play me wherever you think gives us the best chance to win a premiership”

Heart Of Purple

Mar 26, 2018
I think that might be overselling it slightly. Being effective as a midfielder who drifts forward is different to starting there matched against a specialist defender. But I guess pre-season is a time for optimism.

How many goals would Fyfe need to kick playing forward to make the shift worthwhile? Is he going to be a guy who kicks 40+?
Id suggest if he spent enough time forward he probably is capable of 40+. In reality, what everyone on this board is suggesting is something closer to 25-30 as he's splitting time forward and mid. 25 goals with ~20 possessions a game would be a massive win and allows his craft to develop so as he ages he can spend even more time down there.

Dec 20, 2014
Hong Kong
Id suggest if he spent enough time forward he probably is capable of 40+. In reality, what everyone on this board is suggesting is something closer to 25-30 as he's splitting time forward and mid. 25 goals with ~20 possessions a game would be a massive win and allows his craft to develop so as he ages he can spend even more time down there.
Fair enough. I guess we'll have to wait and see. For mine, you play your superstars in their best positions and figure out the rest around that.

vidwhal

Grade A Douchebag
Oct 4, 2012
New York Knicks

I'd say somewhere around 20 - 30 would be about right if he spends 30% of his time there, for about 1 - 1.5 goals a game average. He'll also have chances to kick for goal whilst in his accustomed mid role too if he drifts forward. I'd anticipate he'll have games where he kicks 0 and he'll have some where he bags 3 to 4. Depending on how the match plays out, 3 - 4 can be that match winning performance you're debating about.

On RMX2001 using BigFooty.com mobile app

arsesmart

Sep 25, 2018
Mid-Fwd/Fwd-Mid is a genuine position in the game. It's also going to be more of a thing with the reduced rotations malarkey. Martin (not to mention Walters) is more Fwd-Mid, while Dangerfield is going for Mid-Fwd. Reckon Fyfe is primed to be huge in this category after his dabbling in it last year.

Fred Ziffel

Apr 26, 2011
Cockburn W.A

It‘s moot. Whether the 40+ come off his boot or someone else’s doesn’t matter.
When Nat Fyfe drifts forward and the opposition realize he is there, the best defender is going to move to him.
That best defender is going to move off either Taberner or Lobb. That’s obviously not suggesting Nat Fyfe is the ultimate decoy. Nat rarely loses a marking contest when he’s one out therefore if he is actually double teamed
that is definitely going to make the job easier for Tabs and or Lobb.
Nat Fyfe drifting Forward is going to cause massive headaches for defences.

Dec 20, 2014
Hong Kong
It‘s moot. Whether the 40+ come off his boot or someone else’s doesn’t matter.
When Nat Fyfe drifts forward and the opposition realize he is there, the best defender is going to move to him.
That best defender is going to move off either Taberner or Lobb. That’s obviously not suggesting Nat Fyfe is the ultimate decoy. Nat rarely loses a marking contest when he’s one out therefore if he is actually double teamed
that is definitely going to make the job easier for Tabs and or Lobb.
Nat Fyfe drifting Forward is going to cause massive headaches for defences.
Righto. It's pre-season, I guess. May as well ask for the moon.

stax on the mull

Dec 26, 2010
Matildas
My thoughts on Fyfe in the forward 50m is that because he's captain he'll have the imprimatur to coach the other players around him on where they should be to get the ball.

arsesmart

Sep 25, 2018
I wonder if Fyfe will be allowed to have the same licence as Dusty by roaming forward and put himself in the middle when the team needs a lift
I reckon, at least for this season, he'll have a different distribution of fwd/mid time than Martin.

Martin is predominantly a forward who'll semi-frequently go onto the ball. Fyfe will likely be predominantly a midfielder who'll spend substantial minutes stationed in the forward line. Obviously there's heaps of flexibility built in to moderate it according to how the young mids are able to run the show. I'm sure Nat will really have to hold himself back early on.

Heart Of Purple

Mar 26, 2018
Righto - getting the thread back off the Fyfe topic and onto best 22, I think this year is one of the hardest we’ve had to predict the team. The depth is far greater than it has been with heaps of guys fighting for a spot, I’d be curious who we all think are deadset locks though (assuming fully fit).
Guys like Hamling being debated is really promising!

For me the locks are:
FB - Young Hamling Ryan
HB - Logue Pearce ___
C - Aish Brayshaw ___
HF - Walters Lobb Sturt
FF - _____ Tabs ____
Fol- Darcy Fyfe Cerra

Int - Serong Mundy ____ ____

BigRang

Mar 11, 2011
South of the Black Stump
Righto - getting the thread back off the Fyfe topic and onto best 22, I think this year is one of the hardest we’ve had to predict the team. The depth is far greater than it has been with heaps of guys fighting for a spot, I’d be curious who we all think are deadset locks though (assuming fully fit).

For me the locks are:
FB - Young Hamling Ryan
HB - Logue Pearce ___
C - Aish Brayshaw ___
HF - Walters Lobb Sturt
FF - _____ Tabs ____
Fol- Darcy Fyfe Cerra

Int - Serong Mundy ____ ____

IMHO

HB - Wilson
Wing - Acres
FF - Henry, Schultz

Int - Conca, Hill/Tucker/Hughes.

Gives a nice blend of offence/defence on all lines.

theGav56

Oct 11, 2004
Bali

For me the locks are:
FB - Young Hamling Ryan
HB - Logue Pearce _Wilson_
C - Aish Brayshaw _Acres
HF - Walters Lobb Sturt
FF - _Chapman_ Tabs _Henry_
Fol- Darcy Fyfe Cerra

Int - Serong Mundy _Hughes_ _Crowden_

I know Chapman won’t happen, but it’s what I think we need to do. He would probably start on the bench with either Serong or Crowden on field.