Corona virus, Port and the AFL. Part 3.

Imagine being so dumb that you don't realise the number of unemployed people is actually determined by labour market economics and not the efforts of individuals. All the efforts of individuals do is determine WHO is unemployed not HOW MANY are unemployed.

Imagine also being so dumb that you don't realise giving unemployed people more money, as well as just being a humanely decent thing to do, is an extremely effective form of economic stimulus as their marginal propensity to spend is the highest of anyone in society.

Not dumb, indoctrinated!

They can't believe the rich hoarders would lie to them as they bow and scrape to them for scraps from the table.

Sure, get on the dole and kick back.

Or get any form of job and work like, a whopping 15 - 20 hours a week, earn more money than the dole and be free from Centrelink.

Gee, I wonder what people would choose of given the choice.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

reports two elderly people in Queensland have been given an overdose of the Pfizer vaccine, an 88-year-old man and 94-year-old woman. Given four times the recommended dose. The elderly man is in hospital.

So vaccination is not compulsory as long as you do not intend to go to the pub, catch a bus, go to the footy or register the car?

On Monday the NSW premier, Gladys Berejiklian, revealed that despite the fact vaccinations would be voluntary, her state could make it compulsory for travel or accessing government buildings such as Service NSW shopfronts, as well as giving businesses permission to make vaccination a condition of entry.

I can just imagine hard hit businesses insisting on sighting a vaccination certificate before they sell something. It will be like QR codes there, but not enforced. In fact why couldn't COVID vaccination status be included on the QR code data? That way a patron only needs to scan once and produce the check in if asked.

if it is such a good idea why would you make it optional? Gladys is proposing an optional system to deny goods and services to someone who has exercised their right to opt out of something that is not even mandatory in the first place. Does not make a whole lot of sense and I cannot see why any business operator would enforce such a shambles.

I think it's wonderful that business' have been given the green light to tell morons to go * themselves.

reports two elderly people in Queensland have been given an overdose of the Pfizer vaccine, an 88-year-old man and 94-year-old woman. Given four times the recommended dose. The elderly man is in hospital.

Honestly

That's gross negligence by the Doctor involved

Even an uneducated layperson if given a vial of medicine to administer would ask how much before going ahead

Probably too busy showboating to the nurses

You obviously do not run a business and no one has been given a green light- yet.

The only business' that may struggle are tinfoil hat emporiums.

Honestly

Even an uneducated layperson if given a vial of medicine to administer would ask how much before going ahead

How does that happen? It appears they were each injected four times.

It is under investigation just how the two people, an 88-year-old man and a 94-year-old woman in Brisbane were given the wrong dose. Each injection was given consecutively and the nurse on site raised the alarm that a mistake had been made.

The doctor has been stood down.

Update: The doctor has resigned pending investigation.

Honestly

And this is why when you get a shot you want to get one from a nurse, not a doctor.

How does that happen? It appears they were each injected four times.

It is under investigation just how the two people, an 88-year-old man and a 94-year-old woman in Brisbane were given the wrong dose. Each injection was given consecutively and the nurse on site raised the alarm that a mistake had been made.
Each injection, the one to the 88 year old man and the one to the 94 year old woman, was given consecutively. Each vial contains up to six doses and I suspect that the fact that the doctor used a new vial for each of two consecutive shots is what twigged the nurse to the fact they were over dosing.

A longstanding ban on dancing at South Australia’s pubs and clubs will be lifted from Friday but with some restrictions, while the state will also remove its remaining border restrictions with Victoria, the transition committee has ruled.
From one minute past midnight on Friday, small licensed venues with 200 or fewer people can allow dancing, as long as patrons check-in using QR codes and maintain a distance of one person per two-square-metres.

Dancing will also be allowed at larger venues of between 200 to 1000 people, so long as only 50 people dance at one time in a designated area such as on a dance floor.

Venues that cater for more than 1000 people will need permission from SA Health and an approved COVID-management plan to have dancing.

Can you imagine being the person that has to say "Sorry, we already have 50 people dancing, please move away from the dance floor"

:tongueclosed:

MKsrZ-LAK2XOjUPoJEnZeMT8gBw=.gif

Imagine being so dumb that you don't realise the number of unemployed people is actually determined by labour market economics and not the efforts of individuals. All the efforts of individuals do is determine WHO is unemployed not HOW MANY are unemployed.

Imagine also being so dumb that you don't realise giving unemployed people more money, as well as just being a humanely decent thing to do, is an extremely effective form of economic stimulus as their marginal propensity to spend is the highest of anyone in society.

People who s**t on people on Centrelink often briefly read some random hot piece from a gossip column and leave it at that. I'm not willing to blame them though, but * every single media organisation that manipulates outrage like that because the detriment and harm it does to us as a society is definitely felt by people on the lower rungs. Are there some people abusing the system? Of ******* course, no s**t. The number is disproportionately lower than people anticipate though and there are people from all walks of life rorting systems, whether its taxation, funneling money from businesses, abusing grants etc.

Some interesting articles to peruse that more or less dictate this idea of dole bludgers being such a large part of it - I've tried linking news sites from 'across the political spectrum'.

An interesting thesis from 2011
[/URL]

On a personal note:
I worked in a very low socioeconomic school in the North with children from B-8. I've talked to many families with their main source of income being Centrelink. You can very clearly see the pattern: these parents often come from troubled backgrounds, are extremely poor and uneducated, often turn to drugs for coping, trauma passed down to children, rinse and repeat. What I've always found interesting though with these people is that they always love their children, but collapse under the pressures of poverty which makes this compounding domino effect. Its genuinely horrible and there's only so much you can do as an individual, but the more support these people get, the more the cycles will continue to break.

I've had a number of friends on Centrelink as well at certain points in their lives and it has often been the difference between being homeless and keeping their head afloat - just. There is very OFTEN cases of extreme depression, anxiety and other mental health issues that work in conjunction with all of this, often no fault of their own and have had significant trauma in their lives. Some have had serious health concerns and been unable to work in their regular job as a result. Going into another industry for many more often than not isn't possible. If for whatever reason they were unable to access payments (many haven't, but been lucky that they could go back and live with parents), they'd be ****ed and would undoubtedly spiral.

Also, when people get desperate for money, they will resort to anything, including crime. Punitive punishments don't do s**t: when you're desperate you're not thinking about the consequences. Welfare payments decrease crime, decreasing the need for officers, decreasing $$ spend in those areas. There's ample solid research that poverty (and not income inequality) causes an increase in crime.
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7234816/ - research indicating positive correlation in china
https://www.jstor.org/stable/3663641?seq=1 - research indicating positive correlation in america
https://www.researchgate.net/publication/2523129_Inequality_And_Violent_Crime - research done across 37 countries demonstrating a positive correlation that mitigated other determinant factors of crime

I don't think I've ever accessed Centrelink payments, but my mental health/health has been shaky at best and I've accessed bulk-billed doctors, subsidised medications, subsidised psychologist visits and haven't had debts such as a Uni loan (w/ interest) looming over my head. I've also been ******* blessed with a solid support network. Through all of this I finally got diagnosed with ADHD (admittedly I got 2 diagnosis because I didn't believe the first and was in denial, but it makes perfect sense and the evidence has been there all along) at the end of last year and honestly am finally starting to really not feel like a piece of s**t human being at the tender age of 'my very late 20s'. If I didn't have any of these 'socialist' programs (ESPECIALLY the support network), I'd undoubtedly be either dead or homeless. All of this falls under the same umbrella as welfare payments as far as I'm concerned.

Each injection, the one to the 88 year old man and the one to the 94 year old woman, was given consecutively. Each vial contains up to six doses and I suspect that the fact that the doctor used a new vial for each of two consecutive shots is what twigged the nurse to the fact they were over dosing.
Yep nobody told the doc one vial is for 5 shots, and one of the pharma vials has enough for 6 doses if done correctly and use the right syringe, based on a news story I saw last week.

Wonder if getting the equivalent of 4 or 5 doses means they don't need a booster shot in a months time. Maybe a bit of serendipity and the error leads to a new case study of 2 patients not done in the trial phases.

I don't know if the Libs have already locked in their pre-selections for the next election, but after his recent shenanigans laughing boy might've been tapped on the shoulder. His seat is mostly the Shire of Sutherland (the bit that isn't Scomo's seat) and safe Liberal, so you'd think they could find someone slightly less buffoonish to hold Kelly off if he stood as an independent. Maybe Labor could sneak in with a Cronulla Sharks hall of famer, or a prominent ABC current affairs host...
Just a reminder that Craig Kelly is one of the Liberal candidates that ScoMo blocked the preselection challenge against for the last election.