Autopsy Carlton v Essendon Practice Match - We won:- 14.11 (95) to 11.8 (74)!

Remove this Banner Ad

Gibbons is interesting.

Personally I don't rate him as much as others but he has a bit of a cult following and some supporters seem to really appreciate what he brings to the team. So maybe I need a Michael Gibbons 101 course to educate and inspire me.

I find him very inconsistent and can't work out where he fits in the midfield as his small forward career in navy blue has been disappointing. I don't see much X factor or see a specific trait that makes me think only Michael Gibbons can do that and he should be played every week.

He hardly played against Ess so I suspect he has dropped down the depth chart a bit since last year. The inconsistency is my major issue with him. Consistency as a team has been our biggest problem quarter to quarter, game to game, all of last year (happened again yesterday but the win kind of sugar coats it) and I can't understand why players who are consistently inconsistent are considered. Say that as fast as you can 100 times!

Last year, I assumed that Gibbons was doing something worthy that I can't see and that the coaches love. Can someone who rates our #40 give me a quick rundown on why he should be played? Maybe I will come around.
Agree, with Williams on board now, Walsh not looking like dropping down (very rare a kid doesn't have 2nd year blues after starring 1st year, Walsh blitzed his 2nd year) and Dow after a good pre-season and indicating he's deserved to at least be in the 22 come season opener, just can't see Gibbons breaking in for a while other than injury depth. Particularly if Stocker, LOB start to climb up the ranks, Fish we saw what he can do as a newly minted small forward and with Saad also may allow SPS and Doc some stints in the mid if need be too.

We've recruited to basically make Gibbons depth.