Opinion New AFC HQ: Stalled Indefinitely

What should we do?

Pittman played as a traditional HBF, there was no weird structure about that. And Shane Ellen was a decent overhead mark, strong kick and could actually stop and pivot with ball in hand. Giving him a crack up forward wasn't anything that weird.
I dunno man. Ellen kicking 5 goals in a GF was pretty out there.

Why not just have one oval, the size of the biggest oval in the league which I gather is the MCG, and modify it for every other game? *shrugs*
Which we can't do where we are.

Why not just have one oval, the size of the biggest oval in the league which I gather is the MCG, and modify it for every other game? *shrugs*
It would obviously feel different to a stadium anyway, but I reckon a smaller oval on a larger oval without defined borders ie a fence would feel the same as the larger oval.

Blight was crapping on the other day on 5AA about how our search for a new base, and because we've had a review, are reasons why we are now bottom. Was really angry about it. Seems to think we should just focus on the footy. The guy is so out of touch, or best mates with Chappy. Clearly can't see that the problems identified by the review are the reason we are bottom, and that members and players require better facilities
Blight is someone suffering from "Angry old Man" syndrome similar to Ian Chappell. You don't get to be the competitive beasts that these guys are without having that fire inside you. Chappell who has a more advanced case isn't worth listening to on any level. Blight is still entertaining for his past exploits but definitely not for his views on contemporary football administration or coaching.

So we're spending $50m+ so we can build a 2nd training oval so it's the same size as the MCG where we play less than a handful of games per season maximum?

More importantly, that's where the grand final is held.

It might have helped them when we last won the Shield too but no one mentioned it then

How are the participation rates since then?

Another issue is that the playing calendar enabled ex and current state cricketers to line up to play several A grade district games to help the young ones coming through. Many defected to ATCA or nowadays are restricted by first class “fitness gurus”.

It’s multi factorial but the fact stands that the dilution of talent is a gigantic issue in SA cricket.

Today is nothing like the 90s.

Firstly, from the actions of the Club thus far, the preference has been the two Parklands locations .....with the ACC knocking that on the head, it "appears" Thebarton is the fall back location

One of the criticism's of West Lakes was it's location & accessibility ......it was a similar complaint to the Waverly Park Oval, where a rail line was promised, and never implemented

Thebarton still presents accessibility issues for non drivers ......the "hub" of Melbournes sporting complex's; MCG, Tennis, Concerts, and Coll / Rich Football Clubs are all easily accessible by Rail, Tram, and short walk from the City Centre
Adelaide ovals in the city to. I don’t think there’s any other major oval located in Adelaide. Should our home ground and training facility be Adelaide oval.

How are the participation rates since then?
They are up...

Another issue is that the playing calendar enabled ex and current state cricketers to line up to play several A grade district games to help the young ones coming through. Many defected to ATCA or nowadays are restricted by first class “fitness gurus”.

It’s multi factorial but the fact stands that the dilution of talent is a gigantic issue in SA cricket.

Today is nothing like the 90s.
This is correct but applies equally in all states. Nothing to do with SA's struggles.

Well depends it’s right at the exit/entry to the tunnel.
I know of a business on the southern end near Jarvis Toyota that has been given a year to find a new premises.
they are going to need a bit of space around the entry and exit.
Be good to see a proposed plan of the roads for when the tunnel is finished.
Thats forming the bulk of the current discussions:
- what will the disruptions be during the South Road construction process
- what will the traffic situation be once the express way is established

They have the brickworks there as well that will need transport access so it is a prime position. There are a lot of houses and businesses which will need to find new homes. A lot of the properties along South Road have been bought by the government over time for this exact purpose. We aren't going to build this thing without know exactly what interruptions there will be during expressway construction (or more to the point, making sure they don't disrupt) and without knowing that the new expressway will accomodate what we require from a transport access point of view.

Now think of the possibilities. Thousands of cars travelling past every day the HQ building of the Adelaide Crows, with a mural running alongside the road. The entrance/exit ramps being named the 'Jarman ramp' or the 'Modra lane'. Electronic signboards running along the road with vision of the team, sponsor signage ($$), etc. The side panels of the expressway painted red, yellow and blue with a giant raptor head greeting every car which drives past.

On the main transport thoroughfare in the State, we can claim a couple hundred metres to ourselves to promote our club and make an impression on this city in a way we never could from West Lakes, because no one goes there.

Thats forming the bulk of the current discussions:
- what will the disruptions be during the South Road construction process
- what will the traffic situation be once the express way is established

They have the brickworks there as well that will need transport access so it is a prime position. There are a lot of houses and businesses which will need to find new homes. A lot of the properties along South Road have been bought by the government over time for this exact purpose. We aren't going to build this thing without know exactly what interruptions there will be during expressway construction (or more to the point, making sure they don't disrupt) and without knowing that the new expressway will accomodate what we require from a transport access point of view.

Now think of the possibilities. Thousands of cars travelling past every day the HQ building of the Adelaide Crows, with a mural running alongside the road. The entrance/exit ramps being named the 'Jarman ramp' or the 'Modra lane'. Electronic signboards running along the road with vision of the team, sponsor signage ($$), etc. The side panels of the expressway painted red, yellow and blue with a giant raptor head greeting every car which drives past.

On the main transport thoroughfare in the State, we can claim a couple hundred metres to ourselves to promote our club and make an impression on this city in a way we never could from West Lakes, because no one goes there.
This is SA, don't count on it being done properly, you only have to look at the new darlington interchange and see all the shithouse things that have occurred there (the one direction bridge for ayliffes rd for one)

You’re having a laugh

That soon to be 100km/hr freeway makes it more accessible to people in the north and south
Yep I was in Adelaide last weekend and coming back from visiting a mate at Encounter Bay found myself on the southern freeway then South Road. Can confirm it’s a shitty road currently but when that is joined with the freeway up north it will be similar to the north south freeway through Perth. It will make it piss easy to get to.
I don’t do public transport much because of all the people on it though, so it’s no big deal.