B: Raines Gaspar Thursfield
HB: JBowden Polak Newman
C: Deledio Polo PBowden
HF: Tambling Pattison Pettifer
F: Brown Schultz Richardson
R: Simmonds Foley Johnson
INT: Tuck Howat Meyer Oakleigh-Nicholls.

This is what in my opinion is our best team.

Backline: Gaspar, Polak and Thursfield are the talls that will hold the backline together, and although I have neamed Gas at Full Back, Thursfield should get the number one forward. With Raines, Newman and Joel the run out of the backline should be one of the competitions finest.

Midfield: Deledio, Patrick, Polo, Foley and Johnson with Simmonds as the ruckman is solid, we have a clearance king in Foley, leadership in Johnson, and bigger bodies with run with Polo, Deledio and Patrick. Tuck, Howat, Meyer and JON off the bench make this a fast and exciting midfield.

Forward: If ever we were going to see the talent of Pattison it's now. The guy looked sensational all pre season, has a huge motor on him and great hands, and at 198cm and 98kg is big enough to now hold that position. His best quality is to present all day long and thats what our game plan will need from CHF. With the new hands in the back rule we should take advantage of it, put Richo deep in the forward line and if we cant spot up a Schultz on the lead then bomb long to the best contested marker in the competition, the defenders biggest nightmare. Just on Schultz, if he stays injury free a 60 goal season is not beyond him. With Pettifer, Nathan Brown and Tambling as the creative smalls, thats a very strong forward line that will be matchup nightmares for every team, also Meyer can come and spark some magic also.

I think that team is a very strong one, not going to win us a premiership but will be thereabouts for a finals spot if injuries dont occur. Thats the big if, cause our brightest kids aren't ready yet to give us the depth we require. If that side stays on the park we will be a finals team, I have no doubt.

Big Season:

Pattison, Schultz, Thursfield and Tambling I expect to improve the most and thats whats gonna give us a better season than last and of course Nathan G Brown is back and looking fit, one of the best in the competition will add to us no doubt.

:thumbsu:

Tambling McGaune/Thursfeild* P Bowden
J Bowden Polak Newman
Raines Foley Johnson
Howat Schultz Brown
Pettifer Richo Kingsley
Simmonds Deledio Tuck

White Pattison Meyer Polo

*whom ever is travling better.

Death to; Tivendale, Gaspar, Hall, Knobel

tambling is not mcleod get over it

chuck white in the back pocket for a bit of balls

lmao at having the worst accountable forwards in the comp, i reckon with that front 6 if browny doesnt kick 10 then the opposition are set for 1000 rebounding D50's

B. Raines Gaspar P Bowden
HB. J Bowden G Polak C Newman
C. Deledio Tuck Tambling
HF. Meyer Pattison Petiffer
F. Brown Schulz Riewoldt

R. Simmonds, Johnson, Foley

IC: Richardson, Polo, Thursfield, Howat

Em: Knobel, Tivendale, McGuane

I am wondering the logic both of you have with not starting the captain on the ground?

I haven't played for quite a few years. Is it considered acceptable for the captain to call the toss, point to the pavillion end, and walk to the bench?

To be honest I just liked the look of Realistic's team and thought there was just a couple of small things I'd change. I did think about it though, and who Johnson would replace and came to the conclusion that if we want a tagger in the midfield I'd rather go with Polo - I think he's a bit more creative and fitter.

As for a captain sitting on the pine, it did us no harm in the 80 premiership.

I am wondering the logic both of you have with not starting the captain on the ground?

I haven't played for quite a few years. Is it considered acceptable for the captain to call the toss, point to the pavillion end, and walk to the bench??
To be honest I just could not really find a spot for him. With the idea of letting the kids have the chance to make a spot their own in the first 6 weeks having Johnson on the bench during that time. If the kids fall over in that time then Johnson is there as back up

how about making the kids EARN their place in the side by tearing it up at the burgers or off the pine themselves. We've just gone from 16th-12th-9th and all of a sudden we're meant to give away the season before it begins bc of some overly pessimistic fans? give me a break :rolleyes:

and whoever thinks johnson isnt in our starting 18 knows sweet FA. Stop living in a fantasy world. Players like meyer, Jon and Tambling have to earn the right to get into the 18 not bc of their potential.

Like McGuane being in every 2nd posters best 18 lmaooooooooo. I'll happily stand corrected but what i saw last season, hes not much chop and wont make it. Needs to show a lot more at the burgers before he cements a senior spot. Thursfield went from burgers ressies, dominated, burgers seniors dominated and straight to our starting 18 in about 2 months bc he actually showed something.

Polo earnt his stripes, foley too, Howat is earning them. Meyer has NOT shown he should be in the seniors, needs to come on so too Jon. Tambling earnt his spot last season but needs to keep improving bc we expect a lot more.

Raines gaspar thursfield
P.Bowden J.Bowden newman
Tambling polo tivendale
Tuck schulz pettifer
Polak Richardson brown
Foll"Simmonds Johnson deledio
INT: Foley, Pattison, Hughes Meyer
EMER: Kingsley, krakour, hall, white

if gas isnt up to it or goes down injured throw thursty into it and make polak go down back. for me though Polak and schulz are Key forwards first. replace polak up forward with hughes or reiwoldt

I will have a go as i like to follow the state of the Tigers.

HB: JBowden Polak Newman
C: Deledio Polo Tuck
HF: PBowden Richardson Pettifer
F: Brown Schultz Krakour
R: Simmonds Foley Johnson
INT: ????

Im not sure who goes on the pine but i think thats not a bad effort.

HB: J Bowden Polak Newman
C: Deledio Johnson Tambling
HF: Pettifer Richardson P Bowden
F: Brown Schulz Krakeour
R: Simmonds Tuck Foley
INT: Pattison Polo Tivendale/Hyde Howat

I Don't really think someone like Meyer has earnt a spot for the first round of the season, sure he has talent but I think he needs to string some better perfomances in the twos before getting a regular gig

I agree with three of your points and strongly disagree with one of them:

AGREE:

1. JB wont play full back unless injuries hit.
2. Johnson on the bench is stupidity. He is our leader we need him on the ground.
3. We are a good side if injuries dont hit.

STRONGLY DISAGREE:

1. Chris Hyde is not in our best 22 if we are serious about being a good team, either is Tivendale, either is Krakouer and either is Hartigan. These guys should be known as SQUAD PLAYERS, only used in the seniors if injury forces our hand. If we are serious - Chris Hyde (centreman) Coburg Tigers.

Chris Hyde is a far better player than Meyer, Krak, Petts, White and Howat.

FB: RAINES GASPAR THURSFIELD
HB: JB POLAK NEWMAN
C: HYDE JOHNSON POLO
HF: KRAKOUER PATTO PETTIFER
FF: KINGSLEY RICHO BROWN
FOLL: SIMMONDS, DELEDIO, TUCK
INT: FOLEY, HOWAT, SHULTZ, PB
EMERG: MEYER, TAMBLING, CONNORS

*Tivendale should never play another match in Richmond colours!!
But he will and Richo must nearly spew everytime he leads and Tivendale has the ball. Not even Johnathon Brown could mark one of those $hit, low spearing, faster than the speed of light kicks that he dishes off everytime he kicks it. Poo!

how about making the kids EARN their place in the side by tearing it up at the burgers or off the pine themselves. We've just gone from 16th-12th-9th and all of a sudden we're meant to give away the season before it begins bc of some overly pessimistic fans? give me a break :rolleyes:

and whoever thinks johnson isnt in our starting 18 knows sweet FA. Stop living in a fantasy world. Players like meyer, Jon and Tambling have to earn the right to get into the 18 not bc of their potential.

Like McGuane being in every 2nd posters best 18 lmaooooooooo. I'll happily stand corrected but what i saw last season, hes not much chop and wont make it. Needs to show a lot more at the burgers before he cements a senior spot. Thursfield went from burgers ressies, dominated, burgers seniors dominated and straight to our starting 18 in about 2 months bc he actually showed something.

Polo earnt his stripes, foley too, Howat is earning them. Meyer has NOT shown he should be in the seniors, needs to come on so too Jon. Tambling earnt his spot last season but needs to keep improving bc we expect a lot more.

I'll put it to you like this:

Will you take a few extra wins this year playing guys, like Gaspar, Hall, Knobel, Tivendale, Jackson, Moore, that will not win us a flag and might get a finals berth only to have the side end up near the bottom again by 2009 becuase the kids have no experience when the older guys retire?

Or

Should we continue to get games into the kids that in 4-5 years time are going to be the core of the team, more likely to take us to a flag and take the 9-11 wins we would get on merit this year?

It was mentioned the othr day it was perhaps in our best interest to play the kids a bit more as the more kids we have who are 50-100 game veterans the better it will be in the long run. I was against the idea but after reading Wallace's Patience article and thinking about what he and others have said makes a bit of sense.

So what if we take a step back this year and finish 10-12 if you get another 15-20 games development into Deledio, Tambling, Polo, Raines, Meyer, Schulz, Foley, Howat, White, Thursty, Tuck, McGuane & Pattison suddenly you have a group of 13 kids that will have between 30 -70 games at AFL level and that can't be a bad thing now can it. Add to this the handful of games Riewoldt, Conners, Edwards might get as well and you have a group of 16-18 players that will hopefully be the core of our next successful side.

BTW Bit harsh to judge McGuane based on his debut against the Swans when they kicked 28 goals and he was called up at the last minute and then the WCE game last round when they kicked 26 goals, how the hell can you judge a kid in games when the opposition beats you by 100 points. Sure he might of struggled in those games and looked lost but I suggest most of the side did on those 2 games.

stuff playing the kids and developing a successful richmond outfit for the future

we should just try and limp our way to 8th and "reward" all those great leaders we have at the club who have taken us to past glory's :thumbsd:

tambling is not mcleod get over it

chuck white in the back pocket for a bit of balls

lmao at having the worst accountable forwards in the comp, i reckon with that front 6 if browny doesnt kick 10 then the opposition are set for 1000 rebounding D50's

Tambling is fast and has decent skills. Modern defender. The ball will be in our defence alot and help him to inprove his confidence.

White has balls. He lacks class.

There isn't many other options for our forward line.

B. Newman Gaspar Thursfield
HB. Bowden Polak Raines
C. Deledio Johnson Howat
HF. Pettifer Schulz Polo
F. N.Brown Richo P.Bowden
Ruck. Simmo Tuck Foley

Int: White, Pattison, Tambling, KK/Krak

Deledio, Johnson, Howat, Polo, Tuck, Foley and Tambling to rotate through the midfield with the odd cameo from N Brown.

Polo deserves a start over Tambling at this stage, iv got him listed at HF but hes an extra midfielder.
P.Bowden is a spare parts man, can offer a bit up forward imo and bc of his versatility id have him in
White gives us insurance as a running backman or winger. Real goer and fit!
Patto to cameo as backup to simmo and up forward for mismatches.
5 of the back 6 i think most of us agree on, Id still go with gas over McGuane until i see more of McGuane at FB with the burgers.

total agree with this team having gasper in the team takes considerable presure off thurstfield and allows him to develop better.
while polo is named at half forward he pushes up into the midfield allowing p.bowden to a half forwardline consisting of 3 genuine targets in pettifer, p.bowden and schulz. which inturn leaves browny and richo with the 50 to themselves, and just lookin at the hands in the back rule, this combination would be very worrying for oppotion.:thumbsu:

Here is my attempt at what I think Terry Wallace will play in Round 1. A bit of it is what I want to see too.

B: P. Bowden - D. Gaspar - A. Raines
HB: J. Bowden - G. Polak - B. Deledio
C: C. Newman - S. Tuck - D. Polo
HF: N. Brown - K. Pettifer - R. Tambling
F: A. Krakouer - M. Richardson - J. Schulz

1R: T. Simmonds - K. Johnson - N. Foley

Int: A. Pattison - C. Howat - C. Hyde - G. Tivendale

I want to see Newman moved in the middle, so I chucked him onto a wing, I think its a little risky chucking him into the centre bounces after such an injury.

Kent on the bench when fit, I would like to see Thursfield play but we won't need him Round 1 IMO.

I hope Deledio plays in the middle, but I think Terry will start him off the HBF.
Schulz won't actually play a FP's role, I think he and Richo might start deep in our 50. I would kind of like to see Richo run up the ground more (I know, his hammy's) 'cause Schulz is a better kick and we need Schulz taking Marks 30-35m out.

I want to see Newman moved in the middle, so I chucked him onto a wing, I think its a little risky chucking him into the centre bounces after such an injury.

Schulz won't actually play a FP's role, I think he and Richo might start deep in our 50. I would kind of like to see Richo run up the ground more (I know, his hammy's) 'cause Schulz is a better kick and we need Schulz taking Marks 30-35m out.

I like the look of this side too....my only changes would be swap:

Newman and Raines for your same logic...

and maybe Pettifer and Schulz...Schulz and Richo are always getting in each others way ....but either way, playing Pettifer in pocket, he should be told to play well up the ground and out of Richo's way!

Here is my attempt at what I think Terry Wallace will play in Round 1. A bit of it is what I want to see too.

Kent on the bench when fit, I would like to see Thursfield play but we won't need him Round 1 IMO.

I hope Deledio plays in the middle, but I think Terry will start him off the HBF.

Very good sante. Would just like to see Will in there. What would you

think of Richo starting this season in the backline and Schulz having FF to

himself. Big Jay is a lot better player without Richo out there and Richo's

field kicking is heaps better than his kicking for goal. Just throwing it out

there.

I'll put it to you like this:

Will you take a few extra wins this year playing guys, like Gaspar, Hall, Knobel, Tivendale, Jackson, Moore, that will not win us a flag and might get a finals berth only to have the side end up near the bottom again by 2009 becuase the kids have no experience when the older guys retire?

Or

Should we continue to get games into the kids that in 4-5 years time are going to be the core of the team, more likely to take us to a flag and take the 9-11 wins we would get on merit this year?

It was mentioned the othr day it was perhaps in our best interest to play the kids a bit more as the more kids we have who are 50-100 game veterans the better it will be in the long run. I was against the idea but after reading Wallace's Patience article and thinking about what he and others have said makes a bit of sense.

So what if we take a step back this year and finish 10-12 if you get another 15-20 games development into Deledio, Tambling, Polo, Raines, Meyer, Schulz, Foley, Howat, White, Thursty, Tuck, McGuane & Pattison suddenly you have a group of 13 kids that will have between 30 -70 games at AFL level and that can't be a bad thing now can it. Add to this the handful of games Riewoldt, Conners, Edwards might get as well and you have a group of 16-18 players that will hopefully be the core of our next successful side.

BTW Bit harsh to judge McGuane based on his debut against the Swans when they kicked 28 goals and he was called up at the last minute and then the WCE game last round when they kicked 26 goals, how the hell can you judge a kid in games when the opposition beats you by 100 points. Sure he might of struggled in those games and looked lost but I suggest most of the side did on those 2 games.

Theres a fine line between knowing when to play kids that will develop into guns and playing kids when they are woefully under-developed and under-prepared.. No-one can seriously suggest McGuane, Meyer and Jon deserve a start at the moment :rolleyes:

I am a fan of Jon, a fan of Meyer's abilities but ffs EARN your stripes. Barring Gaspar and Krak as a maybe bench player, I dont have any of the others you mentioned in your bolded statement in my side mate bc Polo, deledio, tambling, foley, howat, schulz, thursty have done enough to warrant a chance to cement themselves. So not sure why you wrote that

Meyer goes MIA too often, Jon is green and missed most of the preseason ....and McGuane? - let me see him dominate at FB at coburg for 4-5 weeks even, show leg speed, show a strong consistent spoil and then i'll say fair enough dump gas and play him for the rest of the season. Until then youve gotta be kidding me, hes done nothing! and Im not talking about his senior appearances, they were non-competitive pauper performances by the whole team so im not marking him on that.

Its got nothing to do with giving the older players a chance to play finals, Royal farrked up by saying something as stupid as that, its all about teaching the boys that they have to get to a certain level to play AFL footy. Thats culture.

Edwards, skinny runt an all mark my words will force his way into the side this season bc hes hungry and hes got it, he'll EARN it. Connors conditioning may not be up to scratch for AFL immediately but he'll get a game or two towards the end of the season if he works hard. If they do this and continue on then get them in from round 1 next season. I'd prefer this anyday of the week to playing players that are ridiculously far from a deserved call-up.

total agree with this team having gasper in the team takes considerable presure off thurstfield and allows him to develop better.
while polo is named at half forward he pushes up into the midfield allowing p.bowden to a half forwardline consisting of 3 genuine targets in pettifer, p.bowden and schulz. which inturn leaves browny and richo with the 50 to themselves, and just lookin at the hands in the back rule, this combination would be very worrying for oppotion.:thumbsu:

spot on :thumbsu: and i said the exact thing in a following post later on. We have some genuine matchwinners in browny and richo, if only we knew how to open it up and give them a chance our forward line would rock. The only way this will happen is if we have more than pettifer as a hitup target, let these guys take marks on HF and the wing as long as they drag their man with them. If pettifer/PBowden/Kingsley can do this consistently we'll see a significant improvement.

And so he bloody well should. Meyer has done nothing at all to justify being played other than being picked number 12 in the draft. His head is in SA and I just hope he pulls his finger out this year so he has some currency when he wants to leave us and go home. Tiv was Richmonds best player against Geelong, why wouldn't he start the season? Tiv is very much a confidence player, but nobody at that club trains, prepares themselves better or hurts as much with a loss than Tiv. Get your heads out of sand. Maybe we are hoping that Meyer will be a star so we can feel better about the Ottens deal. I can't work it out.:confused:

I love how people seem to know what Meyer is thinking, purely by looking at body language. How the hell do you know he wants to go back to SA???

Bet ya, ya wrong.

I love how people seem to know what Meyer is thinking, purely by looking at body language. How the hell do you know he wants to go back to SA???

Bet ya, ya wrong.

Body language can tell a lot about someone, Robby. You telling me you didn't know what type of mood that Wallsy, Giesch or Spud were in by the way they were carrying themselves around the club when you were there. I bet you a slab that Meyer will not be at Richmond after this contract runs out.