Opinion Commentary & Media V

AFL future push: Eddie McGuire says Collingwood needs to play against Tasmania and Darwin teams by 2028
Glenn McFarlane

3 min read
April 7, 2021 - 8:35PM
News Corp Australia Sports Newsroom

Eddie McGuire has drawn up a revolutionary blueprint on the future of the AFL that would see 20 teams competing by 2028.

The former Collingwood president and long-time football powerbroker believes the game has a once-in-a-generation opportunity to introduce a 19th and 20th franchise – with Tasmania and a combined Far North Queensland/Darwin side the most likely options.

But he sent a pointed warning to the Tasmanian Government and Premier Peter Gutwein, saying it needed to “step up or step out” or potentially “miss the boat again”.

McGuire said unless the Tasmanian Government agreed to commit $20 million annually to the code and the new club — which included investment in a roofed stadium, better junior pathways, universities and sports medicine facilities — it could forfeit its last hope of having a stand-alone team.

“The time has come for the all parties promulgating a team in Tasmania to put up or shut up,” McGuire said on Footy Classified.

McGuire’s bold plan to push football’s boundaries into the next generation includes:
# A 20-round AFL season in which all teams would play each other once (19 rounds), which “fixes the fixture”, plus an extra round comprising Blockbuster/Showdown/Derby matches;
# An expanded 12-team finals series, which would add at least $20 million to the TV rights;

# At least three matches to be played on the west coast of the United States to tap into American markets; and,
# A proposal for one Victorian team to be Tasmania’s “breakthrough” side until the stand-alone team is ready in 2028.
Eddie McGuire is pushing for a senior Tasmanian team in the AFL. Picture: Matt Thompson

That Victorian “breakthrough” team — which he suggested could be North Melbourne given it already has a contract to play matches in Hobart — would be allocated four “home” and four “away” matches in Tasmania between seasons 2022 and 2027, with a further 12 games played in Melbourne and only two matches in different states.
McGuire said the Tasmanian Government had to find the best venue for a new stadium with a retractable roof.

It is understood McGuire — who was on the AFL’s “coronavirus cabinet” last year — has already discussed his proposal with a range of AFL heavyweights including league chief executive Gillon McLachlan and other club presidents.

His message to the Tasmanian Premier — whose Government will face an election on May 1 — was pointed: “You can have a stand-alone team in the AFL competition in 2028.

“(But) from this year you need to contribute not $10m but $20m per season indexed forever.
“You also need to hit the Federal Government up for a further $20m.

“The AFL will be in for a similar amount and you will need to find $10m-15m in commercial profit to make this work.

“In the next six years you (Tasmania) need to declare you are all in (for) AFL men’s and women’s football.”

McGuire said Tasmania under Gutwein would need to build pathway programs, scholarships and talent identification programs to contribute six players per year into the AFL Draft.

“You are averaging two at the moment,” he said of Tasmania.

“Sandringham Dragons average six from their catchment area. (That’s) not too much to ask.

“Premier, you need to decide where your ground is and to get a gold star your state needs a stadium with a roof on it.”

Part of the funding would come from infrastructure/health/education and tourism budgets.

“The economic impact more than covers the cost,” he said.

McGuire said a Victorian team could safeguard their future forever by choosing to be a part-time Tassie team for the next six seasons.

He once considered Collingwood playing a number of games on the Gold Coast after North Melbourne knocked back the AFL’s massive deal to base themselves up there at the end of 2007.

“It’s a competition challenge with a competition solution,” McGuire said on Footy Classified.
“A team has to decide it wants to be the Tasmanian breakthrough side.

“Let’s say it is North Melbourne. I (would) propose that North Melbourne play four home and four away games in Tasmania until 2028.

“They then get 12 games in Melbourne and play two interstate. Members would receive free KAYO (deals) and deals to travel to Tasmania.

“The four away games (would) come from AFL assisted clubs.

“One game per year (would be) a blockbuster versus a BIG club with a full festival of football scheduled in Tasmania with (AFL) Commission/President’s meetings, media relocation and symposiums to generally show we love them and are building something fantastic.

“At the end North (would be) seen as a great contributor to the competition. They get as many games in their home city as every non-Victorian team and their future is assured.”

Attachments

• 1617791886522.gif
    1617791886522.gif
    42 bytes · Views: 40
It's not satire, but it is a troll article. Paul D is the author, and this is him in the comments. View attachment 1096477
Saw it earlier, wasn’t worth the effort of replying or bringing it up
“Satire” is better written for a start and actually has humour in it

north_lad

Oct 26, 2003
AFL future push: Eddie McGuire says Collingwood needs to play against Tasmania and Darwin teams by 2028
Glenn McFarlane

3 min read

Eddie McGuire has drawn up a revolutionary blueprint on the future of the AFL that would see 20 teams competing by 2028.

The former Collingwood president and long-time football powerbroker believes the game has a once-in-a-generation opportunity to introduce a 19th and 20th franchise – with Tasmania and a combined Far North Queensland/Darwin side the most likely options.

But he sent a pointed warning to the Tasmanian Government and Premier Peter Gutwein, saying it needed to “step up or step out” or potentially “miss the boat again”.

McGuire said unless the Tasmanian Government agreed to commit $20 million annually to the code and the new club — which included investment in a roofed stadium, better junior pathways, universities and sports medicine facilities — it could forfeit its last hope of having a stand-alone team.

“The time has come for the all parties promulgating a team in Tasmania to put up or shut up,” McGuire said on Footy Classified.

McGuire’s bold plan to push football’s boundaries into the next generation includes:
# A 20-round AFL season in which all teams would play each other once (19 rounds), which “fixes the fixture”, plus an extra round comprising Blockbuster/Showdown/Derby matches;
# An expanded 12-team finals series, which would add at least $20 million to the TV rights;

# At least three matches to be played on the west coast of the United States to tap into American markets; and,
# A proposal for one Victorian team to be Tasmania’s “breakthrough” side until the stand-alone team is ready in 2028.

That Victorian “breakthrough” team — which he suggested could be North Melbourne given it already has a contract to play matches in Hobart — would be allocated four “home” and four “away” matches in Tasmania between seasons 2022 and 2027, with a further 12 games played in Melbourne and only two matches in different states.
McGuire said the Tasmanian Government had to find the best venue for a new stadium with a retractable roof.

It is understood McGuire — who was on the AFL’s “coronavirus cabinet” last year — has already discussed his proposal with a range of AFL heavyweights including league chief executive Gillon McLachlan and other club presidents.

His message to the Tasmanian Premier — whose Government will face an election on May 1 — was pointed: “You can have a stand-alone team in the AFL competition in 2028.

“(But) from this year you need to contribute not $10m but $20m per season indexed forever.

“The AFL will be in for a similar amount and you will need to find $10m-15m in commercial profit to make this work.

“In the next six years you (Tasmania) need to declare you are all in (for) AFL men’s and women’s football.”

McGuire said Tasmania under Gutwein would need to build pathway programs, scholarships and talent identification programs to contribute six players per year into the AFL Draft.

“Sandringham Dragons average six from their catchment area. (That’s) not too much to ask.

“Premier, you need to decide where your ground is and to get a gold star your state needs a stadium with a roof on it.”

Part of the funding would come from infrastructure/health/education and tourism budgets.

McGuire said a Victorian team could safeguard their future forever by choosing to be a part-time Tassie team for the next six seasons.

He once considered Collingwood playing a number of games on the Gold Coast after North Melbourne knocked back the AFL’s massive deal to base themselves up there at the end of 2007.

“It’s a competition challenge with a competition solution,” McGuire said on Footy Classified.

“Let’s say it is North Melbourne. I (would) propose that North Melbourne play four home and four away games in Tasmania until 2028.

“They then get 12 games in Melbourne and play two interstate. Members would receive free KAYO (deals) and deals to travel to Tasmania.

“One game per year (would be) a blockbuster versus a BIG club with a full festival of football scheduled in Tasmania with (AFL) Commission/President’s meetings, media relocation and symposiums to generally show we love them and are building something fantastic.

“At the end North (would be) seen as a great contributor to the competition. They get as many games in their home city as every non-Victorian team and their future is assured.”

As if the other clubs would agree to that

Royal Flush

Feb 14, 2008
Brisbane
Looks like Mcguire is setting a near impossible mission to get a Tassie team.
Glenn McFarlane

3 min read

On Pixel 4a (5G) using BigFooty.com mobile app

Glenn McFarlane

3 min read

I read this article that we stay at selling 4 home games to Tassie but also have 4 away games scheduled there.

Only two interstate.

but I dont get this?

" They get as many games in their home city as every non-Victorian team and their future is assured.”

if we have 12 assured and assuming its 7/8 home or whatever it is , the a few away - surely thats more than interstaters?

I don't get it??

I like Eddie's call for Tassy Gov to put up or shut up. His call for us to be the breakthrough side is predictable enough.Not sure how any breakthrough club can build a following for 6 or so years and then step away for a new side to be established. Makes no sense.

I'm all for a Tasmanian team of course, but Eddie's vision for Tasmania requires North to babysit for 5 years and then reap zero benefit from it afterwards.

I can't see why we'd ever agree to it. As soon as the writing is on the wall that Tasmania is actually getting a team, we need to get straight out of there.

North1411

Mar 12, 2018
Did throw away your 18 in disgust?

No, never had one, but I did shed a tear when he left. Couldn't believe the captain of the club I loved could betray his mate and the club like that. What did you do, build a shrine, tell your mates that the biggest mistake North made was kicking him out, and that we should have told Stevens to lump it as he is the best player the club has ever had.

I suggest we let this drop, you love him because he played well for us and your happy to forgive all he did. I think he is a legend of the game, but a below average bloke. The most important thing in business and in life is that you surround yourself with good people. So he is no from me

Jul 27, 2006
adelaide
So Eddie is basing this on the 22 game season right? Before going to 20 games in 202

12 Melbourne games (7 of which are home games)

8 tassie games (4 home, 4 away)

2 interstate games

there would need to the significant financial incentive as well as some draft and zonal agreements for that period of time. Probably difficult to balance the zonal agreements when you’ve got a new franchise coming in

Oct 16, 2004
The Gasometer
Kangaroos
Glenn McFarlane

3 min read

So we hold the fort in Tassie for 6-7 years, other clubs give up home games to allow us to, we dilute out Melbourne support by playing here probably only 9-10 times a year, and then come back full time in 2028 handing anything we gained in Tassie to the new team?

Can we have Eddie back at the Pies? He seems to have way too much time on his hands.

El Triggso

Foremost authority and leading expert
Sep 26, 2013
Club cafe
Eddie, Feb 9:
“And with the indulgence of my media partners, I’m going to take a break for a little while to regroup and heal.”

You’ve had a tough go of things, so please take a little more time Eddie. No need to rush it.

CharlieMortdecai

Aug 17, 2009
I read this article that we stay at selling 4 home games to Tassie but also have 4 away games scheduled there.

Only two interstate.

but I dont get this?

" They get as many games in their home city as every non-Victorian team and their future is assured.”

if we have 12 assured and assuming its 7/8 home or whatever it is , the a few away - surely thats more than interstaters?

I don't get it??
12 in Melb
8 in Tassie
2 interstate.
Twelve in Melb is equivalent to SA/WA/NSW/QLD teams who get 11 home games plus an away Derby at home ground.

Dec 27, 2017
Glenn McFarlane

3 min read

F5AE4345-DCB8-4EF8-9337-04B4BFDF9EF2.gif

Mar 14, 2002
Gasometer Wing
Kangaroos
Looks like Mcguire is setting a near impossible mission to get a Tassie team.

Hey Royal

Do you think you could copy/paste Replies at the top of your Reply?

Just a thought to make your posts have a more of a ...

Apr 17, 2007
melb home of the kangas
hellas,liverpool,storm,au
He’s North blood for sure but at his core he’s a winner. Someone can’t be like the Duck and also a great clubman like Matthew Richardson, Luke Darcy, Billy Brownless etc.. their brains are different.

Carey has always been about himself - nothing will ever change that.
If there’s something in it for him , he’ll jump onboard