Expansion Eddie McGuire says Collingwood needs to play against Tasmania and Darwin teams by 2028

Aug 14, 2011
Trafalgar
Mclaren Mercedes F1
20 team league sounds great but playing footy in North Queensland and Darwin wouldn't be fun given the heat and slippery conditions at night

it sounds more like a way to push north out of melbourne

How would imposing North on Tas or the NT be a winner for the national comp ?

Is this the best solution for Vic footy Ed
OR
the best solution for the national comp ?

Aug 14, 2011
Trafalgar
Mclaren Mercedes F1
As Much As I want darwin in t the AFL, it wont happen. Only 200,000 live there.

I want Tassie and Canberra to get the 19th and 20th licenses.

Canberra Pear , you might see that canberra side in the AFL in 2028.

When do they footy in Darwin, not based on the southern coast winter.

Northern Territory Football League | AFL Northern Territory (aflnt.com.au)

The 2021 GF was played a few weeks back:
Nightcliff three-peat and PINT take out historic first premiership on NTFL grand final night - ABC News

Aug 4, 2003
WA
I’d also just like to point out, this is what happens when you take Collingwood off him...it’s like those few years after Sheedy got the arse at Essendon, before the senility truely took hold (and the AFL gave him GWS anyway).

No longer ‘in control’ of his own kingdom so throwing around this stream of consciousness bullshit and getting his mates to print it as news.

Eddie will be worse considering he produces his own TV show and can use that as a soapbox without worrying about his position as Collingwood president.

We all just have to pray to god he doesn’t end up in a position of power at the AFL....I reckon he’ll want a spot on the commission ASAP.

Sphynx

Jul 10, 2011
Tasmania doesn't make economic sense and Darwin makes even less sense. Both teams would be financial black holes with very little benefit as there is no room for growth in either market.

How would a Tasmanian side not be financially viable? Please back up your statement with some evidence other than just a sweeping population generalisation.

Are you talking about value from a TV rights perspective or are you talking about the club itself?

If you are talking about the club itself, I actually think it would be a powerhouse financially in a decade or so.

- No AFL club has the backing of a state government. None. They would receive $10m+ annually in sponsorship which would dwarf the biggest commercial sponsorship in the league.

- There is no single state/single club in the AFL at the moment, the last ones were Sydney, Brisbane, Adelaide and West Coast, all winning premierships when single teams of their home state.

- There's actually more than enough business' in Tasmania that would back a Tasmanian side.

- They have a completely clean stadium deal

- They have the population to turnover significant profits from attendances with a clean stadium deal.

- The closest comparison is Geelong with whom the local Government have poured $100m+ into a stadium because they are in a marginal political seat, which means they are now a financial powerhouse of the league now because of that government backing. A Tasmanian AFL side would be politically backed at every level.

- Player retention would be a different issue, however if the AFL set up a full academy down there for them and poured but a fraction of the money afforded NSW grassroots, I'm sure it would be sustainable when rebuilt.

- If anything A Tasmanian side would be like the anti-GWS/GC, the absolute furthest thing from a financial black hole. It would be completely underwritten by a state government, unlike the NRL scared state governments of metro Sydney and Brisbane/GC.

Please counter this with actual information.

Atomboy

Jan 22, 2007
Yes
I never understand the 'play everyone once fixes the fixture' thing.

Playing West Coast and Freo in Perth, is entirely different to playing them at home.

It doesn't fix anything at all. Playing everyone twice is the only way to fix it.

Obviously that can't happen, so the only other way is to randomly draw the fixture.

That would potentially cost the league and the big clubs squillions, so that will never happen either.

So a fair or equal fixture is just a white whale. Let it go. Can't happen.

You obviously rotate it every second year ??.

Atomboy

Jan 22, 2007
Yes
I was with him until he suggested 20 games for the year and 12 teams in finals. Ridiculous.

Top 8 works fine, and I hate those advocating for a shorter season.

Also the other thing that I think is stupid is playing games in America. If they want to watch our game, they can. We don't need to pointlessly chase eyeballs. The absolute last thing we need is to start changing the game to appease Americans, although it does feel like the supposed AFL powerbrokers are already desperate to emulate US sports as much as possible.

If Eddie wants a team to play extra games in Tassie for a few years, he should be volunteering Collingwood to do it. All well and good to throw someone elses club under the bus.

Why would it be a shorter season ?. It would be 200 games in a 20 team comp vs the 207 we currently have ?.

Spread it out over a longer period if you must which allows for more regular Thursday and Monday night game thereby driving more value for the TV rights.

Agree that 12 teams in the finals is daft.

Why should Tassie have to play in a domed stadium ?. If travelling teams are too soft to put up with the cold they can just forfeit. They play in bloody snow in the NFL for God’s sake.

If this does get some traction then you can be rest assured that the Saints will be “invited” by AFL HQ to fill the breach for the next 7 years.....

May 3, 2007
Parts Unknown
Man City, Valencia, Lazio, Panthers
Merchandise is huge for the big premier league clubs I remember reading after Beckham left Manchester United there revenue dropped considerable due to the amount of income in merchandise they lost with him being so popular around the globe
Just watching this tifo clip on youtube....

crazy to think Man United sold David Beckham for only 25 million pounds. To me and a lot of people, thats a Bargain... Should of been sold for at least 50 million pounds.

Yes it was Partly due to Becks Falling out with man uniteds coach with Alex Ferguson in 2003.

Real Madrid Knew what they were getting with Beckham in 2003. 1 year prior to that, the World cup was in Japan and South Korea. When Real Madrid Bought Beckham, their preseason games are not suprisingly in Asia. Around that Time Beckham was at Real Madrid in 2003-07, Guys Like Ronaldo, Roberto Carlos, Luis Figo and Zinedine Zedane was there too. All 4 of those blokes Sold shirts too.

Real Madrid didnt win many trophies from 2003-07 but they sold a lot of shirts luring those marquee players, the "Galaticos" as they say.

Mar 17, 2009
Hobart
Just watching this tifo clip on youtube....

crazy to think Man United sold David Beckham for only 25 million pounds. To me and a lot of people, thats a Bargain... Should of been sold for at least 50 million pounds.

Yes it was Partly due to Becks Falling out with man uniteds coach with Alex Ferguson in 2003.

Real Madrid Knew what they were getting with Beckham in 2003. 1 year prior to that, the World cup was in Japan and South Korea. When Real Madrid Bought Beckham, their preseason games are not suprisingly in Asia. Around that Time Beckham was at Real Madrid in 2003-07, Guys Like Ronaldo, Roberto Carlos, Luis Figo and Zinedine Zedane was there too. All 4 of those blokes Sold shirts too.

Real Madrid didnt win many trophies from 2003-07 but they sold a lot of shirts luring those marquee players, the "Galaticos" as they say.

Quite relevant, to something, I suppose. ;)

Nov 10, 2013
The Valley near the Alley
Gold Coast
Hell no
eh, why do we need 20 teams, just do 19. odd number of teams is fine and a bye each week rather than 3 weeks of byes mid year like now.
when doing the fixture, the AFL can schedule the team to have the bye in last round of the next year the wooden spooner from the year before as going from wooden spoon to finals is rare (if ever happened?) and the second last team has the bye in round 1.

9 games a week. tassie finally in. make season 18 games - play everyone once.

Aug 14, 2011
Trafalgar
Mclaren Mercedes F1
How would a Tasmanian side not be financially viable? Please back up your statement with some evidence other than just a sweeping population generalisation.

Are you talking about value from a TV rights perspective or are you talking about the club itself?

If you are talking about the club itself, I actually think it would be a powerhouse financially in a decade or so.

- No AFL club has the backing of a state government. None. They would receive $10m+ annually in sponsorship which would dwarf the biggest commercial sponsorship in the league.

- There is no single state/single club in the AFL at the moment, the last ones were Sydney, Brisbane, Adelaide and West Coast, all winning premierships when single teams of their home state.

- There's actually more than enough business' in Tasmania that would back a Tasmanian side.

- They have a completely clean stadium deal

- They have the population to turnover significant profits from attendances with a clean stadium deal.

- The closest comparison is Geelong with whom the local Government have poured $100m+ into a stadium because they are in a marginal political seat, which means they are now a financial powerhouse of the league now because of that government backing. A Tasmanian AFL side would be politically backed at every level.

- Player retention would be a different issue, however if the AFL set up a full academy down there for them and poured but a fraction of the money afforded NSW grassroots, I'm sure it would be sustainable when rebuilt.

- If anything A Tasmanian side would be like the anti-GWS/GC, the absolute furthest thing from a financial black hole. It would be completely underwritten by a state government, unlike the NRL scared state governments of metro Sydney and Brisbane/GC.

Please counter this with actual information.

The WA Govt beneficially owns both the Eagles & Dockers through the WAFC.

May 1, 2016
Bayern Munich, Tottenham Hotspur
With the money question aside... Isn't the talent pool problem solved by the fact that there would be two states with elite teams and the connections that go with them? That should theoretically improve talent coming out of the two states if done properly..

Then there's the other question about that argument which is whether there is actually a lack of "talent" or rather a case of a game that encourages the success of athletic ability over talent in the modern era? Meaning a lot of players skills and abilities aren't developed to their potential and draftees are picked up based on athletic merit rather than football talent. Perhaps it's a more complex issue than "there's not enough talent"?

BringBackTorps

Jan 5, 2017
GWS
SEN D. Russel program 8.4

E. Mc Guire expands, in 16 min. interview, on his Tas. 19th team comments.

He wants Tas. to have 1 stadium with a fully, covered domed roof( ...you don't want the wind blowing $200 kms an hour...it would cost a $b?") so it can host a range of big events- not just the occasional blockbuster Fri. night AFL games in pristine condition, but other non sport events.

(The Tas. team will be based in Hobart, but play in stadia in Hobart & Launnie- with the latter being the biggest (to cater for the large no. of Melb. footy tourists). 6/5 split, rotating each year).

He emphasises Tas. will need to be able to, eventually, produce 6 Draftees pa, to make it a valuable addition for the AFL. (CRUCIAL condition for AFL acceptance of a 19th team there).

(Scroll to 8.4- then go to "Interview With E. Mc Guire")

Hobart's rainfall is less than Melb., Launnie is higher. There is no need for a very expensive, domed stadium (30K capacity, cost $600m?).
The Fed. LNP govt. have indicated they will fund significant AFL infrastructure, but the Business Case did not seek a domed stadium.
There is no ROI, for c. 5-6 games pa.

Mc Guire shows his lack of political nous, by not understanding it would be political "death" for any Party in arguing to build such an expensive stadium. The tax payer must be protected.

Tas. will need to demonstrate it can provide 6 Draftees pa, on average- absolutely crucial to obtain AFL & Clubs' "nervous" agreement for a 19th team: "What can Tas. ADD to the AFL?".

Jun 11, 2007
Victoria
Bayern, Milan, Boston Celtics
Im onboard with the 20 teams, 19 rd fixture, top 12 finals and a Tas & NT team.
Particularly NT if you do/fund it right so it becomes an economic hub for the community.

Tas you gotta get over the Hobart/Launceston issue but i'm sure that's solvable by making one group happy and the other not.

i don't get the bonus showdown/derby/rivalry round?
They will happen in the normal course of the season.
Also, why bother with the US.

Jul 28, 2012
Melbourne, the lost City.
QPR, Buffalo Bills
20 teams is alright.

Where will the talent come from?

Tasmania is a must stand-alone team. Own identity, own colours and name

North Queensland? Population Cairns 168,000
Darwin? 157,000
Re-location of a team might be required and if we lose one will that be North? If so then look at WA or SA for the other team?
Any re-location will result in emotional turmoil?

19 Home and Away rounds only ( No 20th round for rivalries, blockbusters, that just compromises the whole fixture again).
190 games instead of 198

A final 12? Conferences? Extra Finals?

With Eddie's plan, each conference would then play using the McIntyre final six system with the winner of each conference playing in the AFL Grand Final.

According to Eddie, not only will the proposal see an added six finals matches, but it would "add to the integrity" of the game removing "dud" games that tend to occur in the back end of the season.

• Eddie's idea isn't a bad one, but people don't like change?
  • 19 Rounds is the key.

Somehow teams must play their quota of home games each year, you can still schedule blockbusters into the 19 round fixture, Anzac Day, Easter Monday and Indigenous round can remain, but no return match.

Whatever happens, tongues will be wagging and every fan will have their own view, but something's got to give in the next 5 or so years.