Umpiring Hawthorn Melbourne

Jul 13, 2015
When you’re second to the footy and play from behind you give away more free kicks. Simple.

We were up 4 goals to 2 at quarter time yet Melbourne had more than double the free kicks.

By 3 quarter time 2 goals (but 4 shots on goal) were from free kicks for Melbourne.

So despite kicking more goals we were consistently 2nd to the ball?

Richmond over the last 3 or 4 years have been well behind in free kicks. Are you suggesting over that period that have struggled to get the ball?

During our 3 peat we were 15th or 16th for free kicks. We struggled as well?

Or maybe is it more umpires are charitable and like to give a leg up to sad teams.

Topkent

Confirmed ITK Drafting King
Aug 29, 2010
Canada
Winnipeg Jets
Def costed us 1-2 goals, Lets now look for the reason for the other 8
If course and I'd argue the umpires stole atleast a goal off us when Pickett caught Hartigan HTB and they paid a high tackle after! But I've never ever blamed the umpires for a loss.

I mean I did actually think we had a good day with the umpires but I also thought we were the better side. Anyways good luck for the season. CJ 👌

During our 3 peat we were 15th or 16th for free kicks. We struggled as well?
Which bit was wrong?

In the last 8 years the 2 most successful clubs have had poor free kick counts.
Have you made this up? Just had a quick look and 2 of you 3 premiership seasons had more free kicks given to you than against you.

2013 -3
2014 +11
2015 +18

Hardly think that’s ranked 15th or 16th on the free kick ladder.

flyinghi64

Dec 7, 2006
perth
Perth Scorchers
Didnt actually watch the game but there has been a bit of trend this year where the umpiring in certain games has been a little one sided. Mainly with a certain rule or rules been paid one way but not another. Biggest problem is one umpire will pay it but not the other umpire.

Topkent

Aug 29, 2010
Canada
Winnipeg Jets
Didnt actually watch the game but there has been a bit of trend this year where the umpiring in certain games has been a little one sided. Mainly with a certain rule or rules been paid one way but not another. Biggest problem is one umpire will pay it but not the other umpire.
No there hasn't.
This is what dumb people use when they don't understand sport.

May 29, 2008
Golden State, New York Jets
It was interesting to watch.

More fun will be watching the rats deserting once your season ends in a few months.

Lol! So, so bitter. That would be the only potential enjoyment you could get from this season though. Probably gonna be on the couch every weekend before a Dee's game, with Doritos in hand, gee-ing yourself up at the prospect of a Melbourne loss. Then you can come in and tell us all about how we're pretenders so you can feel some sort of hollow vindication and maybe get a couple of cheap laugh emojis on your post :$ I don't blame you to be honest...all of that actually sounds like a much better use of your time than having to watch the pit of despair which is the Hawthorn Footy Club at the moment.

Topkent

Aug 29, 2010
Canada
Winnipeg Jets
Which bit was wrong?

In the last 8 years the 2 most successful clubs have had poor free kick counts.

Yet apparently free kicks go to the better teams.

Doesnt quite add up.

Dogs long before their flag were getting heaps of frees.
You're absolutely insane lol.

Jul 13, 2015
Have you made this up? Just had a quick look and 2 of you 3 premiership seasons had more free kicks given to you than against you.

2013 -3
2014 +11
2015 +18

Hardly think that’s ranked 15th or 16th on the free kick ladder.

Ah maybe it was a wider range than that. 2010 to 2016 or one of those.

We were majorly negative during a long period of time. And continue to be.

Richmond are also majorly negative during their successful period.

Which really was my point on the claim that the team 1st to the ball gets the free kicks.

GatesOfHell

Oct 19, 2019
Ah maybe it was a wider range than that. 2010 to 2016 or one of those.

We were majorly negative during a long period of time. And continue to be.

Richmond are also majorly negative during their successful period.

Which really was my point on the claim that the team 1st to the ball gets the free kicks.

Watched the replay. We dominated you in the air, dominated you in the ruck and generally speaking had players who reacted quicker and got to contests first at critical moments. Hawthorn plenty of chopping of arms, poorly executed tackles and confused overuse of the footy leading to holding the ball decisions.

No poor umpiring, just a poor performance by a club anchored to the bottom of the ladder who couldn’t cope against one sitting near the top.

Your mob are in a world of pain with that list and worst still with a deluded coach who thinks he can keep taking down the casino when the odds (equalisation) are stacked against you. I’d be more concerned with that than miserably pining for Melbourne’s failure. Your club is on a road to nowhere.

Jul 13, 2015
Watched the replay. We dominated you in the air, dominated you in the ruck and generally speaking had players who reacted quicker and got to contests first at critical moments. Hawthorn plenty of chopping of arms, poorly executed tackles and confused overuse of the footy leading to holding the ball decisions.

No poor umpiring, just a poor performance by a club anchored to the bottom of the ladder who couldn’t cope against one sitting near the top.

Your mob are in a world of pain with that list and worst still with a deluded coach who thinks he can keep taking down the casino when the odds (equalisation) are stacked against you. I’d be more concerned with that than miserably pining for Melbourne’s failure. Your club is on a road to nowhere.

Did you see the times when we tackled in the back and gave away free kicks and when we got tackled in the back there was no call or holding the ball?

When we made contact below the knees we gave away frees but when we had contact below the knees no call?

When we infringed forwards they got frees, when our forwards got infringed we got none?

Did you hear the commentators mentioning this? I assume they werent all Hawthorn supporters.

GatesOfHell

Oct 19, 2019
Did you see the times when we tackled in the back and gave away free kicks and when we got tackled in the back there was no call or holding the ball?

When we made contact below the knees we gave away frees but when we had contact below the knees no call?

When we infringed forwards they got frees, when our forwards got infringed we got none?

Did you hear the commentators mentioning this? I assume they werent all Hawthorn supporters.

5C530D16-8CB7-41E1-8F61-A9E67D8F3BC3.png

Aug 11, 2006
Timberwolves, Crystal Palace
If course and I'd argue the umpires stole atleast a goal off us when Pickett caught Hartigan HTB and they paid a high tackle after! But I've never ever blamed the umpires for a loss.

I mean I did actually think we had a good day with the umpires but I also thought we were the better side. Anyways good luck for the season. CJ 👌
Completely, Felt like we were pushing against the tide most of the game and eventually we stopped playing as hard and Melbourne kicked into another gear.

We've had worse umpired games this season, Why point it out in a flogging we were lucky to keep competive for 3 quarters?

FastLane

Jul 15, 2012
club tropicana
#TEAMWHAM
I can agree with this.

It didnt affect the result. But it did affect the look of the game. But we have been smashed by the umpires in 4 of our 5 games this year.

Makes the wins all the more sweet.
You were reamed against Cats

Topkent

Aug 29, 2010
Canada
Winnipeg Jets
Completely, Felt like we were pushing against the tide most of the game and eventually we stopped playing as hard and Melbourne kicked into another gear.

We've had worse umpired games this season, Why point it out in a flogging we were lucky to keep competive for 3 quarters?
I dunno mate, I'd think after seeing 4 flags in 7 years and 3 in a row you'd be pretty calm about footy but who knows. Guess nutters Barrack for everyone

Aug 25, 2005
Grogansville
Gold Coast
Maybe the umpire was distracted by Pig's ruthless and steely determination to get the ball? That was wonderful, desperate, game-changing stuff from Pig- moments like that are why you and I watch footy in the first place. You can't blame the umpire for getting caught up in the spectacle of it. Brilliant stuff.
Could be the worst post I've ever read.

If umpires are getting caught up in the spectacle, then the situation is even more dire than I thought.

BDM15

Draftee
Mar 1, 2016
I thought we had a good run at the game, and re-watched it and have to say thought majority were given correctly. Think we tend to think it's unfair when the ledger looks one-sided but having supported a team who was second to the ball for 15 years and always giving away free-kicks if they are there, they need to give them.
I thought Wingard's was a free watching on the scoreboard, but you are entitled to take out a players legs if you are smothering the ball & as Wingard falls he is clearly trying to toe-poke the ball through. I wouldn't complain if it was given the other way, real 50/50 but technically the correct decision IMO.

Jun 7, 2007
Tottenham Hotspur
Thought a lot of the 50/50's went against but that happens to a couple of teams most weeks.

Really poor decisions like missing Pickett jumping all over Jiath's back and not get close to the ball i think then magnifies those 50/50s going against you and makes some supporters feel that the umpiring is biased

Hard to cry about umpires when you lose by 8 goals though. Plenty of other issues to worry about