News Jack Dyer Stand may go in $60m Punt Road Oval redevelopment

View attachment 1108252

Not a corporate logo in site and will better accommodate not just the playing groups, but also patrons who want to watch games at the ground as well as the administrative side of the club.
It would be plastered with corporate logos and look shite .
It already looks tacky and full of corporate boxes for the rich.

Not ideal, that's for sure, but I guess it can only improve once most cars on the road are electric.

I can't find the dimensions for Punt Rd, but I do vaguely remember a similar discussion back in the late 90's where someone said that the ground is so small that it would cost a mint to expand to 'G size because the facilities would have to go to accommodate it.
Punt Road dimensions 159 x 124m
MCG dimensions 173.6 x 148.4 playing surface is 160 x 141m

Effectively 24m shorter and 24m narrower, amazing how we can play the MCG so well when our training ground is so different in size.

Sad that it's come to this really.
They should have consulted widely before the plans were drafted in the first place.
They knew full well there would be major objections but tried to ram it through for vested interests.

It would be plastered with corporate logos and look sh*te .
It already looks tacky .
Looks better than the run down unusable wreck that is standing there now.

Sad that it's come to this really.
They should have consulted widely before the plans were drafted.
They knew full well there would be major objections but tried to ram it through for vested interests.
They did

you are not getting an MCG sized training ground at PRO ever, nor is there need for one as our current GOAT team have shown.

that is a red herring imo. If the JDS demolished, a building replaces it, not turf.

Problem currently is that people think we are going to have 100k members and play in Grand Finals every year from now on.
As much as we all wish, it won't last.

There is a danger here of a Legend's Stand-style white elephant imo.
Modern facilities are what keep the best clubs up the top
It’s not a coincidence that our club started to improve when the facilities were upgraded

Its smart that the club is trying to invest in the future now instead of falling behind again like in the 90’s

I reckon it looks great. It's a classic looking grandstand where people cheered for Jack Dyer.
So the stand remains, the club outgrows Punt Road and is forced out to the south east like Cranbourne or out west past Bacchus Marsh or up north past Kalkallo where the only real big parcels of land are available to build a new facility, which is going to cost a lot more than the $60m it is expected to cost to rebuild the stand/ground where we are now.

Then what, the Richmond Football Club, which proudly remains as one of the few clubs at it's original ground are relocated to an area which makes it difficult for fans to attend to watch VFL AFLW VFLW, AFL training during finals. One of the great joys about having our VFL ground a few hundred yards from the MCG is the ability to attend VFL games beforehand and then wandering over to watch the senior side play.

The Jack Dyer Stand has served it purpose and the new stand will allow the clubs to secure it's future in the heartland of Richmond right next door to the MCG where future generations of Richmond faithful will be able to gather and watch the club.

you are not getting an MCG sized training ground at PRO ever, nor is there need for one as our current GOAT team have shown.

that is a red herring imo. If the JDS demolished, a building replaces it, not turf.

Problem currently is that people think we are going to have 100k members and play in Grand Finals every year from now on.

It's okay when we are unsuccessful and go back to one admin staff in one office we can hire out the new buildings for post apocalyptic thriller sets. Cause they'll be all dusty and full of mites and rats and stuff.

So the stand remains, the club outgrows Punt Road and is forced out to the south east like Cranbourne or out west past Bacchus Marsh or up north past Kalkallo where the only real big parcels of land are available to build a new facility, which is going to cost a lot more than the $60m it is expected to cost to rebuild the stand/ground where we are now.

Then what, the Richmond Football Club, which proudly remains as one of the few clubs at it's original ground are relocated to an area which makes it difficult for fans to attend to watch VFL AFLW VFLW, AFL training during finals. One of the great joys about having our VFL ground a few hundred yards from the MCG is the ability to attend VFL games beforehand and then wandering over to watch the senior side play.

The Jack Dyer Stand has served it purpose and the new stand will allow the clubs to secure it's future in the heartland of Richmond right next door to the MCG where future generations of Richmond faithful will be able to gather and watch the club.
We don't have to move just because of the grandstand.
There are other solutions.

Don't be a liar.
They didn't consult with heritage experts in the first place, the National Trust.
Punt Road Oval is part of a heritage sports precinct.
Two wrongs don't make a right.
If they had consulted properly, all of this rigmarole could have been avoided.

We don't have to move just because of the grandstand.
There are other solutions.
What are the other solutions?

We have a training facility that doesn't cater for the womens teams.
We don't have adequate changerooms for opposition sides to use when game are played at Punt Road.
We don't have enough office space to house all the off field staff plus the KGI.
If we can't fit them all in then either the club stops expanding or it is forced to move elsewhere to accommodate the off field side of the game and also fully utilise the facilities for training purposes.

That's not correct. The masterplan is for an MCG sized arena. And it has to be skewed to the north west due to Punt Rd and the MCC lease.

Haere Ra

We don't have adequate changerooms for opposition sides to use when game are played at Punt Road.
We don't have enough office space to house all the off field staff plus the KGI.
If we can't fit them all in then either the club stops expanding or it is forced to move elsewhere to accommodate the off field side of the game and also fully utilise the facilities for training purposes.
and the bachar houli academy

We'll have to have another location in the future anyway.
We could make a special request to buy some parkland next door.

I suspect this is the major issue.

Not sure it would be possible to retain the stand and squeeze a playing surface the size of the G into the space between the stand, Punt Rd., and Brunton Ave.

Personally, I like these old stands and would like the Jack Dyer Stand to stay, but also want the club to do everything possible to ensure future success.

These problems are always open to solution but only if you throw enough money at it so it's ultimately a question of how much are people prepared to spend.
For what it's worth, I used Google earth images to cut and paste the playing surface of the G over the playing surface of Punt Rd Oval.

It gives an idea of the problem we're facing.

I turned the G surface into a grey "blob" so it can be easily seen. It was a bit hard to see otherwise.

View attachment 1107785

Yep, that picture says it all, the stand going is the only way to fit in the ground dimensions we really need.

Personally, I know this may sound weird to some, but I think the turf itself - grown over the blood and sweat of generations of Richmond men - is way more sacred than the stand.

We have to do all we can to make Punt Rd our much improved training base and home forever.

Punt Road dimensions 159 x 124m
MCG dimensions 173.6 x 148.4 playing surface is 160 x 141m

Effectively 24m shorter and 24m narrower, amazing how we can play the MCG so well when our training ground is so different in size.

Nice work mate, I went down the rabbit hole a fair way and couldn't find that info. :thumbsu:

It'll be a huge advantage into the future to train on the same size ground we play on. We've been saying it for decades and it's time to make it happen. :richmond:

Why do you have to 'tear it down' , it sounds like your enjoying it.
Jack Dyers ghost is not happy.
Jack Dyer’s family gave the green light to it. It is is misrepresenting the greatest figure in the club’s history to suggest he would want the stand to remain in the way of the club’s development.
Jack’s legacy isn’t a stand, a statue or a medal. His legacy is the club itself. Sticking doing the same old things when it was obvious the game was moving ahead of that put the club back decades. All clubs are pumping money into developing incredible training facilities. We need to do the same or we risk repeating the same mistakes of the 80s.
That would definitely make Jack unhappy.

Thank god wiser heads may prevail over the bulldozer brigade. Incredibly significant structure, to the club and to the Yarra Park/Richmond community. And what justification to it's removal? Creative architecture all that is required to have a wonderful blend of the old and new at PRO, there is oodles of space as I have shown with maps posted previously.

We already see the furphy 'It goes or we go' getting rolled out in response...as if any club would leave the greatest real estate in football because the offices are getting cramped..cram in together and enjoy it, the club won't always be this big and successful, we will shrink again when we inevitably fall down the table. That's football, boom and bust.

Finally, the fact that we have been a GOAT side the last 4 years with a training ground that is a mash-up of the MCG and Kardinia Park ground shapes puts paid to that argument too.

I just don't see a foothold for the demolishonists on this one.
Bump.

repost the maps please. People need to keep seeing what is possible. Too many believe the hype that it’s not possible.

We'll have to have another location in the future anyway.
We could make a special request to buy some parkland next door.

GC will win the 2021 flag before this happens

The MCC only administers the park, its ultimately owned by the govt. There is already a massive push to ban cars 100% from Yarra Park, and the Dees proposal to take a corner didnt even get past the thought bubble stage. If the MCC were drunk enough to even consider the request, the Greens and the council would be getting the State to intervene before you can say boo.

So the land we have is what we have

I reckon it looks great. It's a classic looking grandstand where people cheered for Jack Dyer.

and thats all its good for, looking at

its condemned and uninsurable, so we cannot have people working inside it.

its condemned and uninsurable, so we can only have 30 punters on it.

whats the ******* point of a grand stand for 30 people???