Footy Developments in NSW and Queensland

Pippen94

Jun 12, 2019
The AFL Commission members are currently putting both hands to their mouths, suppressing an uncontrollable laugh.
SMH A. Proszenko & A. Pengilly 9.4.21

Proszenko said, re the blowouts & lack of competitiveness of many NRL teams, & views of NRL Premiership coach W. Ryan

"...because there aren't enough good players to spread across the comp.. He [Ryan] puts it down to promising play makers leaving the junior ranks because they can't compete with kids who physically develop quicker in their cohort".

Ryan said

"Good halfbacks are as rare as rocking horse sh*t...When not enough people are playing the game, it's felt at the top. If there are more good players because the base is broader, you wouldn't see these discrepancies in standard".

The collapse in male contact RL nos. in Greater Sydney, in the Gold Coast-Greater Brisbane- Sunshine Coast corridor, ACT, many rural & regional areas in NSW & Qld. is a severe threat to the future of the NRL; & its ability to expand beyond 16 teams (without causing far more dilution of skills).

NRL not going anywhere. Keep dreaming

NoobPie

Sep 21, 2016
NRL not going anywhere. Keep dreaming

No one is suggesting it is "going anywhere", just that it is in slow long term decline relative to the afl......and for a competition that more often than not is giving out grand final tickets, having 3 of them and a contrived conference system is just going to accelerate it said decline

Apr 12, 2012
GWS
No one is suggesting it is "going anywhere", just that it is in slow long term decline relative to the afl......and for a competition that more often than not is giving out grand final tickets, having 3 of them and a contrived conference system is just going to accelerate it said decline

The fool knows that he is just carrying on like his usual self.

Pippen94

Jun 12, 2019

Fox numbers probably at highest point ever for NRL & imagine same for kayo & streaming.
In past few years NRL has been more profitable than any other time.
You can keep kidding yourself but game is getting bigger

NoobPie

Sep 21, 2016
Fox numbers probably at highest point ever for NRL & imagine same for kayo & streaming.

Nrl has had a patch of "getting bigger" at the same time as the AFL has continued 3 decades of continuous growth at a greater rate. And the pandemic has seen it sign a tv deal that means it will get less money in 2027 than it did in 2018.

it has nothing on the AFL except more aggressively chasing the gambling dollar.

Jul 2, 2010

Until we see it somewhere other than tv....i dont believe you.

May 13, 2012
GWS
Brumbies, Socceroos
I would piss myself laughing if the NRL introduce a conference system.
Of all the ideas the ignorant key board warriors throw out there, conferences in Australian sport is pretty much top of the pile when it comes to dumbass ideas.
Personally, I would love to see the NRL do it, but would they really be that silly?
I mean seriously, they are still debating a 2nd Brisbane team!
They are trailblazers!

May 13, 2012
GWS
Brumbies, Socceroos
Nrl has had a patch of "getting bigger" at the same time as the AFL has continued 3 decades of continuous growth at a greater rate. And the pandemic has seen it sign a tv deal that means it will get less money in 2027 than it did in 2018.

You have to have a good laugh.
Let us accept that the NRL are getting best ever ratings on Foxtel, maybe they are.
And yet St Peter managed to negotiate a lower price than what they were getting years ago?
Not just that, a huge extension out into the future!
This is a genius at work!
Bringing home the bacon!

Pippen94

Jun 12, 2019

It's not sinking millions into propping up expansion teams which will never be more than niche at best

Pippen94

Jun 12, 2019
I would piss myself laughing if the NRL introduce a conference system.
Of all the ideas the ignorant key board warriors throw out there, conferences in Australian sport is pretty much top of the pile when it comes to dumbass ideas.
Personally, I would love to see the NRL do it, but would they really be that silly?
I mean seriously, they are still debating a 2nd Brisbane team!
They are trailblazers!

You're the first to complain about lack of coverage afl gets in Sydney. Careful what you wish for because Sydney conference won't leave much oxygen for anything else.
All qld teams in same conference will impact that state as well

Apr 12, 2012
GWS
It's not sinking millions into propping up expansion teams which will never be more than niche at best

Point on the bear where the naughty Aussie Rules touched you.
IMG_2081.jpg

Pippen94

Jun 12, 2019
Until we see it somewhere other than tv....i dont believe you.

What's the best indication of wide spread interest?! Teams may claim 50k members yet never get that many viewers or they play in an empty stadium each week. Swans chairman can admit it why can't you?!

Jul 2, 2010
What's the best indication of wide spread interest?!
Teams may claim 50k members yet never get that many viewers or they play in an empty stadium each week. Swans chairman can admit it why can't you?!

Im not Andrew Pridham begging for more attention from the AFL again and playing the fear card to get it. He does this s**t all the time.

Jul 2, 2010
You're the first to complain about lack of coverage afl gets in Sydney. Careful what you wish for because Sydney conference won't leave much oxygen for anything else.
All qld teams in same conference will impact that state as well

Not unless theres a dramaticly different approach to media rights than we have now.

The NRL literally took ownership and ran the Gold Coast Titans and Newcastle. And sank millions a year in the Storm. And it doesnt have millions to prop up anything.

Not unless theres a dramaticly different approach to media rights than we have now.

The NRL literally took ownership and ran the Gold Coast Titans and Newcastle. And sank millions a year in the Storm. And it doesnt have millions to prop up anything.

Add in the fact that they can't afford to create a club in Adelaide & Perth in the distant-moderate future as well shows how more bigger Australian Rules Football is compared to Rugby League, on a national stage in broadcasting/crowd/competition/financial support revenue basis and the AFL can still grow more in NSW & QLD as well compared to the NRL.

I feel like the NRL is just pretty much a merged NSW/QLD-centric competition with the odd spot or two going to other cities around the country unlike the AFL in which they strive to become a national competition, as best as they can in a business sense.

I think the sport of rugby league will become smaller and smaller popularity until it possibly dies from financial losses in the league if they don't expand the league at a national level in the future and/or also stamp out those dangerous tackles in the game given the concussion & CTE research being conducted in the past 5-10 years with players receiving compensation for their concussion issues.

The AFL anyhow will keep adding more adding more teams in NSW/QLD in the future and I reckon we will see the AFL become the premier national sporting league in the next 40-50 years IMO while the NRL will shrink into a minority NSW & QLD competition, especially if conferences happens in the NRL in the distant future.

Pippen94

Jun 12, 2019
Add in the fact that they can't afford to create a club in Adelaide & Perth in the distant-moderate future as well shows how more bigger Australian Rules Football is compared to Rugby League, on a national stage in broadcasting/crowd/competition/financial support revenue basis and the AFL can still grow more in NSW & QLD as well compared to the NRL.

I feel like the NRL is just pretty much a merged NSW/QLD-centric competition with the odd spot or two going to other cities around the country unlike the AFL in which they strive to become a national competition, as best as they can in a business sense.

I think the sport of rugby league will become smaller and smaller popularity until it possibly dies from financial losses in the league if they don't expand the league at a national level in the future and/or also stamp out those dangerous tackles in the game given the concussion & CTE research being conducted in the past 5-10 years with players receiving compensation for their concussion issues.

The AFL anyhow will keep adding more adding more teams in NSW/QLD in the future and I reckon we will see the AFL become the premier national sporting league in the next 40-50 years IMO while the NRL will shrink into a minority NSW & QLD competition, especially if conferences happens in the NRL in the distant future.

You know afl is a dangerous contact sport?! Women's afl has emerged in recent years & that version has 3 times the concussion rate of the men's. If afl have settled with the many ex players with brain related injures I haven't heard about it.

AFL is spending an unprecedented amount on expansion teams because it has to. No other sporting body in the world can match what afl is chalking up. The approach is high risk but the sport can only claim a heartland area of half the country in terms of population & the other half is growing much faster. It's expand or die.
Looking at the FTA numbers in Sydney the hundreds of millions spent have had little impact

Mar 24, 2017
Blackburn
Box Hill Hawks
A simple search of competitions/teams/numbers of AF v RL in NSW and Qld tells us that the introduction of second teams has had a huge impact. And unlike soccer, adults are playing AF in those states in huge numbers. I would have preferred Tassie got a gig instead, but you cannot argue with participation numbers.

NoobPie

Sep 21, 2016

So "getting bigger" means not getting bigger?

The fact the AFL can invest in perpetuity into expansion clubs is precisely why it will continue to progressively deepen its footprint in NSW and QLD - as it clearly has done across all metrics

Ironically tonight, after the 10 year old expansion teams rolled big heartland clubs on their own decks, you could flick between two games with solidly filled stadiums in Sydney and Brisbane. There were comfortably more people at the Swans game than A League's biggest marquee match at the same time. And several times more people would have been watching the game in Sydney on TV than the A League derby nationally

You can keep deluding yourself and putting yourself through this absurd masochism but all you are doing is embarrassing yourself

Pippen94

Jun 12, 2019
So "getting bigger" means not getting bigger?

The fact the AFL can invest in perpetuity into expansion clubs is precisely why it will continue to progressively deepen its footprint in NSW and QLD - as it clearly has done across all metrics

Ironically tonight, after the 10 year old expansion teams rolled big heartland clubs on their own decks, you could flick between two games with solidly filled stadiums in Sydney and Brisbane. There were comfortably more people at the Swans game than A League's biggest marquee match at the same time. And several times more people would have been watching the game in Sydney on TV than the A League derby nationally

You can keep deluding yourself and putting yourself through this absurd masochism but all you are doing is embarrassing yourself

Keep bringing up stuff I never mentioned but anyway...

Live crowds are misleading because afl has larger culture of attending games. Swan's chairman says himself that fans mistake this for widespread support.

Pumping millions into expansion doesn't equal growth. Fact this continues after more than a decade says the opposite.

NRL dominates the most viewed games in the country this year. If that's a sign of declining where does that leave afl?!

NoobPie

Sep 21, 2016
Keep bringing up stuff I never mentioned but anyway...

Live crowds are misleading because afl has larger culture of attending games. Swan's chairman says himself that fans mistake this for widespread support.

Pumping millions into expansion doesn't equal growth. Fact this continues after more than a decade says the opposite.

NRL dominates the most viewed games in the country this year. If that's a sign of declining where does that leave afl?!

Whaaat? To my knowledge, the Nrl has not beaten the AFL head to head once on a Thursday or Friday night this year. And thats comparing an average of a 3 hour AFL game with a 2 hour Nrl game.

Nrl gets better Foxtel numbers because you can only watch 5 games each week on Foxtel, and none are overlapping ....

They have also locked in an 8 year contract when they were bent over during Covid at the same time as the metro FTA numbers are really weak. (On Thursday it got beaten by the front bar)

Last night there would have been over 1 million people watching the AFL on FTA or Foxtel box. There may well have been more people watching the AFL than watching the Nrl.

Pippen94

Jun 12, 2019
Whaaat? To my knowledge, the Nrl has not beaten the AFL head to head once on a Thursday or Friday night this year. And thats comparing an average of a 3 hour AFL game with a 2 hour Nrl game.

Nrl gets better Foxtel numbers because you can only watch 5 games each week on Foxtel, and none are overlapping ....

They have also locked in an 8 year contract when they were bent over during Covid at the same time as the metro FTA numbers are really weak. (On Thursday it got beaten by the front bar)

Last night there would have been over 1 million people watching the AFL on FTA or Foxtel box. There may well have been more people watching the AFL than watching the Nrl.

That's not true unless you exclude regionals, fox & whatever else. Report all the numbers.

Not all afl games overlap & NRL does higher fox numbers for individual games, so that's false too.

Don't know what swan's live crowd have to do with growth of NRL but afl crowds have been bigger than NRL for 25 years & yet tv viewership hasn't moved. Seems live crowds have nothing to do with growth of afl either... Just like Chairman said

NoobPie

Sep 21, 2016
That's not true unless you exclude regionals, fox & whatever else. Report all the numbers.

It is based on all the numbers.

Here is last friday as an example (full numbers for this Friday not out yet

Total average over three hours for a small melbourne club versus the expansion club that is feeding on your psyche - 887K

Total average over two hours for potentially the two most supported league teams - 740K

Not all afl games overlap & NRL does higher fox numbers for individual games, so that's false too.

Didn't say all games overlap. But on Saturday's more often than not there are 15 hours of AFL on over 9 hours and only rarely is there a game on that is either overlapping or on FTA in at least one market.

Using last Saturday as an example,

The AFL essentially averaged over 200K of foxtel box from 145ish to 10 30ish in addition to pulling 580K FTA on Saturday night and 150K in the arvo.

Meanwhile the NRL 259K and 273K for 6pm and 8pm games. That's it.

For the 8pm game, when the NRL had 273K watching on foxtel there were 265K watching AFL games on foxtel and a further 580K watching on FTA

Don't know what swan's live crowd have to do with growth of NRL but afl crowds have been bigger than NRL for 25 years & yet tv viewership hasn't moved. Seems live crowds have nothing to do with growth of afl either... Just like Chairman said

THe Swans have more attendees, more members, far more players from Sydney and surrounds, far more participants etc etc etc.

All you have is Pridham's political positioning to fall back on? Nothing more.

Pippen94

Jun 12, 2019
It is based on all the numbers.

Here is last friday as an example (full numbers for this Friday not out yet

Total average over three hours for a small melbourne club versus the expansion club that is feeding on your psyche - 887K

Total average over two hours for potentially the two most supported league teams - 740K

Didn't say all games overlap. But on Saturday's more often than not there are 15 hours of AFL on over 9 hours and only rarely is there a game on that is either overlapping or on FTA in at least one market.

Using last Saturday as an example,

The AFL essentially averaged over 200K of foxtel box from 145ish to 10 30ish in addition to pulling 580K FTA on Saturday night and 150K in the arvo.

Meanwhile the NRL 259K and 273K for 6pm and 8pm games. That's it.

For the 8pm game, when the NRL had 273K watching on foxtel there were 265K watching AFL games on foxtel and a further 580K watching on FTA

THe Swans have more attendees, more members, far more players from Sydney and surrounds, far more participants etc etc etc.

All you have is Pridham's political positioning to fall back on? Nothing more.

If you count regionals, fox etc you can't say an NRL game hasn't beaten an afl game head to head this year.

Sunday avro NRL game is shown live on FTA yet still does bigger fox number than afl games. NRL owns fox & probably kayo, streaming etc.

Swan's have always had bigger live crowds & members (whatever criteria they use to count them). As far as more local juniors playing for them than NRL teams is utter bulls...
Still has nothing with NRL's growth & AFL's inability to capture Sydney TV market.