Bumped Random Chat - I want BBQ

Arts looks like a sick degree, so much fun.
But given the current university landscape, the government are making maths and science degrees cheap and arts degrees expensive. University should be for further education, not just walk in, get qualified, get out. If uni was free like it was in the 80's I'd be all over an arts degree, but paying 20k a year to learn is a ******* joke. Australian uni's should adapt to a more American style minus the exuberant debt and idiocy associated with their culture. More like Melbourne uni where you do a general first year and then specialise into a course, except that's for geniuses and Chinese students.

Brisket, coleslaw, pickles & bbq sauce burgers
4af797a63645446efa32c62f6b2b7fb8.jpg
3ac36229e51af8077ac67e474cf090d1.jpg

Sent from my SM-G981B using Tapatalk

But given the current university landscape, the government are making maths and science degrees cheap and arts degrees expensive. University should be for further education, not just walk in, get qualified, get out. If uni was free like it was in the 80's I'd be all over an arts degree, but paying 20k a year to learn is a ******* joke. Australian uni's should adapt to a more American style minus the exuberant debt and idiocy associated with their culture. More like Melbourne uni where you do a general first year and then specialise into a course, except that's for geniuses and Chinese students.
For some reason I’m still thinking about this.

Whatever you do, study something that intrigues you. I enjoyed uni - I’d want to because I’ve gone back to the well more than three times. But I’m a horrible worker if I’m uninterested in the topic. So think in terms of what you can get enthusiastic about. Otherwise it’s too hard for anyone but a robot. Pick something you enjoy and you can look forward to being a tedious campaigner who craps on about their uni days, and those are character roles worth playing

The government funding of degrees is a whole can of worms I have a strong opinion on... centred on the fact killing CSP caps on courses to control supply and demand was a disaster.... all because the govt (all sides) see funding the ARC as a waste. The recent changes are also messed up, in a whole new way.

That said, I don't like the American model. Forcing 1/4 breadth classes is a waste of money. 3 years is plenty to find yourself in a single degree... if your degree isn't for you that's why people transfer. It punishes people who know what they want to do by making them pay post grad fees for what can be done as an undergrad. Benefits the uni, not the student. Melb Uni went that way because they make.more.cash

The government funding of degrees is a whole can of worms I have a strong opinion on... centred on the fact killing CSP caps on courses to control supply and demand was a disaster.... all because the govt (all sides) see funding the ARC as a waste. The recent changes are also messed up, in a whole new way.

That said, I don't like the American model. Forcing 1/4 breadth classes is a waste of money. 3 years is plenty to find yourself in a single degree... if your degree isn't for you that's why people transfer. It punishes people who know what they want to do by making them pay post grad fees for what can be done as an undergrad. Benefits the uni, not the student. Melb Uni went that way because they make.more.cash
Yeah my partner got ****ed over by Melb uni changing their structure halfway through her degree and heaps of folks in my undergrad law courses at ANU were cause Melb axed undergrad law. I kinda see the appeal for the uni, but as a student the restrictions seem very annoying and unnecessary.

Are we still the incredibly pessimistic Dees supporters around here?
The question should be ‘are we Dees supporters?’

You now automatically have the answer to the first part of your original question.

There's a million different career paths to financial success/career satisfaction. And an Arts degree is definitely one of them- teaching and public service obviously, but any industry where creative or critical thinking is involved is going to value an Arts degree.

You could do a lot worse than spending a couple of years investing in an interest like history or politics or whatever while you figure out what you want in life.

WTF ever happened to LARS? completely gone from any conversation after someone does their ACL. Wonder what % of players re did it or ended up with other injuries from it compared to the normal way

I was thinking this yesterday

From memory the few players who went down the LARS path ended up doing their knees again

I was literally wondering about this today

I was thinking this yesterday

From memory the few players who went down the LARS path ended up doing their knees again

Dr Broe haha sick name. * I dont know if I knew I'd be back for September and a chance at a flag I'd do it then just get the normal way done straight after and try be back for end of next year😅 I clearly know zero about how itd work. But man a shot at a flag

Dr Broe haha sick name. fu** I dont know if I knew I'd be back for September and a chance at a flag I'd do it then just get the normal way done straight after and try be back for end of next year😅 I clearly know zero about how itd work. But man a shot at a flag
Wouldn't it mean a lifetime of knee pain tho. That's not worth

Dr Broe haha sick name. fu** I dont know if I knew I'd be back for September and a chance at a flag I'd do it then just get the normal way done straight after and try be back for end of next year😅 I clearly know zero about how itd work. But man a shot at a flag
From reading that I reckon you probably need to factor age / sporting type versus future risk.

Olympians going for gold - only comes up every 4 years. Footballer is different - make the choice to go Lars and it could adversely impact your future opportunities beyond just the one year (reoccurrence, risks of swelling/infection around the artificial acl implant, reinjury well possible, life issues with synthetic bits sort of swanning around your knee etc).

I admit first thing I thought looking at Adam so devastated was whether he had options to pursue this miracle fast track thingy

I've got a lifetime of back pain, shoulder pain from my job and I'd never get the chance to be a hero😅 plus I reckon nearly every player who leaves the game would have some sort of life time pain somewhere. rather it not be missing a flag
Yeah would be nice to have a choice.

It’s great for average Joe’s - those people who need to be back on their feet relatively quickly. Dunno if it gives the same stability as a traditional reco though.

I know some tradies who did their knees playing footy and LARS was a career saver for them.

Thoughts and wishes to those involved in the Palestine/Israel conflict, looking like it will result in a full scale war causing a lot of trauma. There are large Israeli and Palestinian populations in Melbourne and we hope that their families and friends stay safe, know a lot of good Israeli people and the conflict they constantly face is scary, but they now face an amalgamation of it all not seen since the Gaza War of 2014.

My mum went to Tel Aviv for a work conference as the company she works for is Israeli. She was there at a time where the Palestinians launched a rocket for the first time in years, reigniting tension between the states. The people there knew what to do, they evacuated safely and calmly, as that is what they have had to do off and on for years, what we would panic about and start making final calls home over, was just a part of their daily lives.