AFLW NMFC AFLW [Season 2022]

So the tassie nab league team lost their elimination final on the weekend by 1 point 28-29

On the positive side our tassie academy girls Perri King was the top disposal winner for them with 18 and Amy Prokopiec kicked 2 goals 3

Very keen to get these 2 in the draft with later picks
Couple of recent interviews with the 2 tassie academy girls Prokopiec and Perri King

Getting these 2 with later picks will help set us up well going forward especially if we nail the early picks

Where are you getting the idea that Collingwood AFLW team is much wealthier? They have a salary cap exactly the same as ours and the club's commitment to AFLW is certainly no greater.
I got that idea from reading the Collective Bargaining Agreement. The salary cap is but one piece of the puzzle. There are all kinds of ways for clubs to make additional arrangements with AFLW players. How do you think Collingwood managed to "poach" Carlton's captain?

Hardly an isolated case, though it is the most glaring one given that the $120,000/year offer is what Davey rejected.

Colbys Boots

Premium Gold
Oct 3, 2017
I got that idea from reading the Collective Bargaining Agreement. The salary cap is but one piece of the puzzle. There are all kinds of ways for clubs to make additional arrangements with AFLW players. How do you think Collingwood managed to "poach" Carlton's captain?

Hardly an isolated case, though it is the most glaring one given that the $120,000/year offer is what Davey rejected.

We've poached a premiership captain as well as some pretty handy players. Jas Garner goes alright and we wrenched her out of Collingwood.

We've poached a premiership captain
No we didn't, and that's precisely the point. The Bulldogs' premiership captain stayed at the Bulldogs, despite the Melbourne Uni connection, because of money. We would have got both Kearney and Blackburn if our resources were unlimited as some people seem to think.

Jas Garner goes alright and we wrenched her out of Collingwood.
Before she was a dominant player. Not the same thing as getting an already established All-Australian forward.

We are now in the position of having to fight off other clubs just to hold on to Garner and Riddell, which wasn't the case a couple years ago. So adding extra prized recruits on top of that is fanciful (unless, like I said earlier, some personal reasons enter the equation).

What types of players are they.
Perri King is a pacy mid can play inside or outside

Amy Prokopiec is a medium goal kicking forward but has also played half back flank prior to this year

The only 2 tassie girls good enough to make the nab academy previously we had Mia king

So to get 2 in one year and to get them with later picks is very beneficial

Colbys Boots

Premium Gold
Oct 3, 2017
No we didn't, and that's precisely the point. The Bulldogs' premiership captain stayed at the Bulldogs, despite the Melbourne Uni connection, because of money. We would have got both Kearney and Blackburn if our resources were unlimited as some people seem to think.

Before she was a dominant player. Not the same thing as getting an already established All-Australian forward.

We are now in the position of having to fight off other clubs just to hold on to Garner and Riddell, which wasn't the case a couple years ago. So adding extra prized recruits on top of that is fanciful (unless, like I said earlier, some personal reasons enter the equation).

Can't speak for Garner but Riddell has already been offered good money from expansion clubs and she knocked it back.

Jeffrey's reaction

FB_IMG_1536929957267.jpg

Heaps of fun

Goatered on the sticks
Sep 13, 2013
Expansion would nuke the competition. There's been so much rubbish about how the great young players are improving the game based on a few first, second and third season girls having good years. Overall the AFLW is still just a professionally promoted ammos competition with even the best sides playing girls that rarely get a kick or have trouble dropping the ball onto their foot.

Even with all the rule changes to make the sport easier for the leather thing to go through the two big metal things there are weekly games where a team kicks just one or even no goals. Not just GC, WC, Geelong etc too. North had a zero goal game (I was there and supposedly one of the best teams in the competition played u11s standard footy), Fremantle had two one goal games, grand finalist Adelaide had a one goal game and a two goal game.

Footy is supposed to be an attacking, unpredictable sport but half the time there isn't enough talent on the field to create one scoring chain from the back half. I thought AFLW fell far short from being an entertaining product this year.

They need to nurture these teams and elite women's footy talent in the country because the league wouldn't be televised if it wasn't based on gender. I worry once the gimmick of watching women play footy wears off the AFL and 7 will leave this league to its own devices and interest in it will drop off as quickly as it has started.

You would hope that the AFL would allow the AFLW and the playing pool to keep developing before adding more teams. I would prefer to see extra rounds added so that every team at least plays each other once rather than having some nonsense scenario where there would be 16 or 18 teams but only 11 or 12 rounds.
As to the standard of play, I thought there was a general improvement this year. There were some really good attacking games, such as Nth vs Melb, as well as some scrambly tackle-fests with the seemingly continuous rolling maul that were more common in some of the earlier seasons. Assuming that the stand rule is added for the next season, along with the continued skill development of the playing pool, it would seem reasonable to think that we will see some more open, attacking and higher scoring games.

They should bring in port and Sydney first

Dons and hawks can wait longer
Longer = forever.

And then when forever happens, hawks need to be co-located in tassie.

Colbys Boots

Premium Gold
Oct 3, 2017
There is a good argument for Port coming in earliest due to the talent pool in SA giving Adelaide too great an advantage. Until the league is completely professional and the bottom of the list players can still earn a living wage, then you can't expect them to move interstate for pocket money just because the draft says so. This same argument is why Essendon And Hawthorn and especially Sydney need to wait.

Mar 16, 2001
Melbourne VIC
Wales, Eastwood, West Ham
There is a good argument for Port coming in earliest due to the talent pool in SA giving Adelaide too great an advantage. Until the league is completely professional and the bottom of the list players can still earn a living wage, then you can't expect them to move interstate for pocket money just because the draft says so. This same argument is why Essendon And Hawthorn and especially Sydney need to wait.
Agree. Do Adelaide still get the pick of SA and NT?

They need to nurture these teams and elite women's footy talent in the country because the league wouldn't be televised if it wasn't based on gender. I worry once the gimmick of watching women play footy wears off the AFL and 7 will leave this league to its own devices and interest in it will drop off as quickly as it has started.
The only reason the league isn't more advanced than what it is right now is because of gender discrimination, so don't even try that bullshit argument. Reality is AFLW gets better ratings than a lot of the other sports on TV, anyway.

You'll worry less once you realise it's not a gimmick, never has been. And the league isn't ever going to be left to its own devices--that sounds like the kind of empty threat that dickhead supporters of other clubs try to use against North Melbourne.

Wasn’t there supposed to be some Aflw committee meeting yesterday?
The AFL Commission meets next Wednesday (12th May), which is where and when some AFLW stuff will be discussed and perhaps decided upon.

Colbys Boots

Premium Gold
Oct 3, 2017
Wasn’t there supposed to be some Aflw committee meeting yesterday? Haven’t heard anything from it (Edit apparently it’s next week)

They are due to announce a draft date for this year (Nab league is nearly over and vflw season only has a month left before finals)

There was a meeting earlier this week of the AFLW competition committee and in part, that was to draft recommendations for next week's AFL Commission meeting where expansion will be decided. Apparently the competition committee is recommending against expansion prior to the next AFLW season.