Cousins suspended indefinitely - according to SEN

My understanding is that meth amphetimes take at least 3 days to clear from the system naturally and that anything used to either speed that process or to mask it's presence from the test is also picked up in the testing.

Depends on what you use. The key is that you don't want to lower the specific gravity (?) of the urine - for instance by drinking too much water and diluting the urine.

There are other substances - available in the supermarket some of which are commonly used in detox diets - which you can take to shorten this to 24 hours if you aren't a hardcore (ab)user without affecting your urines specific gravity.

Then there are the more specialised products available which give you a window of opportunity where you are "clean" - for about 4 hours, but with maximised effectiveness at +3 hours.

The unlucky, fools, addicts and those who take substances that are fat soluble (I.E Marijuana) get caught.

Depends on what you use. The key is that you don't want to lower the specific gravity (?) of the urine - for instance by drinking too much water and diluting the urine.

There are other substances - available in the supermarket some of which are commonly used in detox diets - which you can take to shorten this to 24 hours if you aren't a hardcore (ab)user without affecting your urines specific gravity.

Then there are the more specialised products available which give you a window of opportunity where you are "clean" - for about 4 hours, but with maximised effectiveness at +3 hours.

The unlucky, fools, addicts and those who take substances that are fat soluble (I.E Marijuana) get caught.

meth based drugs do leave the body in a few days, gunja stays stored in the body fats for up to 30 days

I dont know if this has been said yet or not, Im not reading though all those posts, but I have heard from a good source(yes I know clich'e) that West Coast dont expect him to play again this season.

Listening to Dalton Gooding yesterday one got the impression that the '' maybe the year'' part is true

Acording to this article in the Age, drug testers show up with 30 minutes notice and ask for the players they want.

http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2007/03/20/1174153062663.html

From what you say, a player who "used" over the weekend then fronted for training would need to be constantly on guard and ensuring that he took whatever precautions prior to going to training on the off chance that he was targetted. Cos once he's at training and they show up, there's no time to do anything.

why would he mention the "weeks" ...if he was leaning towards the "year".... >,>

its pretty disheartening for fans....if its going to be the year.... just come out and say it.
Im not sure, probably just trying to down play it as much as possible, not really sure what that achieves if they believe he will be out for the year.

Young Ben McKinley was involved in the fight and is considering his future at the club.

From what I heard Cousins should be back this year contrary to what others are saying. Hes already undergoing intensive counselling and has accepted he has problems. Wont take a year to fix..

This reminded me of this gem of a photo my mate found on the interweb and posted on our old car club messageboard.

23353906vj4.jpg

And this is Cuz at a car club meet....wonder what state he gets into when he goes clubblin' and sets himself for really big night out?;)

Club will assess Cousins weekly. Anyone who thinks hes gone for the year is a idiot

Yes i'm sure the Eagles will find some excuse to bring him back within a few weeks, then say something like "Ben was dealt with appropriately and understands this is is last chance.":rolleyes:

Club will assess Cousins weekly. Anyone who thinks hes gone for the year is a idiot

Mate if he is on Ice then footy is the least of his concerns. Get him healthy first then worry about footy.

The only reason he'll be back early is weakness of the board, at the (persistent) request of Woosha.

well woosh said hes gonna have a chat with ben next week, so we'll see if hes made any progress. hopefully this only takes a few months.

Yes i'm sure the Eagles will find some excuse to bring him back within a few weeks, then say something like "Ben was dealt with appropriately and understands this is is last chance.":rolleyes:

So in your view they cant ever bring him back?

I mean the only options open to the club are (a) monitor him and bring him back when they believe he is ready (and tell him he is on a one strike and your out deal) or (b) sack him and its all over.

I presume you believe we should go with (b) or are you just being your usual anti-Eagles trolling self?

Well your coach and Chairman have hinted he could be out for the year ? Even in your coach press conference just a few minutes ago, said its possible he`s played his last game ....

Still knocking around with Kerr BIG COX /??:thumbsdown:

So in your view they cant ever bring him back?

I mean the only options open to the club are (a) monitor him and bring him back when they believe he is ready (and tell him he is on a one strike and your out deal) or (b) sack him and its all over.

I presume you believe we should go with (b) or are you just being your usual anti-Eagles trolling self?

Firstly, when did i ever say they should never bring him back? i didn't say that. Alot of WC fans are suggesting he'll be back in "a few weeks", so they clearly have no idea what a drug problem is.

Secondly, i'm not a troll and i'm not anti-Eagles, that's your paranoia catching up with you. If you've bothered to read more than a few of my posts on this board, instead of taking a few quotes out of context, you'd see that my opinions are quite reasonable, aside from the odd joke, which we're all entitled too.

Firstly, when did i ever say they should never bring him back? i didn't say that. Alot of WC fans are suggesting he'll be back in "a few weeks", so they clearly have no idea what a drug problem is.

Secondly, i'm not a troll and i'm not anti-Eagles, that's your paranoia catching up with you. If you've bothered to read more than a few of my posts on this board, instead of taking a few quotes out of context, you'd see that my opinions are quite reasonable, aside from the odd joke, which we're all entitled too.

Fair enough.

Obviously anytime the Eagles bring him back it will be "on his last chance". So, based on your earlier post, we will always be open to criticism. Or were you simply suggesting that this criticism would only be valid if we brought him back "too soon"? If so, how long is too soon?

That photo was taken the night of the 2005 grand final, not at a car club. I am not saying he doesn't have a problem but when that photo was taken he would have been dead tired.

Fair enough.

Obviously anytime the Eagles bring him back it will be "on his last chance". So, based on your earlier post, we will always be open to criticism. Or were you simply suggesting that this criticism would only be valid if we brought him back "too soon"? If so, how long is too soon?

When the club hands out so many last chances they look a bit foolish.

If they are fair dinkum they won't bring him back until he is capable of handling himself off field... on field shouldn't come into it this time.

At what stage does a last chance really mean this? When he flatlines? When he is locked up? Serious questions here... a lot of WC fans are under-estimating his problems.

Fair enough.

No idea, but a member of my family was on hard drugs once, from the age of about 16 through to 23, and even with an extremely supportive base of family and friends, it took her quite a few months to get herself even close to being "back to normal", and even now she suffers the after effects of relying on drugs for so long.

The Eagles just need to make sure they handle this with no 'softly,softly' approach at all. So, when he does come back, he'll stay.