Unofficial Preview Changes v North Melbourne after the bye?

briztoon

Wannabe Draft Nuffie
Nov 28, 2015
Brisbane
Brisbane Lions
NUFC, Philadelphia 76'ers
You've just said he lets the gameplan down. We don't use him in the Rich/Birch role when he's down back. It's just an odd statement that doesn't really make sense.

Hypothetically, if we wanted to use Ah Chee around the ball more I'd play him over Coleman as a HFF and keep him up around forward half stoppages. If we wanted to keep Coleman as the HFF, I'd run Ah Chee as the wingman in lieu of Prior and have him stay around stoppages. I'm not sure he'd be as good at defensive running as Prior without seeing him do it, but he's got the tank to do it if needed.

When he was moved forward, his impact around the stoppages. In his last game up forward, he had more pressure acts than any other forward, kicked a goal, had six tackles and six score assists (including two goal assists). He was a victim of circumstance in having to move back.

I do like developing Coleman up forward, but he has nowhere near the impact around stoppages as Ah Chee at this stage. He even struggled to impact stoppages in the NEAFL.
When I mentioned Ah Chee in my OP, it wasn’t because he didn’t have the fitness, it was because he doesn’t appear to offer the same ability to impact the contest and support the midfield as Madden or Prior could from defence.

I agree that he’s best suited to playing the hff, I’ve said that ever since we were first linked to him.

I do find it interesting that Ah Chee does offer more defensively/pressure wise, as a forward, than appears to do when playing in defence. But that is obviously because of the role he is asked to play.

But as I asked you in my previous post, who would you drop from the team I listed to include Ah Chee? If we were to try and play at such a high level for an entire match, that we did in the first half against Melbourne.

If either Cameron or McCarthy were injured, I would play Ah Chee.

If Robinson or McCluggage were injured, I’d prefer to play TBerry.

If either Rayner or Zorko were injured, I would prefer to play (a fit and healthy) Cockatoo or TBerry.

If any of the other mids were out injured, I would prefer to play (a fit and healthy) Joyce or TBerry.

When I mentioned Ah Chee in my OP, it wasn’t because he didn’t have the fitness, it was because he doesn’t appear to offer the same ability to impact the contest and support the midfield as Madden or Prior could from defence.

I agree that he’s best suited to playing the hff, I’ve said that ever since we were first linked to him.

I do find it interesting that Ah Chee does offer more defensively/pressure wise, as a forward, than appears to do when playing in defence. But that is obviously because of the role he is asked to play.

But as I asked you in my previous post, who would you drop from the team I listed to include Ah Chee? If we were to try and play at such a high level for an entire match, that we did in the first half against Melbourne.

If either Rayner or Zorko were injured, I would prefer to play (a fit and healthy) Cockatoo or TBerry.

If any of the other mids were out injured, I would prefer to play (a fit and healthy) Joyce or TBerry.

I'd play him ahead of Prior, Madden and Robertson in your hypothetical team. Robertson is the only wild card in the sense that they don't play the same role - Robertson is an inside mid/defensive role player whereas Ah Chee is a HFF who can rotate to stoppages. I'd have him comfortably above Prior and Madden at this stage.

Apr 4, 2015
Brisbane Lions

Ah Chee was excellent defensively on Friday night . Right throughout the game ,not just the first half.

jackess

30k Posts 10k Posts
Aug 10, 2005
Brisbane Lions
Ah Chee was excellent defensively on Friday night . Right throughout the game ,not just the first half.

Half back is still his spot. We have other options forward with Kiddy, Rayner to come back and resting midfielders.

Only question mark can be his attack on the footy and hopefully with more confidence he can run harder and link up more when running the ball out of defence and then maybe even go for some more risky kicks.

Apr 4, 2015
Brisbane Lions
Half back is still his spot. We have other options forward with Kiddy, Rayner to come back and resting midfielders.

Only question mark can be his attack on the footy and hopefully with more confidence he can run harder and link up more when running the ball out of defence and then maybe even go for some more risky kicks.
He's shown he can pull off the risky kicks when he has to but with Rich and Birchall down there that's their role.

He's an almost there player who sooner or later is going to have to play with more flair and provide more run out of defence to get to the level his ability should take him. And where we need him to be.

Nov 26, 2012
Brisbane Lions
I tend to find that the defensive stuff from backs can be hard to see (especially when not at games - still crying that I have only seen us play live once in a season and a half) compared to other areas of the ground. You just see the small backs popping up when the ball comes to their man. Its probably why so many have taken so long to see the work done by Starc - a lot of it is not what is easy to see from coverage.

Up front though the defensive stuff is when the ball is there and seems more visible (at least in my opinion)

Apr 4, 2015
Brisbane Lions
I tend to find that the defensive stuff from backs can be hard to see (especially when not at games - still crying that I have only seen us play live once in a season and a half) compared to other areas of the ground. You just see the small backs popping up when the ball comes to their man. Its probably why so many have taken so long to see the work done by Starc - a lot of it is not what is easy to see from coverage.

Up front though the defensive stuff is when the ball is there and seems more visible (at least in my opinion)
Plus the mob loves great tackles, blocks and spoils from forwards because it's so 'unselfish' .

Whereas defenders are supposed to do that all the time.

royboys4eva

Nov 27, 2006
Melbourne - once Darwin.
Brisbane Lions
Ah Chee has the ability to play back /forward even on the wing. That versatility gets him a spot in our best 22. But I wouldn't say he has been outstanding. I think personally he plays his best footy forward but we have plenty of options up there. The one thing he does need to improve on is keeping his feet. He goes to ground far too often in a marking contest or just in general play.

I think with our best 22 on the park Ah Chee is a good player to have on the bench who can fill any role that is required and every team needs a player like that.

Jumping ahead of the North game for a moment, I think the following game against Geelong will be almost the defining game of our season.

Looking at a range of possibilities in the ladder predictor, it seems like there's a pretty reasonable chance that we might be vying with them for a top 4 spot (I'm assuming Richmond go on a roll from here and get the other top 4 spot alongside Melbourne & the Bulldogs).

Assuming we win all the games we probably should win (big assumption, but we've shown a pretty good track record of doing that over the last two years), it'll be that Geelong game and the match against Richmond in Melbourne/wherever else it's moved to that will likely determine our finishing spot at the end of the year.

davemc_lions

Aug 21, 2013
Brisbane Lions
Word is they will come out of lockdown.
can only hope mate
Although after last year same talk
We cannot see more then an hour ahead.. taking it day by day. Getting our arms around it.
I say they hold things off to after long weekend. Or slightly re open maybe some retail.
Then masks and no/low crowds for a few weeks at least . So not sure how open we be by the 19th

Still do not know where the new Deltra strain came from. So until they find a link not sure we will open.
Talk today maybe someone who had Diplomatic Immunity.. Need the Lethal Weapon boys onto it.

beardancer

Oct 16, 2009
melbourne
Brisbane Lions
What didn’t get enough bites the first time? Saying it again does not make it any less ridiculous.
The inescapable truth tho is we have 2 second string rucks. Actually we have 1 improving second string ruck(Big O) and 1 who's not that competitive(Daniher). If we use Archie, we know we're going to get a competitive specialist ruckman. Big O's best football is as a stay in the square marking forward and second ruck. That was the beauty of the Martin/Big O combo.

At present our rucks just don't give enough drive to advantage our small men.

Oct 13, 2015
Brisbane Lions
Jumping ahead of the North game for a moment, I think the following game against Geelong will be almost the defining game of our season.

Looking at a range of possibilities in the ladder predictor, it seems like there's a pretty reasonable chance that we might be vying with them for a top 4 spot (I'm assuming Richmond go on a roll from here and get the other top 4 spot alongside Melbourne & the Bulldogs).

Assuming we win all the games we probably should win (big assumption, but we've shown a pretty good track record of doing that over the last two years), it'll be that Geelong game and the match against Richmond in Melbourne/wherever else it's moved to that will likely determine our finishing spot at the end of the year.

I wouldn't be assuming Richmond go on a roll just yet. Beating Adelaide and Essendon still isn't worth much to me. Plus they have 20 percent to make up on us if we end up on the same points at the end of the year.

As much as I don't rate Port I think the top 4 spot will come down to us, Geelong, port. As you mention, the Geelong and Richmond games are the two toughest ones left for us (we should be able to handle West Coast at home, and after that Adelaide away is probably our next toughest). Even if we lose both of those Richmond has West Coast in perth and another game against geelong.

Ralphy2017

Jul 16, 2017
Brisbane Lions
I wouldn't be assuming Richmond go on a roll just yet. Beating Adelaide and Essendon still isn't worth much to me. Plus they have 20 percent to make up on us if we end up on the same points at the end of the year.

As much as I don't rate Port I think the top 4 spot will come down to us, Geelong, port. As you mention, the Geelong and Richmond games are the two toughest ones left for us (we should be able to handle West Coast at home, and after that Adelaide away is probably our next toughest). Even if we lose both of those Richmond has West Coast in perth and another game against geelong.
I also think Richmond probably cannot make the top 4, but if you were to pick a team to win it from 5th or 6th Richmond at full strength could give it a shake. Think Geelong play Port this week in Adelaide and if Cats win get themselves a game break and % over Port, and that helps the Lions

Berrygood

Aug 27, 2017
Sunshine Coast
Brisbane Lions
I don't understand this. He played predomantly as a ruck in the U18's didn't he. So why are we developing him as a KPF? We should just draft a forward and develop him. If we want him to be a 2nd forward/ruck then why not get him practicing some ruck craft.
I think they are trying to protect a developing body from growth injuries, protecting him from the continuous rigors of jumping and heavy landings. I've read his growth platelets are still open and they are expecting further growth spurts. Young fast bowlers have their workloads reduced during this growth period to protect their back, hips, knees etc. 50-60 even more heavy landings playing ruck compared to a doz or so playing fwd. In the meantime developing his fwd craft is a good idea and he seems to be going very well at it. Bodes well for the future and the young lads longevity in the game. May not be the whole reason but I reckon it does come into consideration.

Berrygood

Aug 27, 2017
Sunshine Coast
Brisbane Lions
Matho in for Zorks, Lester will be fine, just a precautionary replacement last week I reckon. I haven't heard or read anything to the contrary regarding Lester. It won't fix our pace problems, but we will win.

jackess

30k Posts 10k Posts
Aug 10, 2005
Brisbane Lions
also think with H Smith.. Right now if Big O goes down we need Archie ready to fill in.
H Smith a better key forward option then Fullaraton

Do you really think HSmith would be a better option in the seniors than Fullarton?

Ralphy2017

Jul 16, 2017
Brisbane Lions
Matho in for Zorks, Lester will be fine, just a precautionary replacement last week I reckon. I haven't heard or read anything to the contrary regarding Lester. It won't fix our pace problems, but we will win.
Said last week before the Demons game, I thought Lester might have come back too soon, should have missed last week and then the extra week with the bye would have allowed him to fully recover. From memory he had a hamstring strain last year and missed a couple games. Don't know if it is the same leg as last year, but might be a bit more serious, and could be out for a few games, although nothing from the club to confirm. Yes we will win against Nth, so I would play Madden for Birch and although not match fit, IF ready I would bring Payne in we just have to get games into him and Madden.