Overdue - time for federal government to ban sports betting ads

Because when I took my then seven year old daughter to the football and after a few weeks was quoting odds at me, I knew something was wrong.

We don't expose our children to pornography or tobacco or poker machines.

This is no different.

Does that compute?

Well go raise a barn with the rest of the Amish then! The modern West is permissive thank you very much.

No one is suggesting banning betting.

Yes they are...the dicks in this thread! Well anyhow, I hear an awful lot of tut-tutting...

If humans are so manipulable then they are also equally educable.

All the fun stuff in life is dangerous....even bloody Scrabble has been known to cause irreparable family feuds.

The authorities might ‘look into‘ the impact on sports betting ads when a Dusty Martin or a Dangerfield get sprung for fixing a grand final……
Too many grubs in the AFL industry making $$$$$, commissions, getting a slice of the action etc for ads to be reined in or banned.

Scrabble rarely causes a person to lose their house though.

The person who is troubled enough to bet his house away would surely fall prey to any number of other vices. The "Cause" is him, not the material world of pleasures and vices...which frankly make life worth living for those of us who can hold it together rather more.

How does removing Gambling advertising hurt you in any way though? You will still be able to make our bets.

chip chip chip...it doesn't hurt me greatly, same as banning ads for beers, pizzas, speedboats, theme parks, sports, marriage, mortgages doesn't hurt me greatly. Now all of those things have destroyed lives...but freedom must be gealously protected.

I think the wowsers get their kicks when the gambler loses it all...and are silently disgusted when he wins a car.

Yes they are...the dicks in this thread! Well anyhow, I hear an awful lot of tut-tutting...

If humans are so manipulable then they are also equally educable.

All the fun stuff in life is dangerous....even bloody Scrabble has been known to cause irreparable family feuds.
What I'm hearing is we should ban scrabble

Long, long overdue.

Adults are free to make their mistakes, but the problem with our sports betting ads is that from a marketing perspective the whole strategy is around ingraining young people and making sport and gambling go hand in hand. It's actually really clever... in the same way that people who advertised cigarettes 40 years ago were clever.

I don't really care either way on the moral side of it, but reading out betting odds sure is s**t entertainment. It's always done by an ex-player with a less-than-convincing argument that he's got a ripper deal that will help me pull the wool over the betting agency's eyes.

I'm definitely in favour of ******* them off the telly.

Well go raise a barn with the rest of the Amish then! The modern West is permissive thank you very much.
Yeah? Nah. Go live in your libertarian dystopian paradise.

There is a reason we have laws. That you don’t like the, is your problem. I object to seeing people like you expose yourself in public, no matter how much you think you have the right to.

I would ban both horse racing and greyhound racing if I was in charge as both are very cruel industries to the horses and dogs.
with you there.
Get on the F1 or V8s if you want to bet on things going in circles trying to beat each other. Love motorsports.
Hate any sport animals are involved in.

on gambling ads, is this a broadcast issue or AFL. i would assume the broadcasters are free to advertise what they want during games...
Not sure AFL HQ has the spine to stand up to that in the next broadcast deal.

Which is ridiculous, they could move coverage to the ABC and still pull in the ratings....probably more cos no Darcy, Ling, etc.

They banned Tobacco adds and did it swiftly. Time for our leaders to pull their finger out here and do the same with sports betting ads.

I know we've all touched on this topic, but we need to continually revisit it, its getting worse and more and more dangerous. We are living in a time where everyone is having their mental health tested, spending more time home and in front of the tele. As evident by the ratings for the footy this weekend.

We've been overwhelmed by sports betting ads during the coverage - whether it's Nathan Brown and Dale Thomas hosting segments during the broadcast, commercials or in between games. Billboards and screen graphics stating the odds every few moments, this has become deplorable. The fact this isn't regulated by our pathetic politicians has made me lose faith that we are even a democracy anymore. It's a puppet face being led by the Murdoch's.

Once that was done with, we've got Shaq, Mark Walberg, making ridiculous commercials, snippets and sound bites butting sports betting at the forefront of our minds. Blurring the lines between sports and betting, normalising betting for children who are being brainwashed.

Now, even footy podcasts I listen too, Footyology an AFL Fantasy 'The Traders', have been sponsored by these absolute germs of society. 😂😂

Like its a ******* joke. Let's just teach sports betting in schools 🤦‍♂️

How long is a piece of string? Because these pathetic, vile, evil corporates are asking the question, and changing their own answer.
I agree.

I Found it Overbearing when I watched NRL games with Tom Waterhouse Promoting his betting company.

It's a re-animation of the traditional Protestant fear that someone, somewhere...may be having a good time.

You're half right about that phrase, it was aimed at the Puritans in particular. A Protestant faith to be sure, but a more extreme one.

But yeah, no one wants to ban betting, just make it a thing that those who partake of it have to go and look it up themselves, not something that is ubiquitous.

the mateship = doing multis together stuff is ubiquitous now, getting worse and worse

Yes, I completely agree here.

Its really a way to normalise 'casual' betting. This is another 'trap' for the average joe.

Theyve set up plenty of traps everywhere, they'll catch you with one.

I, personally, have been affected by gambling as my parents are addicted to the slot machines. It completely altered my entire childhood, seeing your parents fight paycheck to paycheck, dumping you in the play centre of the local pokies while they play away the weekly wages is really depressing as well.

We often look at children from the perspective they're being brainwashed into gambling one day. But the perspective that their parents foster an addiction that actually takes away from their quality of life is just as relevant.

Myself, at the time, was a victim. Seeing my parents sell all my s**t to Cashies just to pay the bills, when they used their wages to buy cigarettes and play on the slots has given me PTSD.

My parents are warm, caring never fought a day in their life and thsy are good people, but does it mean they are smart? No. Not one bit. And there are many good people out there who've been taken advantage of. Yes, they're allowed to make their own decisions, but when you advertise it everywhere, consistently, it's very hard for an addict to actually stop. It's like planting a sugar addict in a candy store consistently, you test someone's inner strength until they give in. Should they completely ban betting ads? Yes! But im realistic and know thsts unlikely, can they place RESTRICTIONS? Far more achievable.

Lucky for my sister and I, we grew up, learnt from their mistakes, worked our asses off and set ourselves up as adults. I'm sure there are lots of children however who were in my position, and they just grew up and became just like their parents. Generational patterns.

It used to be illegal. Only TAB and tattslotto used to be able to advertise.

Yes, then we got the internet, and the government decided that if it was going to happen anyway, then it would be better if they could regulate (and tax) it.

Betting ads are banned from C and G rated programmes except sports.

Because apparently kids are horribly influenced when a betting ad comes on during The Wiggles but not during a game of football.

Their young minds are able to block out sports betting references during a sporting event, but adult minds are affected.

The science is quite amazing.

The fact is, there are many adults (and teens) who can “control” themselves when it comes to betting. But equally, there are so many that can’t and the effects can be catastrophic on both the individual and those around them, just like white collar crime. I admit, I don’t mind putting a bet on an AFL game and I get sucked in by the same game multi bonus bet deal - though I’m plonking down $1 or $2 individual bets so not talking big money here. But I know I can wear the loss. For far too many, they can’t wear the loss and all their eggs are in the “but if I win” basket.

The desire to ban these ads are not aimed at protecting the likes of me, but the ones who can’t control themselves and/or can’t financially sustain the losses.

the agencies can keep operating, just like the casinos, but don’t effing promote their services to all and sundry on every media platform.