Preview Round 13: North Melbourne vs GWS @ Blundstone Arena | Sunday, 13 June @ 15:20

Looks like the week off has allowed the selection panel to reset as well.

Playing Big Tom and Menadue was all wrong from so many angles for a rebuilding team (irrespective of how hard they are trying - Turner is in the same boat but has the protection of being a 'leader').

Let's give X 6 games in a row now as a key forward and ruck relief to see what he can offer at this level.

Curtis needs to work on a number of aspects of his game - in particular building the tank so he can run through the mid field. He may have talent but he simply doesn't have the tricks to be a permanent tweener forward.

IMO there is a number of senior players that they need on the park every week. As more senior players return, I doubt we will see the likes of TC & Menadue.

I'm a fan of Menadue too. Or at the very least I think he was a decent pick up. At minimum he's some reasonable mature depth, and at best he still has some development left in him. Has the type of attributes the team has been lacking too.

Always got time for your thoughts mate but agree to disagree on Menadue. He’s had some ok patches in some games but I reckon he’ll be delisted.

He'd be on the shortlist for delisting, odds are it will come down to how many players we want to bring in. His development prospects haven't been helped by the short preseason and VFL issues, but I thought that other than his round one game he's been OK in the seniors. Not a star by any means, but has given a decent return considering all he cost was a list spot.

You've got to be kidding, Campbell has straightened your team up and made you competive, you need a physical presence fwd, that way it gives you a target to kick too and allows the talented flankers to flourish, it will be back like the early season form when there was no target to kick too, it demoralised the hard work to get the ball there, if xerri is to come in it has to be for Larkey, and how is Turner playing still

Finally X in over Campbell about time

Mahony continues having his pictures of the match committee tho

You've got to be kidding, Campbell has straightened your team up and made you competive, you need a physical presence fwd, that way it gives you a target to kick too and allows the talented flankers to flourish, it will be back like the early season form when there was no target to kick too, it demoralised the hard work to get the ball there, if xerri is to come in it has to be for Larkey, and how is Turner playing still
Random cats fan piping up

campbell is a vfl level player

He might be, but he's a mature body that straightens your team up and provides a target, which is really important for a developing side, as a number of guys aren't physically ready to be the bail out kick and just get the ball to ground. His play has seen Thomas's play improve, and the fwd line functions better

Random cats fan piping up

campbell is a vfl level player

He might be, but he's a mature body that straightens your team up and provides a target, which is really important for a developing side, as a number of guys aren't physically ready to be the bail out kick and just get the ball to ground. His play has seen Thomas's play improve, and the fwd line functions better

I think you’re underselling Xerri a bit. He just broke the vfl record for contested possessions, numerous of which were contested marks. He’s already taken contested marks at afl level and kicked goals from them. Campbell has been good and is stiff to be dropped. But we have to look to the future with Xerri as it’s overdue.

5 Years back when we were 10-1 who would have believed that we would go 2-9 from there on?

*raises hand*

Okay maybe not 2-9, but man that 10-1 run....we had an injury pretty much every game, our form got worse just about every week (even * with all their druggie players out nearly rolled us after half time FFS) and we pretty much either played s**t teams or good teams at home.

Based on ladder position at the end of the season, we played 5th (home), 17th (away), 11th (home, Tas), 16th (home), 15th(away), 7th (home - good win against the eventual premiers), 9th (away, Docklands), 18th (away, Docklands), 14th (home), 1st (away - loss) and 13th (home - Tas). That's 3 games against top 8 teams for 2 wins, 1 loss, and 8 games for 8 wins against bottom 10 teams. That 10-1 kinda flattered to deceive.

I remember looking at our draw after the bye and seeing a stack of top 8 teams, a stack of games against good teams away, and thinking "yeah, this ain't gonna be pretty". It wasn't. We played 8 games against top 8 teams - all losses, and 3 games for 2 wins against bottom 10 teams. Though Boomer's record breaker against the Aints was sweet.

A word with the umpires as to how top-loaded teams should be umpired is a subtle sooky art. Hopefully ' the boys club' gets the proper ball rolling. Real footballers compete and then compete again. Not sook their sins after cheating the rules themselves. Can't even watch Geelong games. Destroying the sport. Trying to bully umpires. Trying to be 'experienced men that know better

Gillion has to go after 'the boys club'.

Children gifted success at every step ( bar having to unclod their own horses before they were allowed to ride them) are still trying to understand themselves.
poor Prince having to build stuff in the world. he has no idea of outsider of protecting your own.

Nothing to do with football Hamish mc being all pinned by Andrew Demetriou who always was and remains an uneducated fool who played tough-man. (Watch the crown casino questioning to see how arrogance and fear can mix subtlety to begin.

Clubs should collectively ditch the AFL at tv rights contract end. Let the AFL in excuse in caretaker mode in until the bankings are audited.

Perfect for wet weather footy on Sunday in Tas

We’re playing more talls this game than we have in months. This is our preferred structure, I believe.

Adding Tarrant and X for TC means that Walker can go forward and likely will play forward for at least patches of the game. We should have two talls to kick forward to at all times.

A word with the umpires as to how top-loaded teams should be umpired is a subtle sooky art. Hopefully ' the boys club' gets the proper ball rolling. Real footballers compete and then compete again. Not sook their sins after cheating the rules themselves. Can't even watch Geelong games. Destroying the sport. Trying to bully umpires. Trying to be 'experienced men that know better

Gillion has to go after 'the boys club'.

Children gifted success at every step ( bar having to unclod their own horses before they were allowed to ride them) are still trying to understand themselves.
poor Prince having to build stuff in the world. he has no idea of outsider of protecting your own.

Nothing to do with football Hamish mc being all pinned by Andrew Demetriou who always was and remains an uneducated fool who played tough-man. (Watch the crown casino questioning to see how arrogance and fear can mix subtlety to begin.

Clubs should collectively ditch the AFL at tv rights contract end. Let the AFL in excuse in caretaker mode in until the bankings are audited.

Thoughts on the game? Am I in the correct thread?

He'd be on the shortlist for delisting, odds are it will come down to how many players we want to bring in. His development prospects haven't been helped by the short preseason and VFL issues, but I thought that other than his round one game he's been OK in the seniors. Not a star by any means, but has given a decent return considering all he cost was a list spot.
In complete agreement here.

I think what we are seeing at the moment is a menadue that is keeping it simple and clinging onto his career. I think with some security and a pre-season we'd see a different menadue with more confidence. If he added offensive pressure to his game he'd be a real solid half-back. Personally I'd prefer we took a change on him at the expense of Atley. I don't mind Atley but we know what we get with him. He also doesn't offer much leadership. With menadue we get years and potential.

Most of us around here have huge respect for Tom and admire him a lot. We’re sad to see him left out. However, overwhelmingly, we’re excited to see Xerri get his shot. It’s the obvious move particularly after the bye, with Tarrant coming back. Tom, to his eternal credit, has always accepted his “stop gap” role. Before BBB left, he would not have played a single game, unless we were struck down by injuries - particularly to Todd. This year has been an unexpected bonus for Tom. The reality is, if not for North, Campbell’s AFL career would have finished over 3 years ago.

Let’s replace Jeremy Cameron with Campbell and see he straightens up Geelong as an experiment