Preview Changes vs Cats - Rd 14, 2021

Jan 1, 2015
Hoppers Crossing
Does anyone know our record of playing down at KP? It must be shocking.

I can’t ever recall winning down there.

13-44 ( 1 draw). Haven’t won since 2003. Was successful during the Wallace era, 1985 and a few early mid 70s. I think I’ve seen most of the wins. Been close last few years - cruelled by injuries in a couple - but collapsed in last quarters.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

ScottyDogg

Oct 17, 2015
Footscray
He won't be coming right in, but I can easily see Richards pushing Roarke out in a couple of weeks.
On the Danny Boyd podcast they were talking about how big he is. Taller than Dale. He is the prototype modern day back flanker. Big enough to defend but with speed to burn and great disposal.

SupercededMan

May 10, 2006
As long as dogs dont turn the ball over in the midfield or defensive 50 and not be afraid of cats defenders they should be able to win. They're the best team to punish in the turn around and for kicking effectively into the 50 so putting the pressure onto the kicker is probably key.
I reckon the young legs could be important in the last quarter, particularly with the Cats having 10 players over 30.
'
Yeah, they beat Port, but so what, so did we.

The Inbetweener

Nov 25, 2011
Footscray
Best way to beat the Cats is quick ball movement.

The issue is their ground is so small they apply pressure and get you on the turnover, generating a lot of one on ones for their forwards.

If it was at Marvel or we had Dunks & Treloar so we could dominate the midfield I’d be real confident. But their home ground advantage is pretty significant.

Without Dunks, Adz and Mc Clean think we may be a little short with the Cats and where we are now.

Hope I am wrong but will not be melting with whatever we choose. A genuine 8 point game with the odds stacked against us, a win here will be enormous

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Won all bar one from 1995-2003 (6 wins 1 loss). Not many wins before and none since.
I remember all wins very well.

My three favourites were '99, '01 and '02. We came from behind in all matches.

'99: About 19 points down with seven minutes remaining to win by seven;
'01: About 46 points down during the second quarter to win by seven;
'02: 40 points down 12 minutes into the second quarter to go in at HT three points ahead. We won by 12 points.

AFL Tables have a score by score breakdown of every game since 2002

Here's that match from 2002. It's incredible to think we were ahead at HT despite being 40 points down half way through the second quarter.

1623425522342.png

Oliver G

Premium Platinum
May 14, 2009
I remember all wins very well.

My three favourites were '99, '01 and '02. We came from behind in all matches.

'99: About 19 points down with seven minutes remaining to win by seven;
'01: About 46 points down during the second quarter to win by seven;
'02: 40 points down 12 minutes into the second quarter to go in at HT three points ahead. We won by 12 points.

AFL Tables have a score by score breakdown of every game since 2002

Here's that match from 2002. It's incredible to think we were ahead at HT despite being 40 points down half way through the second quarter.

View attachment 1152919

Saunders and Smith from outside 50 as well and Geelong had a shot on the siren would have put them back in front. Wild quarter.

Screenshot 2021-06-12 at 1.45.10 am.png

Sep 7, 2015
Tasmania
Geelong are absolutely flying at the moment. They looked gettable early in the year but now that they have all of their star players back they look unstoppable. I think I read that Selwood has an 85% win rate in Geelong over his career which is just insane. I think that if we can keep the margin to within five goals that will be an acceptable result and won't hurt our top four chances too badly. I think we have a much better chance of beating the Eagles in Perth.

adogsfan5

Jun 12, 2020
?? Where is it going to be played at Geelong. At the moment it would be without crowds so there is a chance it could be in Sydney. The cats have only lost a handful of games in that 5 to 10 years. Having no crowds lessens the advantage but they love the narrow ground intercepting in defence, kicking down the line and winning the aerial battle.
Our chances depend on our midfield, handball game and hitting targets. I think it is going to be a tough ask without Dunks and ADZ. Need big games from Bont, Jacko and Libba.

Talk is tassie..

Geelong are absolutely flying at the moment. They looked gettable early in the year but now that they have all of their star players back they look unstoppable. I think I read that Selwood has an 85% win rate in Geelong over his career which is just insane. I think that if we can keep the margin to within five goals that will be an acceptable result and won't hurt our top four chances too badly. I think we have a much better chance of beating the Eagles in Perth.
Often unsure when you are being serious Scrag but the Cats at full strength are easily top 2.

Will be harder than West Coast over there

Sep 7, 2015
Tasmania
Often unsure when you are being serious Scrag but the Cats at full strength are easily top 2.

Will be harder than West Coast over there

Definitely serious. I wouldn't say that they are "easily top 2" though. I don't think we are that far off them and at Marvel I'd expect us to give them a scare. I also think Richmond and Brisbane could be just as good or better than them. But if our game goes ahead in Geelong I'd expect them to be too strong.

Best way to beat the Cats is quick ball movement.

The issue is their ground is so small they apply pressure and get you on the turnover, generating a lot of one on ones for their forwards.

If it was at Marvel or we had Dunks & Treloar so we could dominate the midfield I’d be real confident. But their home ground advantage is pretty significant.
Interesting subject. Not sure how accurate it is but I found this list of AFL ground dimensions (on the Demonland website of all places!) It was posted 4 years ago so some ground names have changed. eg Simonds is now GMHBA aka Kardinia Park. I've added in Optus at the bottom.

GMHBA is way narrower than most grounds and you can see how it could become a special home ground advantage.

What I found interesting was that AO is the next narrowest, now that Domain is defunct. You can see why Geelong might play AO quite well. Only 8m wider and only 3m shorter than GMHBA.

AFL Ground Dimensions

MCG 160 x 141

Etihad 159.5 x 128.8

Simonds 170 x 115

SCG 155.5 x 136

Spotless 164 x 127.5

Adelaide 167 x 123

Domain 175.6 x 122.4

Gabba 156 x 138

Metricon 160 x 134

Manuka 162.5 x 138.4

Aurora 165 x 135

Blundstone 175 x 135

TIO 175 x 135

TIO Traeger 168 x 132

Cazaly 172.5 x 149

Optus Perth 165 x 130

doggy_dog

Aug 25, 2020
Interesting subject. Not sure how accurate it is but I found this list of AFL ground dimensions (on the Demonland website of all places!) It was posted 4 years ago so some ground names have changed. eg Simonds is now GMHBA aka Kardinia Park. I've added in Optus at the bottom.

GMHBA is way narrower than most grounds and you can see how it could become a special home ground advantage.

What I found interesting was that AO is the next narrowest, now that Domain is defunct. You can see why Geelong might play AO quite well. Only 8m wider and only 3m shorter than GMHBA.

AFL Ground Dimensions

MCG 160 x 141

Etihad 159.5 x 128.8

Simonds 170 x 115

SCG 155.5 x 136

Spotless 164 x 127.5

Adelaide 167 x 123

Domain 175.6 x 122.4

Gabba 156 x 138

Metricon 160 x 134

Manuka 162.5 x 138.4

Aurora 165 x 135

Blundstone 175 x 135

TIO 175 x 135

TIO Traeger 168 x 132

Cazaly 172.5 x 149

Optus Perth 165 x 130
One thing I’ve always found so strange about the AFL is the lack of a regulation ground size. Such a massive variation

VogonProsthetnic

Apr 26, 2010
Beaufort
Current rules for sport are 1 person per 4 square meters and a maximum of 150 people outside Melbourne.
AFL are hardly going to want to operate a game under those conditions.

The last time I was at Kardinia Park was in 85
I'm hoping for a repeat
Go Dogs
I was at that game too. What a win.
I haven't been to Geelong since I went with some BF posters during my 2002 visit. We won.
I'm 5-12 at Kardinia Park, but have seen us win three in a row at the moment (98, 99, 02).

Jeff 1975

Mar 29, 2018
Footscray

AFL Ground Dimensions

MCG 160 x 141

Etihad 159.5 x 128.8

Simonds 170 x 115

SCG 155.5 x 136

Spotless 164 x 127.5

Adelaide 167 x 123

Domain 175.6 x 122.4

Gabba 156 x 138

Metricon 160 x 134

Manuka 162.5 x 138.4

Aurora 165 x 135

Blundstone 175 x 135

TIO 175 x 135

TIO Traeger 168 x 132

Cazaly 172.5 x 149

Optus Perth 165 x 130

Yes
Interesting subject
As youngster I always liked a stat or two
My memory is that Footscray and Geelong grounds where the same length - both the longest in the league
Only been to Geelong once but Footscray is quiet narrow too

Not sure why we haven't won more at Geelong - better teams I guess

One change I'm expecting to see is Shaun Higgins' nappy. I'm predicting he'll change it towards the end of the first quarter when he sees Alex Keath running towards him full steam ahead.

Jeff 1975

Mar 29, 2018
Footscray
I was at that game too. What a win.
I haven't been to Geelong since I went with some BF posters during my 2002 visit. We won.
I'm 5-12 at Kardinia Park, but have seen us win three in a row at the moment (98, 99, 02).

Great win - 85 was a great year
From memory I was standing on the hill - Northern end, west side - straight in the gate and on the hill
I believe Geelong is all grandstands now - which is probably better
Footy has change quiet a bit - miss the old stuff a bit though
The grounds are in better condition - but I don't like the loud speakers - you betcha
Tackling has improved probable too much - pin one arm and drive the shoulder into the ground

Must stop changing subjects

Maybe just one more - looking forward to the your next gameday menu