Boomers, Could They Beat The Dream Team?

Remove this Banner Ad

Lip Gallagher

Club Legend
Nov 11, 2020
AFL Club
Collingwood
Sorry guys i'm a complete novice at this sport, never played it, rarely watch it etc, but i've been hearing good things about our boys in the NBA, ok maybe not beat the US but where would we rank at full strenght on the world stage?

We are a contender for an Olympic medal, so top 5-10 in the world. Officially we are ranked 3rd by FIBA. We've played off for a bronze medal 4 times and lost 4 times.

Could we beat the US? Sure, but it's the Socceroos beating Brasil or the All Blacks losing to Argentina or Ireland. It's possible, but you wouldn't bet on it. In the 7 Olympic Games since professional players were allowed to compete the US has won 6 goal and gone 8-0 in 6 of those Games. 2004 was a disaster for them and they lost 3 games and won bronze.

Our best player is Ben Simmons who is the only player on our roster who is a guaranteed NBA starter. Guys like Ingles, Mills and Baynes aren't getting near the US squad. Their depth of talent is that good that they can afford to have players of the calibre of Simmons (All NBA third team last year, so top 15 on that metric) or better elect to not participate.

Along with Simmons, 5 other non American players made All NBA teams last year. Giannis, Doncic, Jokic, Siakam and Gobert. And Embiid will this year. If you remove the US from the equation it's a pretty even spread of half a dozen or so nations competing for silver.

Sorry guys i'm a complete novice at this sport, never played it, rarely watch it etc, but i've been hearing good things about our boys in the NBA, ok maybe not beat the US but where would we rank at full strenght on the world stage?

Welcome mate. Stick around and pay attention to the game/series threads.

Absolutely. I reckon the Boomers would romp it in. Have a look at this mob

dream-team-usa-basketball_48z4ni43dy041mf3vrs2ps4fu.jpg