A Third Team In Sydney - It's Only a Matter Of Time !!

Perception or reality ?
The biggest country were union is a major sport is New Zealand and even New Zealand is flagging potential problems.
Union seems to be decreasing in the larger players but OK in the smaller players.
How about Wales.

moot point really. Rugby Union is big enough in enough countries to have the 3rd biggest world cup and that tournament gets watched by 650-1000 Million people per tournament.

but not comparatively big. Not big enough to defeat a population of 5 million.

Pretty big amongst white people in SA, and pretty small amongst everyone else, which actually makes it pretty small. Its just that the white people still control the money, universities and school system.

Exactly, rugby union is popular in small pockets of europe and white south africa. It is niche in a few other places outside of Oceania.

The total revenues of elite rugby in NZ are about equal to two big AFL clubs. And yet NZ can dominate international rugby for a decade and a half.

Likewise the fading of Australian rugby (though it is certainly doing a little better organisationally at the moment) is an irreplaceable loss to the sport - you are talking about a country that has won two of 9 world cups.

rugby union is popular in small pockets of europe and white south africa. It is niche in a few other places outside of Oceania.

Some perspective.
Participation in American Football had reduced markedly down to 5.16 million.
Registered number of rugby union players is 3.765 million.
Registered number of Australian rule Football players is 1.4 million.

Pretty big amongst white people in SA, and pretty small amongst everyone else, which actually makes it pretty small. Its just that the white people still control the money, universities and school system.

In effect, RU only appears pretty big in the countries that compete in RU, otherwise there is little interest.
Even in Australia, there is little interest outside of two states.

Yes, what about Wales.
RU has to break down the U.K. into England, Scotland, wales and Ireland just to get the numbers up.
TBF, Soccer does the same thing. Its not a number thing. More about the UK and the birth of footballs on the isles.

The fact is Ireland is not split is a historical relic. Not a bad thing btw and not the only sport which does that.

Perception or reality ?
The biggest country were union is a major sport is New Zealand and even New Zealand is flagging potential problems.
Union seems to be decreasing in the larger players but OK in the smaller players.
Again it is quite ironic that if true and not wishful thinking that NZ Rugby is in trouble.
Why people ask - Well NZ Rugby had a huge influence on early Rugby in NSW and QLD at a critical time. Their decision to tour in 1884 to NSW was a major step fwd. It is known that it stirred interest in the possibilities of future matches.
They travelled again to NSW and QLD in 1893 and they emphasised that these fixtures will become permanent. We will come and play you no worries they said.
So in 1894 NSW went to NZ and again in 1901.
These tours became the cement that held them together. In QLD in the early 1890`s decisions were being made by School Associations about which football code to adopt and we know how that turned out. The Kiwis always pushed the line we will play you in Internationals along with eventually G.B and of course they (NZ) wanted to play someone close by at that time.

It's a bit hard to have a six nations then.

Which is the valid point.

Whatever the historic reason for having this concept of "home nations" (including Ireland!) there are two countries outside of the "British Isles" that are in the 6 nations and one of them hasn't won a game for 6 years.

Interesting stat with 45% of NSW Aussie Rules fans following a non NSW club.
50% in Qld.

You have to remember that this is a survey and it depends on the wording and definitions of "fan", "supporter" and "follower".
A person may follow the 'family" club by support the club where they live by attending.
It's interesting that analysis was heavy on the survey but devoid of solid metrics like attendance.

You have to remember that this is a survey and it depends on the wording and definitions of "fan", "supporter" and "follower".
A person may follow the 'family" club by support the club where they live by attending.
It's interesting that analysis was heavy on the survey but devoid of solid metrics like attendance.

Obviously fans of non nsw clubs don’t attend, unless their team is involved. Work with a few Richmond fans (family link) and they go to only Richmond games in Sydney.

Do you know if gws are doing anything to bring those fans on board? Those all vic club games at giants stadium in the past 2 years would have to be the perfect opportunity to collect data on people that are already afl fans within close proximity to giants stadium. In fact i would be very disappointed if they weren't taking the opportunity to engage with some of those neutral afl fans to attract a bigger supporter base.

I can see a time when we have 20 teams including 3 each in NSW, WA & SA plus 2 in QLD and one in Tassie. Some Vic clubs will be very nervous? It's a long way off, but it will expand and there will be casualties...i doubt the AFL will go beyond 20 teams?

Do you know if gws are doing anything to bring those fans on board? Those all vic club games at giants stadium in the past 2 years would have to be the perfect opportunity to collect data on people that are already afl fans within close proximity to giants stadium. In fact i would be very disappointed if they weren't taking the opportunity to engage with some of those neutral afl fans to attract a bigger supporter base.

From what we have always been told is that we were working on grassroots and the youth and growing our supporter base through that. Hence the multi-generational plan.

But I’m sure they are working on ways to convert non nsw club fans. But people are rusted on to their club.

Kinda makes you think how tassie would go as that’s a big point that everyone will dump their old team and join tassie.

It makes sense given the amount of first-and-second generation people that move to those parts. Gold Coast is even more significant - teams like Essendon and Collingwood always have a few thousand at GC games and they're not always travelling fans. It's why GC have had a greater attendance than GWS over history, because they have more implanted Victorians in the immediate area around the stadium that makes it easy to go to games.

In Sydney, the "conversion" will come through children playing I believe. A Vic club supporting Victorian parent sending their kid to Auskick and then local footy afterwards gets bombarded with Giants branding, club visits, plays for the Giants cup in school footy, and if good enough gets recruited to the Academy. Hard for plenty of kids not to be a Giants fan and I can't imagine many good parents insisting that their kid remain a Richmond supporter against their desire lol

The Swans are launching a major campaign, including harnessing widespread public support, to join the AFLW in December 2022.

Even without a Swans' AFLW since 2017, female GR club & school nos. have been booming in Sydney- particularly NS, ES, & inner WS.

As it is widely acknowledged that having a local AFLW club turbocharges female GR nos. (tribalism- low profile & distant GWS is not "local" for NS & ES females, further strong female growth can be expected when the Swans AFLW side enters.

It is also essential for the female Swans' Academy U19 players to have an adult, female, elite local team to play for/aspire to.
The SFL Women's Premier Division does not have the skill standards, & general professionalism, to develop the Academy players to the next level ie AFLW.

From what we have always been told is that we were working on grassroots and the youth and growing our supporter base through that. Hence the multi-generational plan.

But I’m sure they are working on ways to convert non nsw club fans. But people are rusted on to their club.

Kinda makes you think how tassie would go as that’s a big point that everyone will dump their old team and join tassie.

People can still have their traditional club and gws as their secondary club. My best friend is a pies fan that moved to sydney and his son is a swans fan. The parent then takes their kid along to games and becomes invested that way. You really need to get buy in of these traditional footy fans as a base and crowds bring crowds because people are attracted to something they see others already going to.

The Swans are launching a major campaign, including harnessing widespread public support, to join the AFLW in December 2022.

Even without a Swans' AFLW since 2017, female GR club & school nos. have been booming in Sydney- particularly NS, ES, & inner WS.

IMO a Sydney Swans AFLW team will leverage the greatest results outside of Brisbane.

People can still have their traditional club and gws as their secondary club. My best friend is a pies fan that moved to sydney and his son is a swans fan. The parent then takes their kid along to games and becomes invested that way. You really need to get buy in of these traditional footy fans as a base and crowds bring crowds because people are attracted to something they see others already going to.

Easier said than done, we have had plenty of converts but people don’t often just ditch their original club.
The club is trying.