The Eddie Moratorium

I was wrong. Sorry Eddie. I’ll go as far the other way to say give him another contract. His stats still stack up with the best and we’re very light on for leadership up forward. Owies also benefiting.

How lucky we are to have watched him pull on our jumper for so long.

I have never had potshots at Eddie, however:

I maybe happened to ask MrsEddieBetts to have a word to her husband and suggest that he's done all he can and it's time to hang up the boots.

I couldn't be more pleased to see Eddie up and about. It's joyous and it helps to make up for 'the lost years'. I hope he can play like this until he is 40.
You did and I was most displeased!

He was in the same primary school class as Graham Johncock.

He is related to Johncock. He grew up in Kalgoorlie in a mining town. It is quite probable it was a small school with mixed age classes.

Honestly, when the team is working hard and we're structured well and providing him options, I reckon he's looking almost as dangerous as he's ever been.

Small forwards, even one as brilliant as Eddie, are still icing that will only truly thrive when the cake is good.

Can't comment on what he's offering off-field too, but I'd imagine it's significant.

It's a win win debate, but surely he is already our greatest indigenous footballer?

Incidentally how good was it to have Eddie, Samo, Zac, Jack and Jonesy all play big roles tonight.
It was great and hats the stuff that results in close bonds and wanting to go the extra yard for your teammates and team. We no need the young ones coming in to create similar bond in the midlife

Very simply a thread for those posters who doubted/wrote off/sunk the boots in to Eddie coming into the season to mea culpa. Own up, man up, woman up...just a little 'sorry Ed' and we'll all move on...

I'll be undertaking a thorough review over the coming week...probably...and mercilessly shaming the laggards...maybe.
I would say the fact it took you until round 15 to make this thread makes anyone who didn't want Ed on the list for the 2021 season a pretty decent call. Add to that we are 5-9 also adds to that.

Based on his output up to round 6 he shouldn't have even been in the side. He definitely improved his output and has had some ripper games. Also gone missing in a few since then.

I still think we missed a beat by having him on the list and taking the spot of other players who we could find out are good enough or not. Same as murphy being on the list.

Sent from my CPH2005 using Tapatalk

Yup… thought he was cooked earlier on in the year. I thought we should have brought in either Owies, now Eddies partner in crime, or Honey before bringing Eddie back into the seniors. Please he’s got all of his form back and is firing on all cylinders again. Maybe we can make some sort of serum out of his blood and give some to Smurph.

Let’s not push the envelope too far bud ;)

I would say the fact it took you until round 15 to make this thread makes anyone who didn't want Ed on the list for the 2021 season a pretty decent call. Add to that we are 5-9 also adds to that.

Based on his output up to round 6 he shouldn't have even been in the side. He definitely improved his output and has had some ripper games. Also gone missing in a few since then.

I still think we missed a beat by having him on the list and taking the spot of other players who we could find out are good enough or not. Same as murphy being on the list.

That's a little mealy mouthed...though I see you've been potting him for much of the year, so maybe not unexpected.

He's been great for much of the year, and really only 'gone missing' in the way you might expect a small forward in a poor team to disappear. Could have easily made such a thread six weeks ago, but our terrible performances have left me a bit light on for inspo.

Statistically he is pacing, possibly even shading Tom Papley and Charlie Cameron, which is extraordinary.

And I'd argue he was very harshly marked over his first month of footy. Had a lot to do with Harry's hot start to the year, and lead all small forwards for that period with 1.5 assists per game.

That's a little mealy mouthed...though I see you've been potting him for much of the year, so maybe not unexpected.

He's been great for much of the year, and really only 'gone missing' in the way you might expect a small forward in a poor team to disappear. Could have easily made such a thread six weeks ago, but our terrible performances have left me a bit light on for inspo.

Statistically he is pacing, possibly even shading Tom Papley and Charlie Cameron, which is extraordinary.

And I'd argue he was very harshly marked over his first month of footy. Had a lot to do with Harry's hot start to the year, and lead all small forwards for that period with 1.5 assists per game.
And for me, I wasnt happy at all with any small forwards form up to round 6 and calling for younger players to be played. The fact Teague finally decided to bring in a new forward in owies in rnd 7 who performed well helped ease pressure on Eddie's spot (along with the improved form of Eddie at the same time owies was bought in).

Eddie was one of my fave players in the late 00s. When he left us back in 2013? I was happy to see him gone. I guess i just thought he had been pretty average in 2012/2013?

As the years went by, i saw him return back to his best at Adelaide, and i guess you never really realize how much you took something for granted, until its gone.

When there rumours of him coming back, i was praying it would happen, but i never believed it would. When it actually did happen, i was over the moon and felt so blessed to see the great Eddie Betts play for Carlton for one last season.

I am shocked we managed to get another season out of him this year, and i really really really hope he can go around one more year. He deserves to play a 350th game and deserves to play finals next year one last time. Please make it happen Carlton.

I confess I was convinced he was cooked last year. He was double-grabbing, slipping over, and just not finding it like he never had through his career. Judging by the Amazon documentary even he thought he might have been cooked.

Something's changed and he's turned back the clock. Maybe he just stopped trying and started having fun again. Welcome back Eddie.

The Eddie Moratorium