Scott Morrison - How Long? Part 4

Gotta disagree.

Australia is a better place with the NDIS no matter how bad the Morrison government tries to screw it up.

Australia would be a much better place with the proper NBN originally proposed which Morrison & Co. butchered and Australia would be much better prepared for what is coming with an effective emissions trading scheme.

I struggle to name a single reform by the Abbot/Turnbull/Morrison governments. And so far that non existant reform program has cost Australia $800 billion :eek:
And that would make them less effective than the Rudd/Gillard/Rudd government - Abbott and Morrison have minimal policy initiatives to speak of.

Doesn’t make RGR a good government. Their Cabinet certainly wasn’t as talented as Hawke’s.

They aren't doing a national rollout for the other medications.

Also, do these other riskier medications have lethal side effects from 1 dose, or from ongoing use, dosage issues etc.?

It's kinda hard to compare with so many factors at play.

It doesn't really matter whether its 1 dose or ongoing. AZ is taken as 2 single doses. Other medications are taken daily. I take and will have to take pentaprazole daily for the rest of my life. So, I dont really care if the risk from 1 dose of AZ is higher than the risk of 1 dose of pentaprazole, as I will be taking thousands of them.

This is paracetamol

Due to the absence of controlled studies, most of the information about the long-term safety of paracetamol comes from observational studies.[31] These indicate a consistent pattern of increased mortality as well as cardiovascular (stroke, myocardial infarction), gastrointestinal (ulcers, bleeding) and renal adverse effects with increased dose of paracetamol.[32][31][34] Use of paracetamol is associated with 1.9 times higher risk of peptic ulcer.[31] Those who take it regularly at a higher dose (more than 2–3 g daily) are at much higher risk (3.6–3.7 times) of gastrointestinal bleeding and other bleeding events.[35] Meta-analyses suggest that paracetamol may increase the risk of kidney impairment by 23%[83] and kidney cancer by 28%.[34] Paracetamol is particularly dangerous to the liver in overdose, but even without overdose those who take this drug may develop acute liver failure requiring liver transplantation more frequently than the users of nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs.[30] Paracetamol slightly but significantly increases blood pressure and heart rate.[31] The majority of observational studies suggests that, used chronically, it may increase the risk of developing hypertension. The risk is higher with the higher dose

This is worse than the side effects of AZ, by orders of magnitude. And while its true that AZ is being rolled out nationally, so lots of people are taking it about the same time, which means all the side effects manifest at the same time, and make news. But lots of people take panadol, lots of people take lots of panadol, and have been doing so for a very long time.

Can you imagine what would happen if they came out and said AZ was associated with an increased mortality rate?

Can you imagine what would happen if every person who had developed Kidney cancer, who had taken paracetamol at some point, made the national news, and had the health minister being questions by reporters about what he was going to do about it?

I think people forget how laughably inept on the global stage ol’ Tone was as well as his attempts to be downright nasty. Was Trump-like at times. Morrison is lazy and clueless, enables corruption, but I’m still not sure he’s worse. Reckon Tone would have gone down the Trump path for COVID, certainly wouldn’t have seen any JobKeepers.

We were probably fortunate that Abbott was PM during a completely uninteresting and uneventful couple of years. Still an absolute ghoul of a man and horribly out of his depth.

I think Scummo has passed him now as being worse simply because the stakes have been higher.

It's rare that I agree with Peta Credlin but surely we cannot be waiting until we get 70% of people vaccinated in order to allow those who are complete freedom of movement.

The best incentive for vaccination, in my opinion would be to reward those who do with the right to come and go as they please, both domestically and internationally. I think this should apply sooner rather than later. Locking down fully vaccinated people kind of defeats the purpose of vaccination.

A fully vaccinated person in Germany, for example is no longer burdened by masks, shutdowns or mandatory testing. Life is back to normal for those people. Meanwhile, my fully vaccinated wife and I missed her grandmother's interstate funeral yesterday due to the threat of lockdown (Port Macquarie, still an orange zone). We didn't want to take the risk of travelling interstate and a potential 14 day isolation period upon our return.
The issue is that you can still transfer the virus even when vaccinated, even though it inhibits (not eliminates) the spread. Therefore if we allow vaccinated people to travel unrestricted as of now (with a largely unvaccinated population), we will have an enormous outbreak or need to lock down again.

We were probably fortunate that Abbott was PM during a completely uninteresting and uneventful couple of years. Still an absolute ghoul of a man and horribly out of his depth.

I think Scummo has passed him now as being worse simply because the stakes have been higher.

‘he did manage to get the Russian fleet in Australian waters, something which was always feared but never actually happenend

The issue is that you can still transfer the virus even when vaccinated, even though it inhibits (not eliminates) the spread. Therefore if we allow vaccinated people to travel unrestricted as of now (with a largely unvaccinated population), we will have an enormous outbreak or need to lock down again.

contra to that, uninfected people are contracting it in hotel quarantine. If vaccinated people isolate at home, the risk is reduced considerably

keeping people in quarantine longer just increases the exposure risk

5ew0uq.jpg

nice when the actual footage of Scott in Hawaii showed him sitting on some Bunnings deck chairs in front of what looked like a toilet block

contra to that, uninfected people are contracting it in hotel quarantine. If vaccinated people isolate at home, the risk is reduced considerably

keeping people in quarantine longer just increases the exposure risk
Huh? Then their families as well as everyone else in the community is exposed when they inevitably don't isolate properly

Tone at least got himself into Oxford.

Imagine Morrison taking that interview 🤢

To get into Oxford, the first requirement was to get the endorsement of the Dean of the Sydney Law School.
Dyson Heydon was Dean of the Sydney Law School.
Tones, allegedly, with a GPA of less than 5 beat students with a GPA of 6+ for the endorsement of the Dean of the Sydney Law School.

So, we're eventually going to have to live with it?! We're not going to get 70% vaccination rate anytime in the future. That's for sure!

AMA has come out against AZ for everyone under 40, so it's a total cluster ****.

I get that but we can’t wait until 70% are vaccinated either.

The federal government needs to come out and state what goals it has for the vaccine. People will rightly ask what is the point if there is nothing in it for them. I know I am.

I get that but we can’t wait until 70% are vaccinated either.

The federal government needs to come out and state what goals it has for the vaccine. People will rightly ask what is the point if there is nothing in it for them. I know I am.

Victoria and NSW have both set the target at 75-80%

We will get there it will just take time. One thing the az **** up has done is turbocharge demand for Pfizer and Moderna

To get into Oxford, the first requirement was to get the endorsement of the Dean of the Sydney Law School.
Dyson Heydon was Dean of the Sydney Law School.
Tones, allegedly, with a GPA of less than 5 beat students with a GPA of 6+ for the endorsement of the Dean of the Sydney Law School.
Of more concern was the absence of merit in two of the three selection criteria. Academic achievement was his strong suit.

He exhibited no ‘sympathy for and protection of the weak, kindliness, unselfishness and fellowship’. His behavior at Uni was obnoxious. His bullying of women led to two assault charges.

As for excellence and success in sport - despite being the eldest and biggest boy he was unable to make the school football team. Be left in no doubt here - in the early 70s the majority of strong healthy youths were undertaking trade apprenticeships. To make matters worse, he sulked and slandered the priest who coached the squad, rather than put his head down, train hard and try to improve. Nothing changed when he wasn’t selected at Uni and Oxford. He was shithouse at sport, but liked the blokey environment and drinking.

It is incomprehensible that such a person, bereft of leadership ability, would be selected on merit.

“Absolute ghoul of a man”

Summed him up nicely.

It's rare that I agree with Peta Credlin but surely we cannot be waiting until we get 70% of people vaccinated in order to allow those who are complete freedom of movement.

The best incentive for vaccination, in my opinion would be to reward those who do with the right to come and go as they please, both domestically and internationally. I think this should apply sooner rather than later. Locking down fully vaccinated people kind of defeats the purpose of vaccination.

A fully vaccinated person in Germany, for example is no longer burdened by masks, shutdowns or mandatory testing. Life is back to normal for those people. Meanwhile, my fully vaccinated wife and I missed her grandmother's interstate funeral yesterday due to the threat of lockdown (Port Macquarie, still an orange zone). We didn't want to take the risk of travelling interstate and a potential 14 day isolation period upon our return.
There is one issue. In Australia, everyone having proof of vaccination comes through everyone having reliable access to Mygov. Mygov sucks.

Victoria and NSW have both set the target at 75-80%

We will get there it will just take time. One thing the az fu** up has done is turbocharge demand for Pfizer and Moderna

See mate, I don’t think we will get there. I think there is that much anti-vaxx sentiment out there combined with unclear messaging from the federal government that people are in no hurry to get it.

Most people only operate in their own self-interest. Due to what is now a ridiculous suppression strategy the population doesn’t need to consider the public health benefits of getting vaccinated as we shut shop every time a handful of cases appear. There is relatively little risk of getting Covid if we keep doing that and by extension there is no incentive to get vaccinated.

There’s no way we get 75% vaccinated if there is no carrot for doing so. Not a hope in hell.

There is one issue. In Australia, everyone having proof of vaccination comes through everyone having reliable access to Mygov. Mygov sucks.

The bigger issue is the lack of reward.

A major reason why they are getting vaccination rates up in Europe is that vaccination is the ‘green card’ that allows people to avoid any imposed restrictions. Those that continue to claim it is supply need to chat to some Europeans as to what motivated them. I can guarantee you that for most people it is because they could get back to living their lives freely.

Not one of our state governments, or indeed the federal government is offering any incentive at all. And I’ll bet my presence on this site that until they do vaccine uptake will be slow.

Surely the reward is being inoculated from a serious disease. I genuinely don't understand the hesitancy, when did we get this stupid?
The stupidity has been dormant for many years waiting for an opportunity to disappoint the sensible population.