A Third Team In Sydney - It's Only a Matter Of Time !!

RedV3x

It's about time some mods started being fair
Dec 14, 2015
Where we sit at the minute, of the four clubs still to join the AFLW, it's the Swans who would have the most difficulty assembling a competitive team.

That well be true but a Swans AFLW side would have the biggest impact.
More Melbourne sides will have zero impact and quite possibly be a negative.

BringBackTorps

Jan 5, 2017
GWS
1. NSW Govt . has introduced 3 new GR Sports' Facilities funding programs, which AFLNSW/ACT states will benefit AF in NSW (In Sydney in particular, there is a serious shortage of GR AF facilities).

"NSW Government’s 2021/22 Budget set to benefit AFL
Author Name: jacklynch | Posted 9:28 am on Thursday 24th June, 2021
TAGS: BUDGETFUNDINGGRANTS

603E8EA2-B064-4B36-A296-113043B3CAD4.jpeg

AFL NSW/ACT welcomes the NSW Government’s 2021/22 Budget, which was handed down by Treasurer, the Hon Dominic Perrottet MP on Tuesday, 22 June.

There are several new funding initiatives that will positively serve our players, clubs and the community, in addition to the existing programs such as the Greater Cities and Regional Sports Facilities Funds, and the Active Kids Voucher.

AFL NSW/ACT can assist clubs and councils looking to apply for grants. Please contact Anthony Brooks (Anthony.Brooks@afl.com.au, 0404 022 104) for further information.

Multi-Sport Community Infrastructure Fund

AFL NSW/ACT, in collaboration with community clubs and local councils, will look to apply for funding in the new Multi-Sport Community Infrastructure Fund, which is set to provide more than $100 million a year in grants over the next two years.

The Fund aims to improve accessibility and equality at existing sporting facilities as well as upgrade changerooms to be inclusive, playing surfaces and lighting.

Our applications to the Fund will seek to enable AFL NSW/ACT to address a range of facilities challenges we have across the state, driven by significant growth and participation of our game across greater Sydney – a good problem to be solving.

Centres of Excellence Program

The Centres of Excellence Program allocates $150 million funding to update high performance and regionally significant venues.

This will benefit AFL players in NSW who participate in talent programs as it aims to improve the facilities where they train and play.

This budget will also support the Sydney Swans and GWS GIANTS who will look to bolster their facilities and community programs".

Interesting stat with 45% of NSW Aussie Rules fans following a non NSW club.
50% in Qld.

There are many question marks on these interesting stats.
Can you, or anyone else, provide more detail?

eg How many AF "fanatics" are there in NSW?
How are "fanatic" & "support" of the AFL defined?

EDIT:

I am dubious about some of the Gemba Report's data.

eg Between 2016-2019, it states interest in the A League grew by 4% (see link below)- but virtually every expert A League MSM commentator has been lamenting the decline in interest in the A League for c. 3 years. Ratings have crashed; & pre2020/pre-covid, crowd averages have also had smaller falls.
MSM coverage of the A League has also declined.

Gemba also relies on Ausplay "participant" data, not Official Sports' regd. nos. Ausplay is simply a survey of 25k people in Aust.- & counts a person a s a "Participant" in a sport, even if they only play the sport once in the last 12 months.

How is "interest" in a sport's League defined?

(Double click on the graph to enlarge it).

Apr 12, 2012
GWS

Can you, or anyone else, provide more detail

How are "fanatic" & "support" defined?

Wouldn’t have a clue.

But I know plenty of work mates who follow footy, I’m the only Giant, I know of 2 swans and the rest are Tigers, Pies, Carlton etc all due to family attachment and when they started following the sport.

RedV3x

Dec 14, 2015

Yes, it seems to use survey data but doesn't seem to use hard data like attendances and registrations even ratings.
which could make their point even stronger.

Their use of words like "fanatic" and "supporter" are rather arbitrary.
To me, a follower is someone who follows the fortunes of their team. At best it would be a person who watches a game of FTA.
To me, a supporter is someone who regularly attends a game, buys merchandise or buys an a subscription when not possible.
A member would be a good definition of a supporter.
To me, A fanatic is a member who attends home games and distant away games occasionally with much merchandise etc.
Merchandise fits in there somewhere, but tends to be across the board but increasing with fanaticism.

TWLS

Jul 19, 2015
WA
GWS Giants
1. NSW Govt . has introduced 3 new GR Sports' Facilities funding programs, which AFLNSW/ACT states will benefit AF in NSW & ACT (In Sydney in particular, there is a serious shortage of GR AF facilities).

NSW Government’s 2021/22 Budget set to benefit AFL
Author Name: jacklynch | Posted 9:28 am on Thursday 24th June, 2021
TAGS: BUDGETFUNDINGGRANTS

603E8EA2-B064-4B36-A296-113043B3CAD4.jpeg

AFL NSW/ACT welcomes the NSW Government’s 2021/22 Budget, which was handed down by Treasurer, the Hon Dominic Perrottet MP on Tuesday, 22 June.

There are several new funding initiatives that will positively serve our players, clubs and the community, in addition to the existing programs such as the Greater Cities and Regional Sports Facilities Funds, and the Active Kids Voucher.

AFL NSW/ACT can assist clubs and councils looking to apply for grants. Please contact Anthony Brooks (Anthony.Brooks@afl.com.au, 0404 022 104) for further information.

Multi-Sport Community Infrastructure Fund

AFL NSW/ACT, in collaboration with community clubs and local councils, will look to apply for funding in the new Multi-Sport Community Infrastructure Fund, which is set to provide more than $100 million a year in grants over the next two years.

The Fund aims to improve accessibility and equality at existing sporting facilities as well as upgrade changerooms to be inclusive, playing surfaces and lighting.

Our applications to the Fund will seek to enable AFL NSW/ACT to address a range of facilities challenges we have across the state, driven by significant growth and participation of our game across greater Sydney – a good problem to be solving.

Centres of Excellence Program

The Centres of Excellence Program allocates $150 million funding to update high performance and regionally significant venues.

This will benefit AFL players in NSW who participate in talent programs as it aims to improve the facilities where they train and play.

This budget will also support the Sydney Swans and GWS GIANTS who will look to bolster their facilities and community programs.

Can you, or anyone else, provide more detail

How are "fanatic" & "support" of the AFL defined?

EDIT:

eg Between 2016-2019, it states interest in the A League grew by 4%- but virtually every expert A League MSM commentator has been lamenting the decline in interest in the A League for c. 3 years. Ratings have crashed; & pre2020/pre-covid, crowd averages have also had smaller falls.
MSM coverage of the A League has also declined.

Gemba also relies on Ausplay "participant" data, not Official Sports' regd. nos. Ausplay is simply a survey of 25k people in Aust.- & counts a person a s a "Participant" in a sport, even if they only play the sport once in the last 12 months.

How is "interest" in a sport's League defined?

(Double click on the graph to enlarge it).

TWLS

Jul 19, 2015
WA
GWS Giants
Really like these political photo opps Sport wise - Did not recognise the GWS Chairman have to say and is Gladys suddenly going to wave a wand and all these new facilities are going to appear. Dont think so.
The task up there is not easy have to say because of non footy well entrenched interests around the place.
But that does not mean we dont try - We have to and the AFL is trying.

BringBackTorps

Jan 5, 2017
GWS
1. From NoobPie (who has provided interesting data from Dr H. Fujak's 2021 book "Code Wars") who said

"Just for context, the following are survey estimates of interest of different football codes in Brisbane, Sydney and Melbourne

1624860100154.png

Interestingly, Australian football is the second most supported code in Brisbane (24%) and a fair way behind rugby league (41%).
In Sydney its third (22%) behind soccer (31%) and League (41%)

Mel (numbers are similar in Adelaide and slightly less in Perth) shows how much more dominant Australian football is in its heartland compared to RL in its.....

It would be great if we had numbers from 25 years ago....however I would think that AF would be 25 years at the earliest away from passing rugby league and would also be relying on the latter slipping away a bit".

2. This is anecdotal, & a very personal view, on the importance of the Swans having the next AFLW team (They have applied to join in late 2022).

RedV3x

Dec 14, 2015
It would be great if we had numbers from 25 years ago.

We had participation levels from the ABS taken at census time.
it was quite illuminating and used 15 years as the lower cut off age so very effective in forming trends
much more than surveys.
The ABS showed that NSW football was heavily into soccer. This confirmed what we already know.
How does the this participation conflict so greatly in "interest" ? What do you take as "interest" ?
Are people interested enough to participate are outranked by "water cooler interest" ?
Rugby league participation was way down in NSW but had a gap over Australian Rules Football and rugby union.
Australian Rules Football was a lot higher than one might think but this is probably due to the figures being for NSW and not Sydney.
The same ABS comparison was a lot more predictable in other states.
Australian Rules Football participation was very high in Victoria, W.A., S.A. and Tasmania.
Soccer participation was lower than one might expect in Victoria considering the amount of interest in Melbourne.
The most interesting comparison was in Queensland where rugby league led a close bunch.
This has been demonstrated where good on-field performances have seen excellent crowds in each of the codes at times.

Since that time of the last real census, a survey, but a survey into every Australian home, there have been significant developments.
Australian Rules Football was has had significant growth in participation in N.S.W. and Queensland.
The growth in new clubs, new leagues, school competitions etc has been exciting in Sydney.
Logic suggest that this will extend attendances, ratings and "interest".
At the same time rugby league has declined in N.S.W. but not sufficiently to impinge on "interest" a.t.m.
Whilst in Queensland, onfield performances are again coming into play.
Australian Rules Football has made gains in Queensland since that census but the NRL has added the Cowboys.
Also, there isn't the animosity between RL and RU in Qld like there is in Sydney
and in Qld you'd probably have to add RL and RU to mutual interest.

Aussie in exile

Nov 21, 2013
Really like these political photo opps Sport wise - Did not recognise the GWS Chairman have to say and is Gladys suddenly going to wave a wand and all these new facilities are going to appear. Dont think so.
The task up there is not easy have to say because of non footy well entrenched interests around the place.
But that does not mean we dont try - We have to and the AFL is trying.
Gladys has a lot more things to worry about than a football team at the moment.
If the giants want new facilities i suggest they find the money themselves and not taxpayers money or get a loan from the AFL

Apr 12, 2012
GWS
Gladys has a lot more things to worry about than a football team at the moment.
If the giants want new facilities i suggest they find the money themselves and not taxpayers money or get a loan from the AFL

From a rugby league fan this is hilarious.

How much has been put into facilities for league? How much has the nrl paid for these facilities? Have they put any money into the stadiums?

When league can pay for its own then maybe judge other sports.

RedV3x

Dec 14, 2015

You mean like how soccer, rugby league and rugby union have continually bludged off of taxpayers.
Knocking down perfectly good stadia that were under utilised - good one Gladys.

kranger

Nov 30, 2006
Kalamunda
Swan District
1. From NoobPie (who has provided interesting data from Dr H. Fujak's 2021 book "Code Wars") who said

"Just for context, the following are survey estimates of interest of different football codes in Brisbane, Sydney and Melbourne

1624860100154.png

Interestingly, Australian football is the second most supported code in Brisbane (24%) and a fair way behind rugby league (41%).
In Sydney its third (22%) behind soccer (31%) and League (41%)

Mel (numbers are similar in Adelaide and slightly less in Perth) shows how much more dominant Australian football is in its heartland compared to RL in its.....

where did Noobpie post that info. I feel like I went through all the threads and can’t find it. I would be interested in seeing the states not shown in the graphs (even though you said they were similar to Vic).

NoobPie

Sep 21, 2016
Thank you. Much appreciated.

I think I have seen those numbers before.

The way BringBackTorps has them in the graph, makes it much easier to comprehend quickly.

Just because of the flattery, I've knocked up the Perth, Adelaide and Tassie charts "

1625398437886.png

Here is the National btw

1625398992955.png

So there is actually day light between each nationally. Interestingly observations
-soccer nationally has a lower interest level than 4 of the 5 Australian metros which highlights its lower popularity in the regional areas.
-Sydney (at 22%) is the only metro where the share interested in football is less than the national interest in soccer (by 1%).
-rugby league is slightly more popular in NSW and QLD (41%) than football is nationally (39%)

TWLS

Jul 19, 2015
WA
GWS Giants
Just because of the flattery, I've knocked up the Perth, Adelaide and Tassie charts "

View attachment 1170971

Here is the National btw

View attachment 1170981

So there is actually day light between each nationally. Interestingly observations
-soccer nationally has a lower interest level than 4 of the 5 Australian metros which highlights its lower popularity in the regional areas.
-Sydney (at 22%) is the only metro where the share interested in football is less than the national interest in soccer (by 1%).
-rugby league is slightly more popular in NSW and QLD (41%) than football is nationally (39%)
Some comments on Perth. "With others" they reflect the past bigger immigration from interstate and overseas to Perth when compared to say Adelaide and Tassie.
Currently of course nothing happening from overseas and the resource sector overall in WA is screaming out for at least another 33,000 Engineers, Tradies etc some of whom will bring their families from anywhere and their sporting interests.
The only figure in Perth reflects the true base support for our game.
Historically the two Rugby Codes have always had a presence in Perth- Albeit minor but they have been here with Rugby the biggest. How do I know because some of our family played Rugby at various levels. IE Rugby Union now called Rugby it appears.

BringBackTorps

Jan 5, 2017
GWS
"QBE Sydney Swans Academy: Time to test ourselves

By Jen McAsey for Sydney Swans Media on May 20, 2021, 10:05am
0c6310ac-5226-4d3d-a69b-c0c90decc025.JPG

The QBE Sydney Swans Academy's U19 team will be on the road this weekend, taking on Gippsland Power as the elite interstate NAB League competition resumes.
The match against Gippsland will be the first time in nearly two years that the Academy's Top End male players have been able to travel to Victoria to play against the cream of the country's under-age players.

The QBE Sydney Swans Academy, along with the Giants, Lions and Suns Academies, enter the NAB League for part of each season to allow players in NSW and Queensland to test themselves against the best Victorian AFL draft prospects.
The NAB competition was cancelled in 2020 but is back to full strength this year, and the age range has been lifted from Under 18 to Under 19.

The Swans U19 team warmed up with a two-game Academy Series against the Giants Academy, losing the first match (on 27.4) and then bouncing back with a win in the second match played two weeks ago".

On 22.5.21, the Swans Academy U19 defeated Gippsland NAB League U19 16.9 to 9.7 (Two other games vs. NAB League teams were cancelled due to the Melb. lockdown).
On 30.5, Giants Academy U19 defeated Swans Academy 10.9 to 9.9.
On 12.6, Giants Academy U19 defeated NT U19 15.14 to 3.8. On 12.6, Giants Academy defeated Geelong U19 NAB League 11.6 to 10.11.

Until c. 2012, the powerhouse for GR AF in NSW was, obviously, Sthn. NSW- an AF heartland.

It is very noteable & pleasing, therefore, that in the 3 recent games by Swans U19 players (who derive overwhelmingly form NS, ES, & Inner WS- with only 1 player from elsewhere, Sawtell North Coast), the Swans won 1 game against the Giants Academy (who also included U19 players from the very strong ACT), lost one game to the Giants Academy by 1 goal, & lost the 3rd game convincingly.

On 12.6, the Swans Academy U19 team lost narrowly to Tasmania U19 13.6 to 14.4.

(This is Tasmania's "form line" for comparisons.
Tasmania U19, on 20.6, lost to Giants Academy U19, which included their strong ACT selected players, 8.10 to 8.16. On 17.4, Tas. defeated Eastern Ranges NAB League team 11.11 to 7.8. On 26.6, Tas. defeated Dandenong NAB League 11.17 to 9.2. On 3.7. Tas. lost by 7 goals to Sandringham NAB League- latter now 2nd on ladder).

These Swans Academy results prove that elite teenage AF players are now being produced in ES, NS, & Inner WS.
Prior to 2012, very few players form ES, NS, & inner WS were ever recruited into the VFL/AFL- but now these areas are emerging as new recruiting zones.

This is a list from 2019 of the 62 players on AFL lists from NSW & ACT. It clearly shows the current strength of NSW & ACT.

It does not include E. Gulden, from Maroubra, who had his debit with Sydney in 2021. Commentators are saying he is already one of the best kicks in the AFL! Others from NSW have also been drafted from 2020.

From c. 2000- 2012, both Sthn. NSW & ACT declined considerably for AFL recruits- but from 2013, with Giants' Academies in both areas, both have again become good AFL recruiting areas. The Swans' Academies in Sydney, & other areas of NSW, are also producing Draftees.

BringBackTorps

Jan 5, 2017
GWS
1. From the U19 female AF national Championships, 3 Sydney women have been chosen in the All Australian 24-player squad.
Two are from the Swans' Zone, one (C. Hamillton) from GWS's Zone.
(C. Rowbottom, brother of Swan's AFL player J. Rowbottom, was also selected- but she represented Vic Metro).

Considering that NSW only has the low-profile Giants in the AFLW, & that the AFLW receives very modest MSM coverage in NSW, this is a very good result for GR female AF in NSW. It also demonstrates the huge potential for female AF, once the Swans enter the AFLW- female GR AF will be turbocharged there.

All-Australian honours for two Swans
AllAus.png

Two QBE Sydney Swans Academy members have today been named in the 2021 NAB AFLW U19 Championships All-Australian Team.
QBE Sydney Swans Academy U19 Captain Jess Doyle and teammate Isadora McLeay have both been selected after impressing for the Allies team at the AFLW U19 Championships.
Charlie Rowbottom, brother of Sydney Swans player, James, who played for the Victorian Metro side has also been named in the team.

18 players were selected in the team on the field and four interchange players and players were selected in their best positions.
An athletic forward, Jess Doyle is a NAB AFLW Academy player and product of the Manly-Warringah Wolves in the AFL Sydney competition and averaged 17.5 disposals and 4.5 marks to be a consistent and dangerous player up forward for the Allies in the championships.
McLeay is a product of the North Shore Bombers and is a versatile defender who also went forward and used the ball extremely well by hand and foot. She averaged 16.5 disposals (12.5 contested) 2.5 Rebound 50s and kicked a goal when forward.

(Published on May 14, 2021, 5:00pm
Jess Doyle makes history with VFLW selection
QBE Sydney Swans Academy U19s captain Jess Doyle will make history on Saturday when she becomes the first female academy product to play in the VFLW).

QBE Sydney Swans Academy U19 coach Jarred Crouch said

“She has led from the front as co-Captain of our U19 QBE Academy side. From kicking goals against GWS and then leading the side to our first ever win in Victoria against Geelong in Geelong, she’s been brilliant.
“She was rewarded with an Allies Jumper and continued her good form to terrorize both the WA and SA defences where she took plenty of marks and created a lot of shots on goal during the championships.
“Isadora was our rock in defence playing full back where she constantly intercepted the ball or spoilt it away strongly from her opponents during the Academy three games series.
“She took that great form into the Allies side where again she held the defence together but also showed her versatility by going forward where she took several strong marks then either kicked goals herself or set them up for the team.
“Isadora's and Jessica's success in being named All Australian is a fantastic reward for everyone involved with the QBE Sydney Swans Academy U19s program this year.”

The selection of the duo comes on the same day as the Sydney Swans submit their bid for their first license for entry in the AFLW competition in 2022/23.
Sydney Swans fans can continue to back the club’s bid and be part of they club’s march into AFLW here.

The 2021 NAB AFLW U19 Championships All-Australian Team

BACKS:
Chloe Leonard (Victoria Country/GWV Rebels), Isadora McLeay (Allies/Sydney Swans Academy), Jaide Anthony (Victoria Country/Dandenong Stingrays)

HALF BACKS: Maggie Harmer (Queensland/Maroochydore), Lauren Young (South Australia/South Adelaide), Annie Lee (Victoria Country/Geelong Falcons)

CENTRES: Aurora Smith (Victoria Country/Murray Bushrangers), Teagan Levi (Queensland/Bond University), Courtney Rowley (Western Australia/Peel Thunder)

HALF FORWARDS: Jess Doyle (Allies/Sydney Swans Academy), Ella Roberts (Western Australia/Peel Thunder), Stella Reid (Victoria Metro, Oakleigh Chargers)

FULL FORWARDS: Paige Scott (Victoria Country/GWV Rebels), C. Hamilton (Allies, GWS Giants Academy), Georgia Campbell (Victoria Metro/Eastern Ranges)

FOLLOWERS: Zoe Prowse (South Australia/Sturt), Charlie Rowbottom (Victoria Metro/Oakleigh Chargers), Georgie Prespakis (Victoria Metro/Calder Cannons)

INTERCHANGE: Makaela Tuhakaraina (Western Australia/South Fremantle), Tahlia Gillard (Victoria Metro/Calder Cannons), Tara Slender (Victoria Country/Bendigo Pioneers), Zoe Venning (South Australia/West Adelaide)

2. SEN 1170 Sydney J. Smith program 8.7

"The NRL Economist" R. Haidar, also a WWOS commentator, & consultant for Manly NRL club, said

" We have reached saturation with the traditional Anglo fan base, we must connect with the migrant demographic [how]...There are so many migrant communities in Sydney...(about 25% of people in Sydney born overseas)...[migrants] aren't connecting to the game...Chinese & Indian migrants, that's who we need to target".

(Scroll to 8 minutes 20 seconds - 9 mins. 20 secs.).

It is incorrect for Haidar to say that RL is at saturation point amongst the "traditional Anglo" fan base.

GR male contact RL nos. have collapsed in Greater Sydney (excluding Penrith District RL comp.).
SMH's W. Smith (nearly 50 years experience as a MSM sports' writer, & well connected) said a month ago there were only c. 10,000 rugby league jnrs (U6- U18 male & female club players) in Western Sydney- RL heartland pop. of c. 2.4m!.
IIRC, Sydney viewers of NRL games only comprise about 30-40% of all NRL viewers, nation-wide- massive nos. of euro- background persons in Sydney are not watching NRL games!
Why is Haidar disavowing the huge potential of the well established (2.5m+) Anglo-Celtic & euro communities in Sydney? Has the NRL "surrendered", re this demographic?

P. Rothfield said in 2019 that the average NRL team is about 200kgs heavier, cf teams from the 1970's. The average NRL player (now averaging c. 92kgs+?) is also much taller now (over 180 cms).
Both these factors act as major problems to attract players from an Asian background (excluding the Middle East), whose average heights & weights are much lower. Haidar did not offer any suggestions as to how RL can attract more contact RL players, & viewers, from people from as Asian background.

AF in Greater Sydney is predominantly attracting players & viewers from an Anglo-Celtic background- so there is no joy for AF from the NRL's demographic problems.

TWLS

Jul 19, 2015
WA
GWS Giants
1. From the U19 female AF national Championships, 3 Sydney women have been chosen in the All Australian 24-player squad.
Two are from the Swans' Zone, one (C. Hamillton) from GWS's Zone.
(C. Rowbottom, brother of Swan's AFL player J. Rowbottom, was also selected- but she represented Vic Metro).

Considering that NSW only has the low-profile Giants in the AFLW, & that the AFLW receives very modest MSM coverage in NSW, this is a very good result for GR female AF in NSW. It also demonstrates the huge potential for female AF, once the Swans enter the AFLW- female GR AF will be turbocharged there.

All-Australian honours for two Swans
AllAus.png

Two QBE Sydney Swans Academy members have today been named in the 2021 NAB AFLW U19 Championships All-Australian Team.
QBE Sydney Swans Academy U19 Captain Jess Doyle and teammate Isadora McLeay have both been selected after impressing for the Allies team at the AFLW U19 Championships.
Charlie Rowbottom, brother of Sydney Swans player, James, who played for the Victorian Metro side has also been named in the team.

18 players were selected in the team on the field and four interchange players and players were selected in their best positions.
An athletic forward, Jess Doyle is a NAB AFLW Academy player and product of the Manly-Warringah Wolves in the AFL Sydney competition and averaged 17.5 disposals and 4.5 marks to be a consistent and dangerous player up forward for the Allies in the championships.
McLeay is a product of the North Shore Bombers and is a versatile defender who also went forward and used the ball extremely well by hand and foot. She averaged 16.5 disposals (12.5 contested) 2.5 Rebound 50s and kicked a goal when forward.

(Published on May 14, 2021, 5:00pm
Jess Doyle makes history with VFLW selection
QBE Sydney Swans Academy U19s captain Jess Doyle will make history on Saturday when she becomes the first female academy product to play in the VFLW).

QBE Sydney Swans Academy U19 coach Jarred Crouch said

“She has led from the front as co-Captain of our U19 QBE Academy side. From kicking goals against GWS and then leading the side to our first ever win in Victoria against Geelong in Geelong, she’s been brilliant.
“She was rewarded with an Allies Jumper and continued her good form to terrorize both the WA and SA defences where she took plenty of marks and created a lot of shots on goal during the championships.
“Isadora was our rock in defence playing full back where she constantly intercepted the ball or spoilt it away strongly from her opponents during the Academy three games series.
“She took that great form into the Allies side where again she held the defence together but also showed her versatility by going forward where she took several strong marks then either kicked goals herself or set them up for the team.
“Isadora's and Jessica's success in being named All Australian is a fantastic reward for everyone involved with the QBE Sydney Swans Academy U19s program this year.”

The selection of the duo comes on the same day as the Sydney Swans submit their bid for their first license for entry in the AFLW competition in 2022/23.
Sydney Swans fans can continue to back the club’s bid and be part of they club’s march into AFLW here.

The 2021 NAB AFLW U19 Championships All-Australian Team

BACKS:
Chloe Leonard (Victoria Country/GWV Rebels), Isadora McLeay (Allies/Sydney Swans Academy), Jaide Anthony (Victoria Country/Dandenong Stingrays)

HALF BACKS: Maggie Harmer (Queensland/Maroochydore), Lauren Young (South Australia/South Adelaide), Annie Lee (Victoria Country/Geelong Falcons)

CENTRES: Aurora Smith (Victoria Country/Murray Bushrangers), Teagan Levi (Queensland/Bond University), Courtney Rowley (Western Australia/Peel Thunder)

HALF FORWARDS: Jess Doyle (Allies/Sydney Swans Academy), Ella Roberts (Western Australia/Peel Thunder), Stella Reid (Victoria Metro, Oakleigh Chargers)

FULL FORWARDS: Paige Scott (Victoria Country/GWV Rebels), Cynthia Hamilton (Allies, GWS GIANTS Academy), Georgia Campbell (Victoria Metro/Eastern Ranges)

FOLLOWERS: Zoe Prowse (South Australia/Sturt), Charlie Rowbottom (Victoria Metro/Oakleigh Chargers), Georgie Prespakis (Victoria Metro/Calder Cannons)

INTERCHANGE: Makaela Tuhakaraina (Western Australia/South Fremantle), Tahlia Gillard (Victoria Metro/Calder Cannons), Tara Slender (Victoria Country/Bendigo Pioneers), Zoe Venning (South Australia/West Adelaide)

I see India mentioned in the NRL reports on attracting migrants to their game.
An AFL program has been set up in India with a presence in about 6 States but now on indefinite hold due to COVID reaping havoc up there. However the group are still holding video conferences over there to keep in contact. It looks like so far some resilience built in with them.
Why have I posted this stuff - Well if the Indian migrants in the future had heard about our game over there it maybe easier.
In Melbourne the picture is much brighter because new Indian Migrants will be much more aware of the game with it seems with several programs underway and Melbourne appears to be their main destination.
It is well known that new arrivals want their children to become Doctors and Lawyers and sport except Cricket for some is not high on their radar.

2. SEN 1170 Sydney J. Smith program 8.7

"The NRL Economist" R. Haidar, also a WWOS commentator, & consultant for Manly NRL club, said

" We have reached saturation with the traditional Anglo fan base, we must connect with the migrant demographic [how]...There are so many migrant communities in Sydney...(about 25% of people in Sydney born overseas)...[migrants] aren't connecting to the game...Chinese & Indian migrants, that's who we need to target".

(Scroll to 8 minutes 20 seconds - 9 mins. 20 secs.).

It is incorrect for Haidar to say that RL is at saturation point amongst the "traditional Anglo" fan base.

GR male contact RL nos. have collapsed in Greater Sydney (excluding Penrith District RL comp.).
SMH's W. Smith (nearly 50 years experience as a MSM sports' writer, & well connected) said a month ago there were only c. 10,000 rugby league jnrs (U6- U18 male & female club players) in Western Sydney- RL heartland pop. of c. 2.4m!.
IIRC, Sydney viewers of NRL games only comprise about 30-40% of all NRL viewers, nation-wide- massive nos. of euro- background persons in Sydney are not watching NRL games!
Why is Haidar disavowing the huge potential of the well established (2.5m+) Anglo-Celtic & euro communities in Sydney? Has the NRL "surrendered", re this demographic?

P. Rothfield said in 2019 that the average NRL team is about 200kgs heavier, cf teams from the 1970's. The average NRL player (now averaging c. 92kgs+?) is also much taller now (over 180 cms).
Both these factors act as major problems to attract players from an Asian background (excluding the Middle East), whose average heights & weights are much lower. Haidar did not offer any suggestions as to how RL can attract more contact RL players, & viewers, from people from as Asian background.

AF in Greater Sydney is predominantly attracting players & viewers from an Anglo-Celtic background- so there is no joy for AF from the NRL's demographic problems.