Draft Expert Davo-27's 2021 u18 Draft Thread

VM V VC Stand Outs
Just looking at my notes on the u17 champs games between the Vic Teams and i came up with players i thought stood out as the most impressive from each team

VM
1. Wardlaw
2. Ashcroft ( because he only played 1 game and 1 quarter before being rested)
3. Watson (16 yo)
4. Drury
5. Tsatas
6. Windsor
7. Teal
8. Sheezel
9. Jefferson
10. C.Harvey
11. Hempel
12. MacKenzie
13. Payne

VC
1. Hollands
2. Schuback
3. Clark
4. Long
5. Howe
6. Cadman
7. Szybkowski
8. Vickery
9. Stevens (16 yo)
10. M.Clohessy
11. Konstanty
12. George
13. Parkhouse
14. Reid (16 yo)
15. Fogarty

Any thoughts on Rowe and Edmends from Metro and O'Sullivan from Country?
I have an opposite view to you on Edmends, I wasn't a fan of how he played, but I hope he improves in his draft year to change my mind, Rowe I also didn't see do enough, (I actually had an x next to his name because he did something I didn't like early, but then was involved in 2 good plays later in my notes), O'Sullivan was decent and one that could develop next year just missed out on a mention in my list in the previous post, just my opinion.

Fair enough on Edmends, I'm a sucker for composed and classy users regardless of production so can see the knock there, obviously hoping he gets a go for Northern in the coming weeks and shows us some more production (and inside craft)

I don't know their stats, for me my issue was with his decision making, but during their 16-18th year they do develop a lot.

Edmends performed far better in the trial game and I hope he can show those great traits, hasn’t handled the pressure as well as he did back then.

I don't know their stats, for me my issue was with his decision making, but during their 16-18th year they do develop a lot.
Wish we had some access to stats from the U17's, but unfortunately I'm just going by the eye test =(

Edmends performed far better in the trial game and I hope he can show those great traits, hasn’t handled the pressure as well as he did back then.
I just remember him selling candy about 4 times in a row and pinpointing a kick inside 50 from that day, although he was in the game with weaker Country wingers from memory

Wish we had some access to stats from the U17's, but unfortunately I'm just going by the eye test =(
I love the reviews sans stats, the eye test is a pretty good skill. There are stats padders and those who actually impact games, often not the same players.

I do my notes prior to looking at stats, won't influence my observation that way, but it's good to know the stats to put them into context

All of my reviews are with the eye test sans stats, sometimes i like mids with low disposal count because i like all of their traits(size, speed, agility, footy iq, disposal, aggression, bravery or a mix of those traits) but they might lack production.

There are definitely stat padders in the under age scene, i only mention players that have a good impact on good footy. At least thats my goal.

July Top 50, let's do it.

1. Nick Daicos
2. Jason Horne
3. Finn Callaghan
4. Sam Darcy
5. Neil Erasmus
6. Josh Sinn
7. Josh Fahey
8. Matthew Roberts
9. Josh Rachele
10. Campbell Chesser
11. Ben Hobbs
12. Matthew Johnson
13. Ned Long
14. Josh Goater
15. Tyler Sonsie
16. Jack Williams
17. Sam Banks
18. Joshua Browne
19. Arlo Draper
20. Josh Gibcus
21. Connor MacDonald
22. Josh Ward
23. Jacob Van Rooyen
24. Morgan Ferres
25. Judson Clarke
26. Toby Conway
27. Lewis Rayson
28. Jye Amiss
29. Cooper Hamilton
30. Rhett Bazzo
31. Lachlan Rankin
32. Kai Lohmann
33. Kade Dittmar
34. Darcy Wilmot
35. Yousef Dib
36. Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera
37. Jase Burgoyne
38. Cooper Murley
39. Jackson Archer
40. Jake Soligo
41. Jack Rossimel
42. Tom Brown
43. Shay Linke
44. Isaiah Dudley
45. Hugh Hamilton
46. Charlie Molan
47. Hugh Jackson
48. Blake Scott
49. Jed Rule
50. Jesse Motlop

I'll be honest the last 4 players I was struggling with, so its a top 46 and 4 players I like out of the rest.
No Mac Andrew? Trying to watch where he grades in.

For me he is in that 25-late draft area, very raw and can be iffy with disposal, could develop into a player similar to Chol at Richmond, I'm not the biggest fan of Chol so I rate him a little lower than others, but definitely in that huge group after 25 or so imo.

I was doing a mental exercise, if I was recruiting for a team, which players would I be excited by in this draft pool and this is the list I came up with (25)

Jason Horne
Nick Daicos
Sam Darcy
Finn Callaghan
Neil Erasmus
Josh Sinn
Josh Fahey
Matthew Roberts
Josh Rachele
Campbell Chesser
Ben Hobbs
Matthew Johnson
Ned Long
Josh Goater
Joshua Browne
Arlo Draper
Josh Gibcus
Connor MacDonald
Josh Ward
Jacob Van Rooyen
Judson Clarke
Toby Conway
Jye Amiss
Sam Banks
Kai Lohmann

Hugh Jackson, Hugh Stagg I need to see more of, I like Jackson speed and Staggs strength, I also need to see more of Amiss, but he is here based on his impressive Colts form, also im yet to see Uwland from GCS in a full game, waiting for the champs to fill in any blind spots i may have still, Williams im not sure about yet.

I was doing a mental exercise, if I was recruiting for a team, which players would I be excited by in this draft pool and this is the list I came up with (25)

Jason Horne
Nick Daicos
Sam Darcy
Finn Callaghan
Neil Erasmus
Josh Sinn
Josh Fahey
Matthew Roberts
Josh Rachele
Campbell Chesser
Ben Hobbs
Matthew Johnson
Ned Long
Josh Goater
Joshua Browne
Arlo Draper
Josh Gibcus
Connor MacDonald
Josh Ward
Jacob Van Rooyen
Judson Clarke
Toby Conway
Jye Amiss
Sam Banks
Kai Lohmann

Hugh Jackson, Hugh Stagg I need to see more of, I like Jackson speed and Staggs strength, I also need to see more of Amiss, but he is here based on his impressive Colts form, also im yet to see Uwland from GCS in a full game, waiting for the champs to fill in any blind spots i may have still.
Any word on the extent of Callaghan's foot injury ? Is it a one weeker or more significant ?
Hoping to see a lot more of him and Sinn before the draft to be clearer on that top group of players.. Seems to be a lot of these kids going down with injuries this year.

All of my reviews are with the eye test sans stats, sometimes i like mids with low disposal count because i like all of their traits(size, speed, agility, footy iq, disposal, aggression, bravery or a mix of those traits) but they might lack production.

There are definitely stat padders in the under age scene, i only mention players that have a good impact on good footy. At least thats my goal.
I reckon the reporting of supercoach points as a ranking in the HS has been one of the worst additions to the coverage of the Nab this season. Very pleased to hear the eye test is where it's at, I often look at players who are getting around the ground and making good position, getting overlooked by teammates but working hard for fewer opportunites. Players you watch working both ways always impress as a starting point, then hope they have a skill set to keep me interested.

Shout out to a player who we will remember from the younger ages who has had 3 or 4 years of injury setbacks making a return for the Knights tomorrow, Ben Major highly touted as a younger player, u16s AA and been missing for some time, All the best to him.

Any word on the extent of Callaghan's foot injury ? Is it a one weeker or more significant ?
Hoping to see a lot more of him and Sinn before the draft to be clearer on that top group of players.. Seems to be a lot of these kids going down with injuries this year.
im not sure on his injury, but he has had a couple injuries this year, which is unfortunate.

Jason Horne
Nick Daicos
Sam Darcy
Finn Callaghan
Neil Erasmus
Josh Sinn
Josh Fahey
Matthew Roberts
Josh Rachele
Campbell Chesser
Ben Hobbs
Matthew Johnson
Ned Long
Josh Goater
Joshua Browne
Arlo Draper
Josh Gibcus
Connor MacDonald
Josh Ward
Jacob Van Rooyen
Judson Clarke
Toby Conway
Jye Amiss
Sam Banks
Kai Lohmann

Hugh Jackson, Hugh Stagg I need to see more of, I like Jackson speed and Staggs strength, I also need to see more of Amiss, but he is here based on his impressive Colts form, also im yet to see Uwland from GCS in a full game, waiting for the champs to fill in any blind spots i may have still.
Keep an eye out for Cooper Murley now he's over his ankle he turned at his Crows placement through the AFL Academy.
Smart player with a nice blend of speed, skills and general footy smarts.

I reckon the reporting of supercoach points as a ranking in the HS has been one of the worst additions to the coverage of the Nab this season. Very pleased to hear the eye test is where it's at, I often look at players who are getting around the ground and making good position, getting overlooked by teammates but working hard for fewer opportunites. Players you watch working both ways always impress as a starting point, then hope they have a skill set to keep me interested.

the supercoach points are almost meaningless to a degree, most of the guys at the top are 19 year olds who have spent an extra year in the gym ect and are expected to do well after being looked over the year before and in the mid season draft, im sure a handful might get a chance, but most have been through the draft scene and have been found wanting in 1 or more areas that we the public might not be aware of.

and the rest are guys that either us Draft Watchers already like and the stats back that up, or some that are State League standard and lack a key ingredient to make it at the AFL level...

but the AFL media and public like stats and like to speculate with stats, so it sparks conversation i guess.

Hey Davo,

I watched only a bit of yesterdays game and was enamoured with Goater. Looking through your rankings over the past few months you have had him creeping up and up your board for some time now. Do you think it's possible he comes into the frame at our pick? What do you see as his weaknesses atm?

I liked his athleticism, clearance work, agility and he seemed like a one-touch player below his knees at 190cm. Does he need to accumulate more?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

:thumbsu:

Hey Davo,

I watched only a bit of yesterdays game and was enamoured with Goater. Looking through your rankings over the past few months you have had him creeping up and up your board for some time now. Do you think it's possible he comes into the frame at our pick? What do you see as his weaknesses atm?

I liked his athleticism, clearance work, agility and he seemed like a one-touch player below his knees at 190cm. Does he need to accumulate more?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

:thumbsu:
I need to see more of him, but he is performing in big games which you like to see and that will increase his value, he is looking more likely as a first round pick at this stage.

Lockdown Phantom Draft

Pick 1 - Collingwood(bid) - Nick Daicos
Pick 2 - Bulldogs(bid) - Sam Darcy
Pick 3 - North Melb - Jason Horne
Pick 4 - Hawthorn - Finn Callaghan
Pick 5 - Adelaide - Josh Sinn
Pick 6 - GWS - Josh Goater
Pick 7 - GWS(bid) - Josh Fahey
Pick 8 - Gold Coast- Ben Hobbs
Pick 9 - Carlton - Neil Erasmus
Pick 10 - Richmond - Campbell Chesser
Pick 11 - Essendon - Matthew Johnson
Pick 12 - StKilda - Josh Rachele
Pick 13 - Fremantle - Jye Amiss
Pick 14 - West Coast - Matthew Roberts
Pick 15 - Sydney - Jacob Van Rooyen
Pick 16 - Port Adel - Josh Ward
Pick 17 - Brisbane - Jack Williams
Pick 18 - Brisbane - Josh Gibcus
Pick 19 - Richmond - Tyler Sonsie
Pick 20 - Gold Coast - Ned Long
Pick 21 - North Melb - Judson Clarke
Pick 22 - Hawthorn - Connor MacDonald
Pick 23 - Gold Coast(bid) - Bohdi Uwland
Pick 24 - Adelaide - Arlo Draper
Pick 25 - Hawthorn - Toby Conway
Pick 26 - Carlton - Hugh Jackson
Pick 27 - Melbourne (bid) - Mac Andrew
Pick 28 - Richmond - Tom Brown
Pick 29 - Geelong - Lewis Rayson
Pick 30 - Geelong - Sam Banks

Lockdown Phantom Draft

Pick 1 - Collingwood(bid) - Nick Daicos
Pick 2 - Bulldogs(bid) - Sam Darcy
Pick 3 - North Melb - Jason Horne
Pick 4 - Hawthorn - Finn Callaghan
Pick 5 - Adelaide - Josh Sinn
Pick 6 - GWS - Josh Goater
Pick 7 - GWS(bid) - Josh Fahey
Pick 8 - GCS - Ben Hobbs
Pick 9 - Carlton - Neil Erasmus
Pick 10 - Richmond - Campbell Chesser
Pick 11 - Essendon - Matthew Johnson
Pick 12 - StKilda - Josh Rachele
Pick 13 - Fremantle - Jye Amiss
Pick 14 - West Coast - Matthew Roberts
Pick 15 - Sydney - Jacob Van Rooyen
Pick 16 - Port Adel - Josh Ward
Pick 17 - Brisbane - Jack Williams
Pick 18 - Brisbane - Josh Gibcus
Pick 19 - Richmond - Tyler Sonsie
Pick 20 - Gold Coast - Ned Long
Pick 21 - North Melb - Judson Clarke
Pick 22 - Hawthorn - Connor MacDonald
Pick 23 - Gold Coast(bid) - Bohdi Uwland
Pick 24 - Adelaide - Arlo Draper
Pick 25 - Hawthorn - Toby Conway
Pick 26 - Carlton - Hugh Jackson
Pick 27 - Melbourne (bid) - Mac Andrew
Pick 28 - Richmond - Tom Brown
Pick 29 - Geelong - Lewis Rayson
Pick 30 - Geelong - Sam Banks
That is eliteness mate. Hopefully more people start posting phantom drafts like this. I really enjoy scrolling through .