anchor man

Apr 6, 2001
Success WA
Dockers ∧South Fremantle
What a great player he has been for the FFC.
I think back to the very early days of his career and how frustrated I used to be watching him.
So lazy looking, wouldn't run, wouldn't tackle.At times looked lost.GRRRRRR
But how my opinion has changed over the years.
He spoke the other day of maybe playing 400 games.What a feather inthe cap that would be.Maybe an Eagle feather;)>
But we all know that Father time can catch up to players very quickly.One more full season, playing as he is now, may just be the thing to get him to that milestone.
Well played David Mundy.You legend.

Aug 23, 2010
Information Superhighway
Exers, Gryffindor, Rich+Ess AFLW, Tassie
To give an indication of longevity, here are some names who came after Mundy and have retired/been delisted:

Hayden Ballantyne.
Liam Picken.
Dale Thomas.
Matthew Kreuzer.
Bryce Gibbs.
Jack Watts.
Levi Greenwood.
Tom Scully.
Bernie Vince.
Michael Barlow.
Ben Stratton.
Harry Taylor.
Michael Jamison.
Nathan Van Berlo.
Jackson Trengove.
Angus Monfries.
Travis Cloke.
Garrick Ibbotson.

Aug 23, 2010
Information Superhighway
1626859795705.png

1626859803406.png

If someone told the folk at Seymour that their little town would produce a 350 gamer in the VFL/AFL, they'd lap it up.

The eastern media, FWIW, are 12 years behind me in acknowledging Mundy's goodness.

Sep 22, 2011
Liverpool FC, Washington Wizards
View attachment 1183217

View attachment 1183218

If someone told the folk at Seymour that their little town would produce a 350 gamer in the VFL/AFL, they'd lap it up.

The eastern media, FWIW, are 12 years behind me in acknowledging Mundy's goodness.
Mundy is far better then Pendlebury, the last few years just shows that. But hey, games record holder for Collingwood… he’s GOAT apparently.
Always felt Mundy has been consistent throughout his career

beetz

Apr 30, 2014
Amazing effort. Great player. Better bloke.

Lucky for him, the fans don’t have much say on list management otherwise he would have been delisted before making 100 games!

E Shed

Fremantle Obsessive
Sep 10, 2006
Perth WA
For my money he’s the clear number 2 all time great Freo player. Fyfe won’t get anywhere near his number of games & would have to captain us at least to another GF to reach the top with Pav (just my opinion).
I sweated on his new contracts only slightly less than Pav’s.

Aug 23, 2010
Information Superhighway
FWIW, I have these names as my top 10.

Pav.
Mundy.
Fyfe.
Sandi.
Johnson.
McPharlin.
Ballantyne.
Crowley.
Hasleby.
Walters.

This is not in order BTW.

Duffield and Barlow most stiff with S. Parker and a fit S. Hill not far behind.

Aug 16, 2009
UK
Dragons FFC, Old Easts

Pav.
Mundy.
Fyfe.
Sandi.
Johnson.
McPharlin.
Ballantyne.
Crowley.
Hasleby.
Walters.

Not bad.

Waterhouse, MJ, Kelpler, Cookie, The Wiz, Belly, Roger all stiff too.

Sep 22, 2011
Liverpool FC, Washington Wizards

Pav.
Mundy.
Fyfe.
Sandi.
Johnson.
McPharlin.
Ballantyne.
Crowley.
Hasleby.
Walters.

S. Hill would’ve easily made the top 5 had he didn’t get injured in 2017- his prime years.
Just shows the incredible durability of Mundy. Kept his body in great shape.

Aug 23, 2010
Information Superhighway
Not bad.

Waterhouse, MJ, Kelpler, Cookie, The Wiz, Belly, Roger all stiff too.

Cookie and Belly were big oversights on my behalf.

The Wiz felt the same to me at Freo as at Melbourne if not a peg or 2 lower.

Roger Hayden is another oversight.

If MJ is Michael Johnson then I've already mentioned him.

I didn't see enough of Clive to warrant his inclusion.

Aug 23, 2010
Information Superhighway
It'll be hard but I reckon I could do a best 22 for Freo plus 4 emergencies.

And, though he netted Freo their best patch of success, I can't pick Ross Lyon as my preferred men's coach.

I'll give you guys a taste of my best 22 + 4 em.

Duffield at fullback and Barlow on the bench.

Mundy is far better then Pendlebury, the last few years just shows that. But hey, games record holder for Collingwood… he’s GOAT apparently.
Always felt Mundy has been consistent throughout his career
You have purple tinted glasses on. Pendlebury's best is (was?) better than Mundy. Mundy is currently playing better footy but you are doing a massive disservice to Pendlebury to say Mundy was far better.

Apr 26, 2011
Wimbledon AFC
How is this guy. As a captain he was too scared to talk to a camera.
Now he has his own podcast & speaks so well.
Loved to know what he did to get over his anxiety..
I think he plays great footy too..😉

Aug 23, 2010
Information Superhighway
mightymouse75.

When David Mundy made his league debut, the bulk of this year's draftees were turning 2 years old.